Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Romantic Story
Eloise James has taken a rather well used plot, brothers who look the same and can swap places and has turned it into a really facinating story about suffering and redemption.

Rafe is the Duke of Holbrook and at the beginning of the story he discovers that he has an illegitemate brother, Gabe. Although they look very alike, even down to being born a few days...
Published on 16 April 2006 by W. V. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
I Struggle to fault Eloisa's work. Regency romance that will keep you entertained till the end. I have read most of her work ; while this is entertaining she has definitely produced better , more captivating reads
Published 4 months ago by avidreader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Romantic Story, 16 April 2006
By 
W. V. Wood "wendy8694" (Darley Dale, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Taming of the Duke (Mass Market Paperback)
Eloise James has taken a rather well used plot, brothers who look the same and can swap places and has turned it into a really facinating story about suffering and redemption.

Rafe is the Duke of Holbrook and at the beginning of the story he discovers that he has an illegitemate brother, Gabe. Although they look very alike, even down to being born a few days apart, the two men could not be more different. Gabe is confident,well educated and has earned his own place in society without the use of his family name. Rafe has become a self-destructive alchoholic, escaping from the world through the bottom of a whiskey glass.He became the guardian of the Essex sisters in the previous books of this this series and now we have reached the turn of Imogen, Lady Maitland. Their two stories cross when she decides to take a lover, and her choice is Gabe.Imogen is attracted to Gabe because of his resemblance to Rafe, who is a lost cause as far as she is concerned. Rafe believes that he still has a duty to Imogen, and is stongly attracted to her. Thus the swap, and the beginning of a very enjoyable and well written story.

The detailed descriptions of Rafe and his slow recovery from alchoholism are detailed and give you a lot of understanding of the problems of this disease. It is interesting to see how it is set in the context of the Regency period, when men were judged on their ability to be a two bottle or a three bottle a night drinker. Rafe`s dependency on alchohol is set in the context of his need to escape from his pain and guilt over his brothers death.

I really enjoyed reading this book and if you enjoy stories by Lisa Kleypas and Liz Carlyle you are sure to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Taming of the Duke, 14 April 2009
This review is from: The Taming of the Duke (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book as were the other three in the set. Was disappointed that I had to purchase this book and the final one 'Pleasure for Pleasure' from America as the company who published the first two in the UK have no plans to punish the other two - what's the sense in that????

Would certainly recommend reading any books by Eloisa James as have read five now and enjoyed each one. Will be purchasing several more in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charming,amusing,sexy and well written, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was a welcome and entertaining addition to the Essex Sisters saga. The portrayal of the key characters was charming and the plot significantly distinct from the other books in the series. The need to interweave characters from the other books was a little unfortunate and the lengthy sex scenes are somewhat repetitious from the other books. But overall another winner in a series of charming and well written and researched books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taming of the Duke (Mass Market Paperback)
I Struggle to fault Eloisa's work. Regency romance that will keep you entertained till the end. I have read most of her work ; while this is entertaining she has definitely produced better , more captivating reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, it was entertaining and the characters were interesting. I look forward to reading more of Miss James books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best but still a good read, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Admittedly I didn't read the first two books in the series and for the stories around the H/h to flow I think you need to. Nevertheless it was an entertaining story but you were left wanting more with a few unanswered questions. For example when does Imogen realise it's Rafe and not Gabe. Or even what Imogen feels for Rafe. You get a lot of what Rafe feels for Imogen. Overall though I did enjoy reading the book so 3*s from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars confusing, 30 July 2013
I haven't a lot to say about this novel. I assume that the series must be read to get the full picture as I found it quite confusing. There was too much about other people and not enough about the couple it was based on. It was too far fetched , she didn't know her lover was the male who she lived with and had known for many years???? Was goin to give ita three star but on writing this review I decided two stars were more fitting. It took me over a week to read as i kept fallig asleep and thats not a good sign
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my first Eloise James novel and I loved it ! It was funny and the humorous interaction between the colourful characters was delightful. I loved Rafe ... he was a hoot !! So funny and cheeky but loving passionate and romantic too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the story and the characters. I liked the Essex Sisters books. I will definitely put it in my favourites an enjoy reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as with all her books, just fabulous! well rounded characters, good storyline. I have loved everthing so far she has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Taming of the Duke
The Taming of the Duke by Eloisa James (Mass Market Paperback - 7 July 2006)
£5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews