Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light but Pacey
I love Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum books so thought I would give this one a try. I am not really a romance fan but I have to say I enjoyed this one. It is a light read so don't expect anything weighty, however, the storyline moves along well. The basic premise is that a man from the country needs a wife to make him look respectable and hires one from the city following...
Published on 1 Jan 2008 by Wendy Jones

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strong Premise Leads to Keystone Kops Antics and a Weak Ending
Wife for Hire will mainly appeal to those who want to see what kind of a writer Janet Evanovich was before she began writing about Stephanie Plum. The deftness of the Stephanie Plum numbered novels becomes more apparent when you see Ms. Evanovich struggling to find a way to conclude Wife for Hire.

Hank Mallone, a young man with a reputation for not being...
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strong Premise Leads to Keystone Kops Antics and a Weak Ending, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Mass Market Paperback)
Wife for Hire will mainly appeal to those who want to see what kind of a writer Janet Evanovich was before she began writing about Stephanie Plum. The deftness of the Stephanie Plum numbered novels becomes more apparent when you see Ms. Evanovich struggling to find a way to conclude Wife for Hire.

Hank Mallone, a young man with a reputation for not being serious, cannot convince his family, friends, and acquaintances that he's determined to make a success of being an organic apple farmer in Vermont. His solution? Pretend to be married. How? Hire someone to act as his wife.

Maggie Toone, a Jersey product, wants to escape from her life as a teacher to write a novel about her Aunt Kitty's career as a madam. She mainly needs peace, quiet, and some low-cost living. On a whim, she takes up Mallone on his offer.

From there, the story becomes an expected romance punctuated by some funny misunderstandings. I thought the most interesting part of the book came in reading about a Grandma Mazur prototype, Elsie Hawkins, who is Mallone's housekeeper/cook.

Misunderstandings abound, and some fun arises in the process. If you decide to read the book, focus on the fun.

The book gallops along at a nice pace until near the end where it takes an inauspicious turn away from being interesting. My impression is that Ms. Evanovich ran out of ideas for making the story interesting and simply limped to the finish.

If you like lots of schmaltz and predictability mixed in with your humor, you'll probably think this is a good romance novel. I was not amused enough to feel that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light but Pacey, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum books so thought I would give this one a try. I am not really a romance fan but I have to say I enjoyed this one. It is a light read so don't expect anything weighty, however, the storyline moves along well. The basic premise is that a man from the country needs a wife to make him look respectable and hires one from the city following an advert in a paper. Rather predictably they love each other but neither is aware of the others feelings. I am not ruining the plot here which is actually quite funny and takes some interesting turns. As can be expected from an Evanovich novel all the characters are eccentric to the point of madness but this only makes them funnier. If you want an easy read with a some humour and bucketloads of romance then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strong Premise Leads to Keystone Kops Antics and a Weak Ending, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Paperback)
Wife for Hire will mainly appeal to those who want to see what kind of a writer Janet Evanovich was before she began writing about Stephanie Plum. The deftness of the Stephanie Plum numbered novels becomes more apparent when you see Ms. Evanovich struggling to find a way to conclude Wife for Hire.

Hank Mallone, a young man with a reputation for not being serious, cannot convince his family, friends, and acquaintances that he's determined to make a success of being an organic apple farmer in Vermont. His solution? Pretend to be married. How? Hire someone to act as his wife.

Maggie Toone, a Jersey product, wants to escape from her life as a teacher to write a novel about her Aunt Kitty's career as a madam. She mainly needs peace, quiet, and some low-cost living. On a whim, she takes up Mallone on his offer.

From there, the story becomes an expected romance punctuated by some funny misunderstandings. I thought the most interesting part of the book came in reading about a Grandma Mazur prototype, Elsie Hawkins, who is Mallone's housekeeper/cook.

Misunderstandings abound, and some fun arises in the process. If you decide to read the book, focus on the fun.

The book gallops along at a nice pace until near the end where it takes an inauspicious turn away from being interesting. My impression is that Ms. Evanovich ran out of ideas for making the story interesting and simply limped to the finish.

If you like lots of schmaltz and predictability mixed in with your humor, you'll probably think this is a good romance novel. I was not amused enough to feel that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a sweet treat, 29 April 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Mass Market Paperback)
nice little fluffy book to pass an afternoon with the usual evanovich style and calamity. i would agree with other reviewer when she commented that it did run out of steam at the end with the resolution of the sub plot but we can forgive her for that because elsie hawkins (prototype for gramdma mazur) is such a riot!!! if you have com across her before you will know what i mean.

if you enjoyed this i would also recommend "the kept woman" by susan donovan and "full house" by evanovich and her writing partner charlotte hughes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sluggish at times, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Audio CD)
I found the story a bit slow moving in places, the plot is a bit thin and the characters were not always believable. Overall though it was a pleasant book to listen to for a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars witty, as always!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Paperback)
lurve ALL Janet Evanovich books
fab page-turners
make you giggle
only took 3 nights to read and I am not a quick reader normally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: Wife for Hire (Mass Market Paperback)
Hank Malone was the town bad boy. He's returned to take up his inheritance--an apple orchard in Vermont. He has plans to turn it into a serious organic business, but in the town's eyes, he's still the same troublemaking stud he used to be, and the bank won't take him seriously for a loan. To change his image, he decides to hire a wife for six months, to give the illusion of stability and hopefull get the business loan. He hires Maggie Toone in New Jersey and brings her to his farm. She's eager to escape her small town life and job as a
teacher, and relishes the chance to fulfill her dream of writing a book based upon her aunt's diaries. One small problem--her aunt was the local madam.!! I would also recommend, if you missed reading TIN0 GEORGIOU'S masterpiece--THE FATES, go and read it. With fascinating and brilliantly created characters in `THE FATES' coupled with two intertwining plots makes for a completely enjoyable and page-turning read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wife for Hire
Wife for Hire by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - 14 Dec 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews