Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2015
A well thought out and organized book about the creational process of comic production, rather than a book about "how to draw comics". Anyone who is into visual arts as a way of transferring information - or indeed just as a form of entertainment - would do well to read this book.

Be advised that this book is a graphic novel about comics and graphic novels. Well... could it have been written any other way?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Loved it! Read it after borrowing 'Understanding Comics' by the same author. This is a thoroughly engaging book about the craft of comics, thoughtful, thorough, beautiful and a real page-turner all at the same time - quite a feat! I know i will keep coming back to this book over and over again both as a reference and as an entertaining read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
Not finished reading this book yet, I am absorbing every little bit like a good meal. I would say, in my limited experience, if you have an interest in making comics, skip the starters and go straight to the steak by reading this book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Understanding Comics opened up the 'comic' to me at a time when I was already making comics for a living and just about to start teaching the subject. Now, some 10 years later, it's still the book that I present as the 'Comic Bible' in every course I teach.
I wasn't a fan of his second one (even forgotten the name), but this one picks up the thread and follows his brilliant way of analysing the medium in a visual and a fun way for 'us' sequential people :)
It's a must-have for those keen to dive deeper into the Neverland that the world of comics is...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
Fantastic book. Broken into easy to digest sections. Every page is well thought out. If you want to make a graphic novel, you really should take a look at this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
great book wich shows structure in the way its ment to be done.
recommended to anyone looking to start comics
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
my work is much better as my cartoons have developed and now i just have to try and complete my book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Saw it in my uni library and wanted one. My little brother's birthday was coming and he likes to draw so I got it for him and we both love it. It is great for any artist in storytelling no matter the genre. Great buy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Amazing, couldn't recommend enough. If you love comics and want to make them, you need to get this book. McCloud has s great insight into the industry and shares his knowledge with everyone in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Goes into a lot more detail than other how to make comic's that i've picked up in the past and the actual design of it is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)