Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pressure makes diamonds
Read this book. Read it. Buy it. Now. If you have even the slightest interest in skateboarding, this will be of interest. If you have no interest in skateboarding, don't worry - there's a very warm and humane story in this autobiography. I love Rodney - if you've ever seen him on YouTube, he's incredibly humble and quiet. Monk-like almost. This book tells how he became...
Published 8 months ago by W. D. Slater

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself
This is not an instruction book but a biography. Just to warn you, but it is a reasonable read though
Published on 19 Jun. 2009 by Mr. S. Gohil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pressure makes diamonds, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
Read this book. Read it. Buy it. Now. If you have even the slightest interest in skateboarding, this will be of interest. If you have no interest in skateboarding, don't worry - there's a very warm and humane story in this autobiography. I love Rodney - if you've ever seen him on YouTube, he's incredibly humble and quiet. Monk-like almost. This book tells how he became the person he is and the pressure he was under which ultimately formed his character. Have you bought it yet???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing!, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
The Mutt was one of my skateboarding idols when I started riding in 1987, and this book just shows the dedication and hard bloody work it took him to get where he is today. He got addicted to skateboarding when aged 11, and this book is written with so much humor. If you're a skateboarder, you'll love it. If not, you'll love it anyway, especially if you've always thought of yourself as a bit of an 'outsider' :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good autobiography., 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
"The Mutt" is a very good autobiography. Exacly the one style I wanted to read from Rodney. The book is very well written, and the structure so simple. Rodney doesn't over talk about the tricks he used in contests nor the ones he invented but focuses on sharing his personal life in all details, chronologically. Youth, family, friends, business, souvenirs, hapiness and sadness.
A book that gripps you from the first chapter if you want to know everything about Rodney, his surrounding, and how the world of skateboard used to work from the 1970's until now.
Highly recomend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hats Off To The Mutt, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
If you skated in the 1980s, you knew who Rodney Mullen was. The man, sure-footed genius that he is, is singularly responsible for today's street skating (or 'street style' as it was known in the olden days). Mullen's story is that of a polymath who excelled in academia and in his chosen sport but suffered from the relentless and demotivating effects of his domineering father who strongly disapproved of what he considered to be Mullen's misguided and immature career choice. Mullen tells a strangely affecting tale of a youth riven by his desire to excel at skating and respectfully comply with his overbearing father's demands. If you enjoy reading The Mutt, I recommend you watch The Bones Brigade Autobiography for a full 'where are they now' overview of the legendary skate team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HERO, 15 Feb. 2007
By 
C. Davis (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
When I was freestyling in the 80's, Rodney was my hero. I was in my teens, and he was a true celebrity. His skating is unparalleled. I was about 15, and I wrote him a fan letter care of Powell/Peralta. A couple months later my mom was cooking dinner, the phone rang, it was for me. I pick it up and the guy says "Hey Chris, this is Rodney." I practically fell over. Of course I was taken completely off guard and acted like a dork, but there I was, talking on the phone with my idol. He was such a professional, and a fine guy, to respect his fans like that. That moment is very special to my childhood memories....

The best skaters are the ones who really persevered, Rodney and of course Tony Hawk are still skating today, and are also very wealthy for it. It is truly in their blood, and God bless 'em.

What's more, is people who are not familiar with skating obviously don't appreciate the scale of his celebrity, his fandom. I was intimate with the sport and riders all through the 80's, and today I could talk about it, but to who? Through no fault of their own, people just don't understand how important he is, a true athlete. And the brief encounters I had with him at that time are an important landmark in my life. (I also got his autograph in 1986 at a Swatch music & skate entertainment stage show in NYC).

This book is a great insight into his life and attitudes, and shows his genuine character. Definitely a nostalgic and worthy read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
T. KELLY "timjkelly23" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
I got this book for my nephew as he is a keen skateboarder and he loved it. He does not read books but this was read in a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best !!!, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
D. Tudge "tudgie" (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
what hasn`t already been said about the legend Rodney Mullen? By far simply the best skateboarder who has ever lived !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational book, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
I thought I'd find some instructions on how to skate and some teaching pics etc, but it's more like an autobiography of the most skilled skateboarder alive. Though I didn't find what I was looking for, I just found an interesting and inspirational story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
The delivery time for this book was exceptional. It arrived 2 days before it was mean to.

As for the book, epic book, so much about Rodney i didnt realize, before i read this i was a big fan, now im a massive fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rodney Fan!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself (Paperback)
Well i am a big Rodney fan and found this book good , not the best autobiograohy out there but a good insite into rodney mullen.

Worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself
The Mutt: How to Skateboard and Not Kill Yourself by Sean Mortimer (Paperback - 8 Sept. 2005)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews