Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and inspiring cook-book
This is a classic of its type, outlining an approach to eating that combines elements of the classical French aesthetic with British ingredients and recipes. It is inspirational cookery without being overly aspirational.

The book is only marred by a slight lack of clarity and occasional sloppy culinary proofreading. An example of this is Welsh Rarebit for 6...
Published on 6 April 2007 by D. Onions

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars US Edition
The description doesn't make it clear but this is an American edition, full of cilantro and cups of flour.
I'm sure the book is perfectly fine, but I didn't keep it long enough to find out.
If an american edition is what you want, then it'll be just dandy. Otherwise the UK edition is probably what you're after.
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Monkeycounter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and inspiring cook-book, 6 April 2007
By 
D. Onions - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic of its type, outlining an approach to eating that combines elements of the classical French aesthetic with British ingredients and recipes. It is inspirational cookery without being overly aspirational.

The book is only marred by a slight lack of clarity and occasional sloppy culinary proofreading. An example of this is Welsh Rarebit for 6 specifying four pieces of toast. This does not detract from the overall significance of the book, but may have the effect of heightening the nervousness of uncertain cooks coming to it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars US Edition, 16 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating (Paperback)
The description doesn't make it clear but this is an American edition, full of cilantro and cups of flour.
I'm sure the book is perfectly fine, but I didn't keep it long enough to find out.
If an american edition is what you want, then it'll be just dandy. Otherwise the UK edition is probably what you're after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written With Great Charm, 28 May 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (edinburgh Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Fergus Henderson comes across as a lovely soul in this book and I think that's quite important when he's trying to encourage the consumption of some fairly spooky food, you don't need some nippy sweetie making you feel like a hick if you balk at the notion.

Offal isn't so much a matter of taste as it is of texture and for people who haven't eaten offal I don't know how much this comes through.

My only criticism is the lack of additional info about offal, the different types of tripe and liver can't necessarily do the same recipe justice. I had a butcher insisting it WAS calf's liver, it was only 18 months old when it died. Aye maybe but it was well past pan searing/drizzling with fig balsamic, strictly gravy and onions.

A lovely book for those who have the guts (couldn't resist it) to try it out. Try a Chinese supermarket if you're looking for said guts, and if you find a butcher who'll play along, treasure him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully different and refreshing cookbook, 8 July 1999
By A Customer
Mr. Henderson has a wonderful appreciation of food and its joys. To read his book is a refreshing experience bringing both common sense and pleasure to what is an often overblown and over glossy oeuvre. He undoubtably understands the nature of the produce he uses and brings back memories, real or imagined, of good food, sourced locally and cooked well and often simply. I did manage to track down some bone marrow, his bone marrow and parsley dressing was delicious and I am enjoying working through the other recipes. I have read that Mr. Henderson is celebrated for his offal, the book offers a lot, lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This book is beautifully written and has recipes that you couldn't hope to find elsewhere, which are taken from Fergus Henderson's St John Restaurant in London. Even if you don't fancy cooking tripe or brains there is plenty worth reading. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Beast Nose to tail eating, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating (Paperback)
I bought this together with two other books by Fergus Henderson. This one is written for the US market and most of the recipies were taken from the two UK publications. I didn't pick this up from the web site. The two other books are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NB, smaller sized book., 2 Sep 2011
Great book, especially if you love the resturant and the style.

However, buyers note this book is in the smaller novel-sized format. This is not entirely clear from the product description, and I'm pretty sure this is a smaller format than the book was originally published in...

I was a little disappointed to find it was a small size, so buyer beware I guess.

Content wise, its awesome though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely adore this cookbook, 2 Mar 2000
By 
J. Spiteri (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first cookbook that has taught me how to prepare a truly spectacular meal that my friends are flabbergasted by. The ingredients that Fergus Henderson uses are unusual, wholesome and delicious. Cooking with Nose To Tail Eating totally rewarding experience. Having eaten at St. John a number of times and marvelled at Fergus's cooking, I have to say that if anyone really enjoys a gastronomic treat then buy them this cookbook. Also it is the first time that I have seen photographs that show the dining experience in realistic terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 16 Sep 2010
By 
M. English "Matt Rayner" (Helsinki) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anthony Bourdain's gushing introduction was a surprise. Of all the people to call an English restaurant his favourite in the world!

If you're looking for a Christmas present for the cook who has every Nigella and Jamie etc, this little gem will make him or her sit up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent recipes and pictures! Fabulous piggies. And if you haven't yet been to the restaurant GO!!!!!! Well worth the reading and digesting! - a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating
The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating by Fergus Henderson (Paperback - April 2004)
Used & New from: £8.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews