Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive Plot
Ariana Franklin is the pseudonym of a well-known author of historical novels, Diana Norman, wife of the film critic Barry Norman. She is a former Fleet Street Reporter and lives in Hertfordshire.

Having read the author's other two books, the Mistress of the Art of Death and The Serpent's Tale, I decided to try this novel written before the above two. Although...
Published on 27 April 2008 by J. Chippindale

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first novel
I bought this book as I had enjoyed the Mistress of the Art of Death series. The book is brilliant on the historical research of Berlin in the twenties and thirties and the politics and relationships within the Russian Imperial court, but it is pretty wordy and I did have to persevere to get through it. I think her later books are much beter balanced between plot and...
Published on 10 Aug 2011 by Ms. E. Boulton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive Plot, 27 April 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
Ariana Franklin is the pseudonym of a well-known author of historical novels, Diana Norman, wife of the film critic Barry Norman. She is a former Fleet Street Reporter and lives in Hertfordshire.

Having read the author's other two books, the Mistress of the Art of Death and The Serpent's Tale, I decided to try this novel written before the above two. Although this book was an interesting read I cannot say that I enjoyed it as much as the above two, possibly because they were medieval novels, a period that I enjoy reading about very much.

However it would be unfair to criticise the book simply because of the period of history it depicts and all things being equal it was an enjoyable read. The storyline of the book takes place in Berlin, three or four years after the end of the war and revolves around a scheme to pass a young asylum patient off as Anastasia, the last surviving heir to the murdered Russian Czar . . .

The plot is both believable and inventive and the book is well written, in fact everything a reader could want from a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't this a bestseller?, 5 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
I sought out this book after reading the last of the late, lamented Ariana Franklin's wonderful medieval murder mysteries, not quite sure what to expect, but this is every bit as good.
It has all the trademarks of the Mistress of the Art of Death series: full of heart and humour, it's set in a realistic past yet with a totally believable modern heroine, with vivid characters, convincing relationships, an edge of the seat plot, expert scene setting, spare prose, and marvellous dialogue.
Who would have thought that there was any more mileage to be got out of the story of the woman claiming to be Anastasia, the only member of the Tsar's family to survive the Russian revolution? But she's given it a new twist with this, and the revelation at the end is just the cherry on the cake.
No book is perfect, of course: there are a couple of plot twists that don't quite stand up to scrutiny, and the final meeting with the villain is a bit of a let-down. But looking at some of the inexplicably popular dross that poses as good thriller writing these days (yes, Dan Brown, I'm talking about you) the only mystery is why this isn't selling by the thousand in every airport and supermarket too.
What a fantastic film it would make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fact & Fiction, 12 July 2009
By 
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from my local library and found it so fascinating I had to buy my own copy. The fiction book combines fact with fiction, and focuses mainly on the Anna Anderson legend. I found all the characters intersesting, and the historical events and people very accurate. The story itself had lots of twists and turns, the biggest of all at the end. In all, this book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Search for Anastasia, 27 Dec 2005
By 
Mary Ellen Snodgrass (hickory, nc United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City of Shadows (Hardcover)
Franklin combines skillful dialogue and plotting in a new take on the tragic history of Anastasia Romanov, the Russian princess who may or may not have been executed during the Russian Revolution. Central to the retelling are the female perspectives on discounted lives, sexual battery, and the reduction of women to pawns in an ongoing clash of egotistical, cynical, and predatory males. By setting the story in an unstable post-war environment, Franklin enlarges on the social and political situations that further denigrate women as citizens and human beings. Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first novel, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Ms. E. Boulton "lizcostume" (Cumbernauld, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
I bought this book as I had enjoyed the Mistress of the Art of Death series. The book is brilliant on the historical research of Berlin in the twenties and thirties and the politics and relationships within the Russian Imperial court, but it is pretty wordy and I did have to persevere to get through it. I think her later books are much beter balanced between plot and historical facts and are more enjoyable because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nail-biting all-nighter......., 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
Set in a depressed pre-War Berlin, the writer weaves a web of stalking suspense, involving two main characters drawn together by their courage, sexual attraction, and a quest to find a psychotic murderer - who strips them both of people who become too close.

Although in many ways a dark and terrible time, graphically narrated by this master of thrillers, she tempers the story with believable characters, witty dialogue and a rare talent for earthy comedy. Without giving away too much of the plot - the still unsolved mystery of the alleged Romanov survivors, especially the notorious "Grand Duchess Anastasia" is the weft and warp which binds the people (some real, some invented) in the plot together.

We, the 21st Century readers, have the benefit of historical hindsight. The world then was ripe for revolution...German people had struggled through a War which had left them utterly dispirited; suspicious (as some folk are now) of immigrants fleeing from worst conditions in Russia, Poland and other Eastern block regimes. There were all the ills of deprivation for the less well-off: sickness, grief, starvation, racism... to name but a few.
The power hungry Hitler and his SS henchmen exploited this, as well as devising their evil solution to anti-semetism - they were ruthless in their methods. Some of the events do seem far-fetched, but truth IS often stranger than fiction. The author has artist's licence to embellish where necessary......

The writer gives an overview of the relentless overthrow of the "Old Law" to be replaced by another Law - much less to do with justice. A kind of justice does prevail...but it does leave you wondering about present events.

I would recommend wearing gloves as you read this.....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murder in wiemar, 11 Feb 2010
By 
J. C. Day (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
I've read her previous historical murder novels set in medieval times and really enjoyed them, but was not looking forward as much to this one which is set in Weimar Germany [even though I am a History teacher]. However,I found it as fascinating and well researched as the others. She is a very good writer, probably because of her journalistic background, and does not use 14 words when three will do, or write pages of unnecessary description, feelings etc.
In other words she tells a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. S. Vassie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
Finished this book a few weeks ago and still thinking about it. Ariana Franklin has served up a fantastic tale revolving around the appearance in Berlin of a woman claiming to be Anastasia Romanov. I loved the main character Esther, and the setting of Berlin during the rise of Hitler was fascinating. I found as the book went on I was worrying more and more about what would become of Esther and the other characters in the book. Can't rate this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but I didn't particularly like it, 28 Jan 2010
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
Very good picture of the horrors of disintegrating Berlin, but I felt I knew too much about the story already. I like the other books by this author that I have read better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Shadows (Paperback)
After reading the other Ariana Franklin books, this was a disappointment. I couldn't get into it at all. Maybe I'll go back to it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Shadows
City of Shadows by Ariana Franklin (Paperback - 6 Feb 2007)
8.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews