Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping stuff
I found this book a fascinating and accessible read; it makes you want to read excerpts to anyone who happens to be in the same room as you. Zinn does not claim to be unbiased; in fact, he freely admits that he has written the book from the viewpoint of ordinary American people.
Zinn clearly expounds his theory on American government and its control over American...
Published on 20 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but don' t get too excited.
Nice attitude, but rather tedious writing style. Not actually as readable as I thought it would be. Lots of quotations that would have been better expressed by the author in his own words.
Published 3 months ago by It's me here!


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping stuff, 20 May 2002
By A Customer
I found this book a fascinating and accessible read; it makes you want to read excerpts to anyone who happens to be in the same room as you. Zinn does not claim to be unbiased; in fact, he freely admits that he has written the book from the viewpoint of ordinary American people.
Zinn clearly expounds his theory on American government and its control over American society and how this control dates right back to the founding fathers. Zinn explores how many different groups have been manipulated and exploited: native American indians, negros, the working class, draftees, women, farmers, unionists, the middle class, etc., etc.
Further, he argues that the purpose of American foreign policy is, and has been, to protect and expand America’s commercial interests behind a mask of protecting democracy and freedom. Zinn explores America’s military interference in Cuba, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Korea, Vietnam, Indonesia and others.
This is one history book which is not in the least turgid and I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in history, politics or people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revolutionary to the point of life-changing book, 7 May 2009
By 
James Symington (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Although I have read a few histories of the United States this one had the scales falling from my eyes and smashing to smithereens on almost every page.

Never have I read an historical account that exposes the self-serving, elitist and hypocritical actions of government in such a brutal and frank way. That it happens to be about the USA is almost irrelevant given that most countries are guilty of the same hypocrisies and double standards that the US has been - certainly the UK has over its long history.

A book that leaves you shocked and angry about past and present deeds and embarrassed about the status quo.

It is a 'must read' book - even for non-Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Story Ever Told?, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. Christopher Limb "Chris" (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
How do you simplify such a great book in such a short space? I am not a great reader, something has to grab me and say read me and keep reading me. I am about 60 pages from finishing this and its an amazing tale. It's not just history but pure story telling. An amazing account. It tells the the story from the other side of town. The effect decisions made by richer more powerful people had on the less fortunate. I can't begin to précis this work as its its truly outstanding. It will make your mind draw parallels with your own country and change your mind about how you have been told things really happened. Incredible!

Buy and enjoy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling it how it is, and was..., 19 Feb. 2010
By 
DP Smyth "Dermot Smyth" (Matlock, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The only time I have seen or heard Howard Zinn's 'People's History' mentioned in mainstream US media was in the film, 'Good Will Hunting', where Will (Matt Damon) looks through all the books in the office of his psychiatrist (Robin Williams) and tells him, `This is the only book worth reading here.'
The tragedy is that it is relatively unknown in the USA. Corporate control of the media (and legislature) means that the majority of US citizens seem to have very little idea of what their Government and military have been up to in the last two centuries.
'Peoples History' exposes with meticulous research and great clarity how the ruling elite of USA have single-mindedly pursued a policy of Americanisation of the whole planet. They have also used decidedly undemocratic methods to maintain their control over the political and economic institutions inside America itself. The irony is, the increasing use of invasion and occupation of sovereign countries is killing that very project, as well as hundreds of thousands of innocent civilians.
Up until the Vietnam War, a considerable degree of Americanisation took place by `peaceful osmosis'. This was fine, it was not being imposed by force. And so many aspects of US society are progressive - visitors to USA invariably report Americans to be particularly open and hospitable people. USA does enjoy many social freedoms not found elsewhere. The problem is, too many Americans seem to be pretty ignorant of their own history and their government's foreign policy. This is equally true of every country in the world, like the UK where I live. But, in what is still the only economic and military superpower, it is much more dangerous.
Reading Zinn's brilliant book is crucial to rectifying this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. A. W. Bishop (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
a brilliant read from start to finish. written with authority and care to engage the reader. superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Even the very first paragraph show that the book is unique and a very fair approach to the history of the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History as I have never read it before, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Tammam Aloudat "Bookworm" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Unlike most history books I have read, this one I wanted to come back to. It felt like a naughty story, a gossip maybe, but certainly not like a dry history book.

The other side is interesting, and as a non American, I haven't been stuffed with the 'official' history of the USA. I know it from my own readings. This is different. Howard Zinn says in the first chapter, just after he talks about the first abusers of the Native Americans, that he is writing the history of the USA from the side of its citizens not politicians, and that is what comes back one chapter after the other.

I enjoyed reading it like no history book before. I know much more now why the USA is what it is now, and some of what affects the psyche of Americans.

A great read, I think if one will read one book on the history of the USA, this is very likely to be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is to recollect Matt Damon's answer about a good book: "It blows your hair back, 11 July 2014
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
It is very difficult to describe such a magnificent book in such a small space. It explains everything, do not deny shameful facts...
I think the easiest waydecribe it, is to recollect Matt Damon's answer about a good book: "It blows your hair back."
I reccomend it to everyone who is interested in the US history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be read in all schools, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The book was recommended. I did not really want to read it, thought it was one of those boring books tha talk of ''great nations and heroic deeds, etc'' but OI was wrong. The book is a gem. Recommended to readers who are interested in finding out ehat our (Sic!) was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A must have book for every thinking individual who wishes to expand views and knowledge on American and International History
A rare value for money regarding its quality and extensive analysis of facts and opinion
Zinn fans, do not hesitate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A People's History of the United States: 1492-Present (Modern Classics)
£12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews