Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lifestyles of the rich and famous
These characters-so idolised as the world's historical champions by the media at the time - Jack, Jackie, Bobby, Marilyn, Maria Callas etc. are revealed here as ego-obsessed, mercenary monsters set in a complex sprawling tangle of shadowy interdependent relationships that most of us cannot begin to imagine. The leaders of the free world and their cronies painted as more...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Gargantua Pantaloon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars trying to find an autobiography read many years ago
I read a story about Onasis in the 60's and lent it to someone and have never been able to find the copy this was'nt it a poor second
Published 7 months ago by margaret palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lifestyles of the rich and famous, 26 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
These characters-so idolised as the world's historical champions by the media at the time - Jack, Jackie, Bobby, Marilyn, Maria Callas etc. are revealed here as ego-obsessed, mercenary monsters set in a complex sprawling tangle of shadowy interdependent relationships that most of us cannot begin to imagine. The leaders of the free world and their cronies painted as more interested in their sexual conquests and revenge for their slighted egos than the trivial matters of managing the affairs of the world. What a dung heap we live in with such despicable bloated vermin running the show. If you have any illusions about what makes the world go round or wish for your cynical suspicions to be confirmed-this book is for you. What ugly people they all are-in every way. The nasty little Onassis, wife-beating and cheating his way through life-is that admirable?- the two - timing -perfidious Kennedys-the ghastly women who seem no more than high class whatanames - and the fawning coteries of unprinciped hangers on - here they all are.
And while the offspring of these psychopaths, the power mongers and their politicians continue to tittle tattle and run their economies into the ground, and bring us daily to the edge of nuclear extinction, the media still wheels out the same wretched sycophantic, idolising nonsense.
It's sobering to think that those born after the sixties and seventies don't have much more insight into corruption than their experience of a few shabby MPs fudging their expenses. They missed out on this time of lid-lifting life education so well portrayed here.
This is an extraordinary book-academically detailed and thorough but engaging and full of interest. The veracity of the murderous hidden plot suggestions are not so important in a way - it's the other world of the Masters of the Universe that makes such things credible that is so dazzling. I wish I'd kept it back, it would have made page- turning reading on some holiday somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TERRIFIC READ, 11 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In Nemesis, Peter Evans makes startling revelations about the involvement of Aristotle Onassis in a plot to murder Robert Kennedy. I read this author's biography of Onassis a few years ago and enjoyed it very much. This book is even better.

A two-family saga about two dying breeds, a political thriller, even, in a perverse way, a love story, Nemesis tells the story of two powerful men - Onassis and Bobby Kennedy - and Jackie O, the woman they loved in their own fashion. Evans's revelations about the mores, etiquettes, and rituals, of their world, makes this a fascinationg study of a society as well as a compelling story of murder, greed, and lust in high places. Often poignant - especially his portrait of Jackie O, who emerges as a surprisingly strong, articulate, modern woman who knows exactly what she wants and is determined to get it - and sardonic, this is a stimulating and provocative read.
I don't know whether all the secrets he dishes along the way can be taken as Gospel, but his sources are impressive, his research is persuasive, and I believed every word of it. I loved it. A terrific read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars were our idols really this bad?, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Janet Little (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
I was led to read this book after seeing the play Onassis' in London, based on the book. The play and book revealed shocking 'facts' about people I had been led to believe were honorable and touched by tragedy - Jackie Onassis and Bobby Kennedy in particular. This meticulously researched and referenced book laid bare facts, through the life of Onassis and the interaction with the Kennedys, that completely re-wrote my view of history and makes me even more cautious when reading of peronalities in the media. So much corruption on the part of Onassis, and so much hatred and vengeance. Gripping, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start too finish..., 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
Nemesis is a fascinating read.
I take my hat off too the author for the level of research he must of done too give this book it's rich sense of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis by Peter Evans, 4 Feb 2010
By 
J. Cane (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
A very interesting well written book . It reveals many facts not readily known before. It puts a whole new meaning to the Kennedy presidency. Ari is also portrayed warts and all for the man he really was. Jackie is also shown to be a very different person to the public Jackie.

I wonder how much of this will ever go into the history books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INTRIGUING INSIGHT INTO THE LIVES OF THE FAMOUS, NOTORIOUS AND SUPER WEALTHY., 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Morgan-davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read. Exposing many secrets that had been rumour based until I read this book. It presents as well researched and gives an insight into the lives one has read and known about for along time. Some of these people have enjoyed an iconic status but it would appear not to be what their publicity would have us believe. Excellent and engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
I looked forward to reading this book as there has been so much controvercy surrounding it. I was not to be dissapointed,its one of
those special books that when youve finished it feels like bidding an old freind goodbye. Shocking revelations are therin of which
I choose very much to beleive. Peter Evans is a master story teller, he will mesmerise you, you will ignore the telly and your spouse
will be saying 'I'II be glad when youve finished that blinking book'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling Read, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
I wasn't sure on this book and whether it would be too sensationalised, but it was a great and very intersting read. The writer doesn't lead you into crazy conspiracies but provides a lot of facts and has had a lot of direct contact with people in the book, giving a legtimacy to it. As a result this is a fascinating and enthralling read and gives a very different view of the protagnists than some other volumes give! I got through this book in less than a week, as I could hardly put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
This book was an excellent read, thoroughly enjoyed it. Gave me an insight into the life and loves of Onasis and his nemesis Jackie O.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money can't buy everything, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: Nemesis: The True Story of Aristotle Onassis, Jackie O, and the Love Triangle That Brought Down the Kennedys (Paperback)
An interview with Robert Lindsey on a Sunday Wogan Show made me acquire this book and I took it on a recent holiday. I couldn't put it down. The intrigue, power struggles, wheeling and dealing and revelations laid bare, just had me gasping. What a man, what a family ! I'm already waiting for it to come to London as a stage play, starring of course, Robert Lindsey. The stories behind the two Kennedy assassinations is revealed and, believe them or not, it is compelling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews