Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLEXLY PLOTTED, POWERED BY SUSPENSE
Ian Rutledge, an affecting, strong, yet vulnerable hero was first introduced by the mother/son writing team of Charles Todd in A Test Of Wills. He's a Scotland Yard inspector, a veteran of the Great War now battling the effects of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Jean, his fiancee didn't wait for him, he's haunted by the voice of Corporal Hamish MacLeod whom Rutledge was...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Gail Cooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rutledge Investigates 3 star rating
I have enjoyed all the Rutledge mysteries and find them very compelling mysteries. Perhaps not the greatest or the most complex, but very readable and very enjoyable. I have read them all in quick succession often at the expense of my other reads, such is the addictive read they can become.

I love historical murder mysteries (Paul Doherty being my absolute...
Published 13 months ago by Big D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLEXLY PLOTTED, POWERED BY SUSPENSE, 19 Feb 2007
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A False Mirror (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries) (Hardcover)
Ian Rutledge, an affecting, strong, yet vulnerable hero was first introduced by the mother/son writing team of Charles Todd in A Test Of Wills. He's a Scotland Yard inspector, a veteran of the Great War now battling the effects of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Jean, his fiancee didn't wait for him, he's haunted by the voice of Corporal Hamish MacLeod whom Rutledge was compelled to kill, and beleaguered by his superior, Chief Superintendent Bowles, who seems determined to break what is left of Rutledge's spirit.

Seven novels followed the first, all tracing the tests and trials of Rutledge. Each is complexly plotted, powered by suspense, and insightful as the psychological scars of soldiers are revealed.

A False Mirror is set not long after the end of World War I. Rutledge continues to suffer with memories of the carnage and his very personal involvement. We read, ".....how could he explain what war had done to him and to so many others? How could he describe watching Hamish fall, how could he tell anyone how the man had lain there, trying to speak to him, begging for release? And how could he ever condone drawing his revolver and delivering the coup de grace, the blow of grace.....?

He is dispatched to a small community, Hampton Regis, to investigate the almost fatal assault on Matthew Hamilton. The man believed to be guilty is Stephen Mallory, a veteran who also suffers the after effects of war. He had known Rutledge during the war and there is little love lost between them. Mallory is also the man Felicity, Matthew Hamilton's wife, had loved before he went off to war. In his current state of mind would Mallory have tried to kill Hamilton in order to be with Felicity again?

He swears that he is not guilty but fearing punishment for a crime he didn't commit he takes Felicity and her maid hostage in their home, Casa Miranda, swearing he will speak to no one save Ian Rutledge of Scotland Yard.

Thus it falls to Rutledge to determine whether or not Mallory is guilty and if he is not, who would want to attack Hamilton and why? Rutledge's investigation is hampered by the disappearance of the stricken Hamilton and two more deaths.

Characterizations are rich while intriguing clues keep readers turning pages until they find a never-suspected killer.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 26 May 2014
By 
Ms. Da Sayed "wormauld" (surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is well written and the perpetrator is not obvious until nearly at the end·It is clever to maintain the suspense so long·
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rutledge Investigates 3 star rating, 2 Jun 2013
I have enjoyed all the Rutledge mysteries and find them very compelling mysteries. Perhaps not the greatest or the most complex, but very readable and very enjoyable. I have read them all in quick succession often at the expense of my other reads, such is the addictive read they can become.

I love historical murder mysteries (Paul Doherty being my absolute favourite) and this series, set post WW1 paints a picture of the emotional turmoil, pain and suffering that afflicted many that fought and those they left at home. The authors do not shy away from that suffering but at times use it as a device to further the stories and the characters and this makes each one seem vulnerable. In this way we can relate to them as human beings first and foremost and literary characters second.

The main character is very much a human one, complete with his frailties, strengths and faults. He makes mistakes but also triumphs where others fail. The regular supporting characters get a look in every now and then but sometimes just as youre thinking you would like to get to know a bit more about them, the authors shut them away in the drawer for future use. This can prove a little frustrating.

The biggest frustration however for me is the way the authors often portray the women in their books. With the exception of the odd couple (notice Im not trying to give any spoilers or hints - you can make your own mind up)of women, all the stories feature at least one woman who is very, very irritating. Often this is a stereotypical irritation. It also occurs far more than any of the male characters.

For example, there are at least 3 strong female characters that have featured in the previous stories and instead of giving them and our eponymous hero a run for our money, they are relegated to a side role. Let us see Rutledge develop his relationships. Let us see the people around him develop and lets cut down on the obligitory irritating characters.

Im sorry if I sound negative as I dont mean to be as they are really good stories and I thoroughly recommend them to anyone who likes murder, mystery and mayhem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A false Mirror, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great yarn, more please about Inspector Ian Rutledge, and his activities, he kept me reading into the small hours, and it was hard o put doen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling series, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am trying to work my way through all the Rutledge books - but unfortunately do not seem to get them in the right order.
Luckily they are mostly stand alone with only some reference to previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A glass mirror offering a reflection on tragedy, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Fencreative (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
'A False Mirror' by Charles Todd was the first Inspector Ian Rutledge mystery I'd read. A New York Times Bestselling author, this series runs to twelve volumes and I'll certainly be looking to read more.

A man - Matthew Hamilton - is nearly beaten to death on the beach of the seaside town of Hampton Regis and his wife is taken hostage by his supposed assailant, one Stephen Mallory. Mallory has a whole back-story of his own with Inspector Rutledge in the trenches of France during the First World War and demands that Rutledge be sent from Scotland Yard to establish who really did attack Hamilton and, by definition, save him from the hangman's noose.

There are a number of clever twists and turns and I did not guess who the perpetrator was; I was still surprised when I did find out, not only by who it turned out to be but that I hadn't picked up on the various clues littered throughout the story - such is the cleverness of the writing.

What I enjoyed most about this book though - and I assume the same goes for others in the series - is the skillful portrayal of life in a sleepy coastal town just after WW1 and a country's changed social fabric. Certainly English society's class system appears on the surface to be as prevalent as ever - and that makes for a quaint historical perspective for twenty first century readers in itself. However, the exposure of its own fundamental flaws and permanently changed circumstances from the Edwardian Age, as well as our insights into damaged individuals as a result of catastrophic external conflict are what really sets this fine book apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 23 Feb 2013
By 
C. A. Crawley "danny" (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book,excellent service from the seller.would recommend them both for the excellence.Very atmospheric,captures the time and the place perfectly.,immediately after the First World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow moving and kind of musty - 3-, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Inspector Ian Rutledge series has its ups and downs, but there have been some pretty good stories spawned within its boundaries. "A False Mirror" is not one of them, unfortunately. This potboiler of a murder mystery never quite takes off, relying on repetitive and tedious dialogues that barely advance the story line. The characters are unlikeable for the most part and even the protagonist, Ian Rutledge, is tiresome and unsympathetic here. His "alter ego", Hamish is mostly gratingly irrelevant.

The unlikely storyline involves the beating half to death of one resident of Hampton Regis (an English coastal village); the hostage taking of the man's wife by the victim's love rival and subsequent deaths related to the first assault. Ian 'Rutledge is brought into the case at the insistence of the hostage-taker who hates the inspector because of the relationship in the trenches in France during the recent war. There is a netful of red herrings spread throughout the story, which inches ahead in fits and starts. The authors have inserted the usual resentful colleagues, loathsome Scotland Yard Superintendent, prissy old maids and stalwart village matrons. And with the emphasis on "the usual", these characters do sound like warmed over cliches in this tale.

"A False Mirror" was written in 2007 and I'd live to believe that the Rutledge character has grown, healed, whatever since the book was published. Anyone have thoughts on that possible progress?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Rutledge Novel by Charles Todd, 10 April 2011
By 
William N. Moriarty (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read on Kindle 10 of the 12 Ian Rutledge novels. I CANNOT READ #2 AND #3 BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT AVAILABLE IN KINDLE FORMAT. WHY NOT?
Missing are:
Wings of Fire 1998 and Search the Dark 1999. PLEASE PUBLISH THESE IN KINDLE.

I ALSO WISH YOU COULD ALLOW US TO DOWNLOAD BOOKS IN SETS IN ONE GO SO THAT WE CAN READ THEM IN THE ORDER PUBLISHED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the series, 16 Jun 2007
By 
Nicholas Peacock MA (ConnahsQuay, Flintshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A False Mirror (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries) (Hardcover)
The charecters in these seven novels have now had time to develop, I thought this was the best story for quite a while, I could find no niggles with the content. My only complaint is the time frame I'd like to see the books move on quite a few years betwixt and between!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A False Mirror (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries)
A False Mirror (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries) by Charles Todd (Hardcover - Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews