Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Look at the Woman behind the Image
Like many before me, I feel inspired and really connected to Janis' story. She didn't conform to society's rules, didn't connect easily with most people, and, as a result, became an outcast at her school, her town, her state. She finally did find a group of friends that were accepting - those who opposed the rules that dictated black and whites must live apart, and that...
Published on 25 Aug. 2009 by CL Padley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worst of the janis books
worst of the janis books,seemed intent on keeping the joplln name clean janis appeared a victim of port arthur, but was no saint.
Published 16 months ago by michael batty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Look at the Woman behind the Image, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
CL Padley (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love, Janis (Paperback)
Like many before me, I feel inspired and really connected to Janis' story. She didn't conform to society's rules, didn't connect easily with most people, and, as a result, became an outcast at her school, her town, her state. She finally did find a group of friends that were accepting - those who opposed the rules that dictated black and whites must live apart, and that it was important that one should only love the opposite sex, and one should settle down into family life as soon as possible without questioning authority. Janis was a teenage beatnik, and a twenty-something hippy. And all that time she was never truly happy. Like most of us, she had a destructive soul that she found hard to control. She was happy doing what she loved but she quickly got caught in a whirlwind she couldn't get out of. Her life ran passed her and she found it impossible to catch up. It probably didn't help that she desperately needed people to like her - she always craved that love and acceptance from her fans, and, consequently, overworked herself to her grave.

Laura's written a beautiful account of her sister's life. Funny, poignant, and full of truth - never leaving out the gruesome bits for sentimental value. Laura isn't afraid to mention when Janis' head began to get too big for her. Janis knew she was famous and, if she wasn't cooed over frequently, would quickly lose her temper and begin to doubt herself again.

It's the truth in the biography that makes it a wonderful thing to read. And I recognised some of my own flaws through discovering Janis' own. This book's definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get closer to janis joplin this is the book!, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
N. M. bowles (swindon england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love, Janis (Paperback)
I am 21 and only recently stumbled across janis joplin on itunes-i love rock and roll because of my dad however i hadnt heard of any janis joplin records before. When I first listened to her i didn't like it-BUT I kept relistening and now love her!! Because her fame and music was so long ago I really wanted to know more about her and her short life and her too early death-this is the closest you will get to knowing janis as its through her sister's eyes and it really is worth reading, i wish i had had the chance to hear her live and see her perform and this book gives you a better understanding of janis joplin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Life, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. R. Endicott (From Detroit & now in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Janis (Paperback)
Reminiscing about Janis in a conversation and then with her music on You tube got me looking for her biography. There were several to choose from but I figured her sister would have an inside view. Laura writes a most excellent story with personal knowledge of Janis and sensible reflections upon the influencial history of that generation. I found Laura's descriptions of the mindset and actions an interesting and enlightening explanation of what we "hippies" were influenced by, and how. A good combination of psychology and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Janis (Hardcover)
Interesting and great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worst of the janis books, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Janis (Hardcover)
worst of the janis books,seemed intent on keeping the joplln name clean janis appeared a victim of port arthur, but was no saint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love, Janis
Love, Janis by Laura Joplin (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews