Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


181 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection
As the 'Little House' books need no introduction by me, I am reviewing only on this particular collection. Contained in the collection are: 'Little House in the Big Woods', 'Farmer Boy', 'Little House on the Prairie', 'On the Banks of Plum Creek' and 'By the Shores of Silver Lake'. Because I didn't know which books were in this collection, I inadvertently bought a second...
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by Beren

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely, but I dislike the paper
The Laura Ingalls Wilder books are absolutely lovely, but this printing makes them feel like school books... in a bad way... and the coloring just feels/looks wrong... I purchased the 9 book-box set from amazon.com for my children after I received this, and this 5-book box set will be lent out to the public in my café instead...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by K. Norstedt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, 14 Feb 2005
By 
Beren (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
As the 'Little House' books need no introduction by me, I am reviewing only on this particular collection. Contained in the collection are: 'Little House in the Big Woods', 'Farmer Boy', 'Little House on the Prairie', 'On the Banks of Plum Creek' and 'By the Shores of Silver Lake'. Because I didn't know which books were in this collection, I inadvertently bought a second copy of 'Farmer Boy'! The paper quality is very good being white instead of the more usual off white/yellow! The illustration are lovely and in colour and appear to be the same balck and white illustrations found in the old Puffin editions that I have (and which are now falling apart. The Puffin books cost me between 25p and 75p - those were the days! A very good buy for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barb, 1 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
As a young girl I grew up watching Little house, but never got around to buying the books. Now much older I found I have time to catch up on all the things I missed when growing up. This set of books are a wonderful collection. They are beautifully written and illustrated. Any one young or old will enjoy them time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely, but I dislike the paper, 2 Feb 2010
By 
K. Norstedt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
The Laura Ingalls Wilder books are absolutely lovely, but this printing makes them feel like school books... in a bad way... and the coloring just feels/looks wrong... I purchased the 9 book-box set from amazon.com for my children after I received this, and this 5-book box set will be lent out to the public in my café instead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams Fulfilled: Little House of the Prarie, 6 Jan 2010
By 
C. Cheatle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
I bought this for a grandmother who wanted to rediscover her childhood. Mission accomplished. Excellent quality paper and binding - beautiful illustrations and the stories stand the test of time admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this!, 11 Sep 2007
By 
jem and claire (cambridge, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
there are NINE books in this series - why do they sell a box set with only FIVE books in it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Life With Laura Ingalls Wilder, 17 Dec 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
When I was in second grade, my teacher introduced our class to 'Theu Little House On The Prairie' books. We loved this series. We would wait impatiently everyday for the next chapter to be read. I wanted to be Laura Ingalls Wilder, and since I was a very good reader already, I went to the library every week, and I read the entire series.

Now, my granddUghter is reading 'Little House', and, of course, watching the TV series. We talk about the tree out west, the log cabin with one room, the loft, the meals Ma cooked in the fireplace and then the stove. Laura is our favorite, but Ma and Pa and the rest of the family are close seconds. This all occurred in 1867, and we followed the family and their covered wagon to the Midwest. We watched as Laura and her family grew, the new baby, Ma and Pa's adventures. The new teacher, the schoolhouse, the store, the family who lived there, and all the citizens in and around their hometown.

Laura marries Alonzo Wilder and starts her own family. We were with them, all the way. The births, the deaths, the blindness, the hurts, the good and the bad times. Laura Ingalls Wilder was real to us. She was a snippy, intelligent, driven child, and we wanted to be just like her. Such a good role model. I intend to read this marvelous series to all of my grandchildren. My children read the series, and I hope this continues into perpetuity.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 12-16-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just lovely, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
I read these as a child, and then as a young adult, and now I am delighted to be reading them with my 6yr old too. I have to explain a lot as we are going through them, it is, after all, a different world and a different time, but the stories are beautiful, simple and classic. This edition has some lovely pictures in it and it will make a beautiful addition to the book shelf that will be returned to many times over the next decade or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The little House collection Box set, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
I Sent this to my GT Nehew and Gt Neice in uk.they are 7 and 5yrs,They love the stories.Good Presant and Got there very fast.I was very pleased all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Well Received Gift, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
This was bought as a gift for a 26 year old woman. She told me they are VERY child-friendly (a little more than she had bargained for) but she ejoys them nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Product Review, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) (Paperback)
I received the product promptly, without delay and have enjoyed reading the books since. I look forward to sharing the books with my class-thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color)
The Little House Collection Box Set (Full Color) by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Paperback - 17 Jan 2012)
26.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews