Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for Sinatra fans
This book is a must for all Sinatra fans. An honest and insightful account of life with Sinatra by the person who was most close to him for 12/13 years. This book shows some great photographs including some lovely personal shots of Sinatra and Marilyn Monroe that I had never seen before. A really excellent read, you will not want to put it down.
Published on 22 Feb. 2004 by Mj

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Sensationalism
If this is an accurate account of Frank Sinatra and his lifestyle I can only say this was not a nice man! I have always been a fan of his music and of course his displays of temper are well documented but this book by his one time valet also highlights other less than admirable traits.

But the problem I found with this account, was that it soon descended into...
Published 12 months ago by EssexBetty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for Sinatra fans, 22 Feb. 2004
This book is a must for all Sinatra fans. An honest and insightful account of life with Sinatra by the person who was most close to him for 12/13 years. This book shows some great photographs including some lovely personal shots of Sinatra and Marilyn Monroe that I had never seen before. A really excellent read, you will not want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this book, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
If you are interested in Frank Sinatra, the Rat Pack and that era this book is a must. You would not believe the true stories about stars we thought we knew all about eg Marilyn Monroe, JFK and Bobby. Each chapter amazes me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The good ,the bad and the ugly, 17 Feb. 2006
By 
G. Whitefield (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. S: My Life with Frank Sinatra (Paperback)
The Good- Great account of Sinatra's jet set life style and the other Stars he knew and their relationship to him.
The Bad- Not enough disclosure on the authour himself, he seems like an interesting guy in his own right and I wanted to know more about him.
The Ugly- The frequent accounts of Frank and his Rat pack buddies
sleeping with prostitutes,one paragraph descibing this would have
been enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Details, but Repetetive, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
This book does give some really interesting insights into 50s and 60s Hollywood and Sinatra's habits and proclivities, he comes across as very far from likeable. The only qualm I have is that the stories do become a little repetitive after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The true Mr Sinatra story, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
JCT Richards (Northallerton, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed every page of this most interesting and informative book. Not only featuring the escapades and life style of Frank Sinatra this book also gives an insight into the sexual and political intrigues of the film and entertainment starts of the world - warts and all. A most informative and funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another side of Frank, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
Well written book with new insights into the man - especially his private life and his relationship with Ava Gardner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Sensationalism, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
If this is an accurate account of Frank Sinatra and his lifestyle I can only say this was not a nice man! I have always been a fan of his music and of course his displays of temper are well documented but this book by his one time valet also highlights other less than admirable traits.

But the problem I found with this account, was that it soon descended into a
repetitive litany of Frank Sinatra's despotic excesses with his need for hookers, his association with gangsters, his spiteful practical jokes, his vendettas etc. . The people he associated with also seemed to have very little to admire, including well known film stars & celebrities and politicians.In the end, as the list of Frank Sinatra's (and indeed others) excesses mounted and mounted, I completely lost interest as so much seem contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little more insight into Sinatra, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. S (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading about the man and his excesses, which were truly over the top. Much of what is written is already well known, but this book is a good example of how outrageously a person can behave if there is no power to stop them. Rather like a dictator or potentiat ruling with absolute power the book describes a man drunk on power with everyone afraid to point out the truth to them.
The author contradicts himself often, but this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant insight into the live of Mr S, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book as by far exceeded all expectations I had. It is a fantastic account of the life of Frank Sinatra, by someone who probably knew him best and went through ups and downs with him.
If you are interested in a little background information on what Hollywood was really like in the 50's and 60's, then this is the book for you.
Highly recommended, not just as a biography, but as description of a lifestyle when Hollywood was still young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband who is a fan. I must admit when I looked at the book I was amazed at the quality and ended up reading it my self. A must for Frank fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. S: My Life with Frank Sinatra
Mr. S: My Life with Frank Sinatra by William Stadiem (Paperback - April 2004)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews