Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is as right wing as Moore is left wing
This book is definately worth a read. You must read this with the knowledge that this is VERY biast. But no more biast than Moore, albiet in the other direction.

It picks up on some very interesting tricks Moore uses to con viewers and readers. I dont have a problem with Moores views, however I do dispise the way he puts them across. He is not the brave...
Published on 3 Sep 2006 by David

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading; more depth would have been nice
There can't be many books that raise as many partisan feelings as this one. Reviews of this book on Amazon either seem to be one star (from the left) or five stars (from the right). Hopefully I can provide a bit of balance. I'd say this is a good book, not a great one. It certainly exposes Moore as a confused, hypocritical and highly devious operator, but what material...
Published on 26 Feb 2005 by Charles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading; more depth would have been nice, 26 Feb 2005
By 
Charles "mrfreedom" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
There can't be many books that raise as many partisan feelings as this one. Reviews of this book on Amazon either seem to be one star (from the left) or five stars (from the right). Hopefully I can provide a bit of balance. I'd say this is a good book, not a great one. It certainly exposes Moore as a confused, hypocritical and highly devious operator, but what material the authors have on him they tend to spin out to length, and the book repeats the same accusations several times. It also would have worked better if the authors had adopted a more formal, scholarly, straight tone rather than going for the Moore-like, tabloidy approach. They remonstrate with him for using caps a lot, but they are equally guilty. While a lot of research clearly went into the book, it leaves you wishing for more, and surely there is more on this corpulent leftie who deals in politics for those who don't understand/like politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 4 Sep 2008
By 
Philip (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
If you're interested in Michael Moore films and are interested in getting a wider view of them then this book is worth a read. It looks at the work he's done and how he uses a lot of editing to try to fit with a certain point. There's a particularly interesting link whereas they link Moore to having Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

Parts of this book are really good and attempt to make some sort of balance whereas for example it discusses how Moore has a point when he discusses fear culture while maintaining Moore does the same. My problems with it are that it goes to far at points and seems just like mud slinging back at Moore from the right following Moore doing the same thing from the left. It just seems like the authors are doing exactly the same as he does.

There's a part that quite struck me along these lines whereas they discuss how Moore portrayed the NRA as being linked to the Klu Klux Klan. They say Moore lied about the date (which he did) and in fact according to this book the NRA helped black people in this time and even promoted the writing of a book about it called 'Negroes with guns'. I found this quite a big deal but it seems like the writers are promoting the idea that the NRA is actually not racist. If you type 'NRA and racism' into google there are numerous hits some of which show a brochure given to members displaying various supposed people to protect themselves from not one of whom is white. Is it not fair to say that there are perhaps racist connotations underneath this which Moore does rightly pick up on despite his distorting? Like Moore however they just leave in what is necessary to give a certain impression. So in that sense it goes too far.

The authors of this book are clearly angered by Moore and fair enough. This book gives something to throw back at him and as I said it's worth reading. My main problem with the book though was how badly it was written. I mean first of all the title doesn't seem like it holds a very good mentality and again shows this mud slinging mentality back at Moore. Also parts of it just seem like they repeat themselves and just go on and on. It reads like... he did this... then he said this and he did this.. then he did this.. so basically he's an idiot. It just seems like it's rambling.

There are parts also where it just seems like they could've done better too. They link Moore to having Narcissistic personality disorder and write a full criteria linking him to it quite well (in my opinion as a Counsellor) but they say beforehand how they are not therapists and this is just what they think. Could they not have just got a few people to back up that diagnosis? Parts such as this just seem like they've been chucked together in a big rush as quickly as possible and like it hasn't been read through to check it's as good as it could be. Parts generally seem to lack research.

Again the one sidedness is apparent on the point of narcissism since it doesn't go into any discussion about why someone with narcissistic traits may come about in American culture. Could it be that a culture ran by someone who has right wing psychopathic traits could somehow promote this? There's no discussion of this. Therefore the one sided nature is apparent again.

It's worth a look but for more balance I would recommend the film 'Manufacturing Dissent' whereas although being a bit bland at points is credible and most of all balanced in looking at Moore in political context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 121 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is rubbish - and I don't like Michael Moore., 16 Aug 2004
Okay. I'm not a fan of Michael Moore, so I thought "this book is going to be a counterpoint to all those smug Michael Moore fans out there". I figured maybe it would give me some decent ammo to chuck at them.
I was wrong.
David T. Hardy and Jason Clarke, rather than engaging in the sort of rational critism of Michael Moore and his work that is worth reading, prefer to go with the hysterical, wrapping-yourself-in-the-stars-and-stripes, "you're a dissenter, ergo you're a traitor" hysteria that you hear coming from the American far right. Which is great if you're in the minority who think Bill O' Reilly is god, but for the rest of us, who aren't on the far right (or even american), it's just plain rubbish.
So Michael Moore glosses over information that doesn't fit in with his arguments. Yeah, like Anne Coulter, Bill O' Reilly and certain nameless US presidents never did that!
So he's a millionaire, and yet he claims to be a friend of the people. Considering he was broke when he made Roger and Me, and considering most millionaires couldn't give a monkey's ar*e about average working people like me, it's hardly a devastating critisism.
This book is in fact so bad, that I've kind of got to thinking - "if this is the only drivel they can come up with against Michael Moore, then maybe he's not so bad after all".
Let's face it - I'm only giving it 1 star because minus numbers are not possible. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is as right wing as Moore is left wing, 3 Sep 2006
This book is definately worth a read. You must read this with the knowledge that this is VERY biast. But no more biast than Moore, albiet in the other direction.

It picks up on some very interesting tricks Moore uses to con viewers and readers. I dont have a problem with Moores views, however I do dispise the way he puts them across. He is not the brave anti-establishment figure as he makes out. In interlectual circles he is just dismissed.

Read this book, but be aware it is VERY anti-Moore. However there are two sides to every story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the profits before people brigade do their usual thing.., 10 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Typical of all right wing "journalism", the authors select portions of Moores work and personality to critique ignoring the main thrust of his arguments. The result is to divert attention from the best thing about Moore: He is popularising dissent, a vital part of a healthy democracy.(sorry to be patronising) To argue that Moores polemics are easier to dismiss because of his use of traditional rightwing tactics is grasping at straws to say the least. My personal hope is that his work (flawed or not) will help bring new audiences to Chomsky, Pilger, Fisk Etc and perhaps even elevate public debate of real issues into the mainstream (some hope!). Moore may be guilty of bending the truth, but a little bit of spin is par for the course these days isn't it? Don't buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please NO MOORE!, 1 Oct 2004
Having previously met Michael Moore at a speech at the Oxford Union I must admit I gained some respect for his arguments standing up for the little man, and some fines points he normally makes concerning corporate America's drive for profit. Yet after watching Bowling for Columbine and reading some of his books it seemed that what he was claiming was simply too absurd to be true. And it was!
This book systematically (and unlike Moore using independently verifiable data), demolishes the majority of his work in order to show that time and time again whether on film or in print he has manipulated interviews, footage and data in order to lie to the general public. The pure cheek of the this 'man of the people' in splicing together films, cutting out important statements and misusing context is unbelievable.
Rational statements and logical argument are thrown out the window to make emotive and clearly untrue points.
I should admit that I agree with many of his general arguments and side with him on the issue of gun ownership, higher wages and corporate greed, yet I feel betrayed by a man who has the potential to enact serious changes yet does so in a dishonest and vindictive way, not only bending the truth but ignoring it at crucial junctures.

I would prefer reading someone who is honest and open to me about all sides of the argument and thus might have to work harder to win the point than a blatant liar whose use of misinformation makes him as bad as those he rants and raves against.
This book shows that it is not just the right-wing media than can be overly devious and nasty, liberal writers are quickly losing the plot and becoming more fraudulent in their methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Touched a not-particularly-bright nerve, 6 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Moore is a Big Fat Stupid White Man (Paperback)
Michael Moore has made a lot of enemies following his outburst against George W Bush while accepting his Oscar for Bowling for Columbine and, following on, Fahrenheit 9/11.

The thing is, their level almost always soon degenerates into fat jibes and accusations that he lies, yet with no actual proof to back up the allegations. Comeon, when the phrase "Big Fat Stupid White Man" makes up the title, you can already assume the level it will operate on. Indeed, it seems to prefer taking cheap potshots at Moore - the quote "Dude, Where's Your Integrity?" on the back cover is one - and again doesn't really offer anything other than a rant about Michael Moore being un-American because he dissed the President.

The chapters are set up in a way that take cheap jibes at Moore and his books, rather than valid points: it opens with An Open Letter to Michael Moore, a counter to the opening gambit of Dude Where's My Country - and continues in this vein for 272 pages, none of which have anything to really offer. Indeed, you can go on any message board and read the rants of any number of anti-Moore people that follow the same pattern and employ the same logic, but do it in a sentence with no illusion of intellectualism, yet this book has them and goes out of its way to prove how unitellectual it is (and, indeed, the aforementioned posters).

If you don't like Moore, formulate your own opinions, and argue them in a rational and logical way - don't pick up a book that cannot do that at any point, and only succeeds at leaving a bad taste in the mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasent eye-opener to moore and is work, 23 Dec 2006
This review is from: Michael Moore is a Big Fat Stupid White Man (Paperback)
I found the book, enjoyable, at times funny, and a very worthwhile read. It shows simply and clearly how Moore as attempted to decieve his viewers. I would reccomend it to anyone who has heard of or viewed / read any of Moore's work to put his work into perspective.

Its nice to see an alternative to the greedy and at times ridiculous and self-obsessed works of Michael Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bush Propaganda, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: Michael Moore is a Big Fat Stupid White Man (Paperback)
A bitter disappointment. An American friend bought me this as she wanted me to see both sides of the story. I didn't actually watch it to the end, I must admit, it was too awful and obviously anti-anything Michael Moore said. A waste of time & money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Corporate crap, 23 May 2010
By 
William F. Green (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was obviously not going to be long before Corporate America got pissed off with the truth being told about its crimes. This book has been written and paid for by the very people that Mr Moore exposes and it is obviously being promoted to discredit the man so that they can continue to screw the people. It comes as no surprise that the book is printed by Regan press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Moore is a Big Fat Stupid White Man
Michael Moore is a Big Fat Stupid White Man by Jason Clark (Paperback - 7 July 2005)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews