Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to start investing with
This book is now re-edited by jason zweig- the message still comes through clearly-there is no easy money anywhere. It takes time and a clear plan to succeed. Let me tell you a small secret and the synposis of the entire book- buy index funds that are cheap as possible( ones with no entry or exit load and with very little maintainence fees). In time they will pay you rich...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Mr. M. Shanker

versus
250 of 257 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two books: one old and good, one new and bad
This edition of The Intelligent Investor is really two books in one. There is the original 1973 edition of Ben Graham's classic on "value investing" and then a commentary on each chapter by Jason Zweig.

Graham's text is solid, a little heavy, sometimes a little out of date, and some of his tables a bit user-unfriendly; but no matter: it is the timeless lessons...
Published on 21 Sep 2006 by Petrolhead


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

250 of 257 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two books: one old and good, one new and bad, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Petrolhead (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
This edition of The Intelligent Investor is really two books in one. There is the original 1973 edition of Ben Graham's classic on "value investing" and then a commentary on each chapter by Jason Zweig.

Graham's text is solid, a little heavy, sometimes a little out of date, and some of his tables a bit user-unfriendly; but no matter: it is the timeless lessons he teaches that matter. He is very methodical, a bit mathematical and -- if you follow him all the way -- will leave you with a good grounding in how to approach the stock market.

Basically his gospel is this: ignore all the hype and blather around the stockmarket. Invest for the long-term in big, rock-steady, simple businesses, after analysing them with a few financial criteria. But only buy when the market is offering them at a bargain price.

Unfortunately, each of Graham's sober tutorials is followed by a commentary by Zweig. He may claim to be a disciple of the great man, but he is certainly not cut from the same cloth. Zweig is just one more financial markets cheerleader: repetitive, pushy, and rolling out the same old disaster stories from the dot.com era ad nauseam, supposedly to show how wise Graham was (in case you didn't understand Graham's chapter). He also repeatedly cites his own magazine and keeps naming the same fund, which is annoying at the very least. He also resorts to a lot of "if you had bought shares on every third Wednesday since 1974 you would have made a 3,859 percent return!!" kind of hocus-pocus which is a complete waste of time.

Zweig could have used the opportunity to unpick some of the knottier points of Graham's book and help readers understand the harder parts. The worst thing is that he sometimes goes against Graham's teachings, so he should NOT be taken as an extension of Graham! (For example, on page 129 he says if you don't have time to choose your own stocks, there's no shame in hiring someone to pick them for you. On page 243, he says "In the financial markets, luck is more important than skill". Ben Graham must be turning in his grave.)

One more caveat: this volume boasts a preface and appendix by Warren Buffett, Ben Graham's most famous pupil. But don't be swayed by that. The preface is an obituary written by Buffett and the appendix is an edited talk that Buffett gave in 1984. They're okay but it doesn't mean that Buffett is backing this schizoid volume.

My advice: read the Graham chapters, ditch the Zweig commentary. You'll save time AND be wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to start investing with, 1 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
This book is now re-edited by jason zweig- the message still comes through clearly-there is no easy money anywhere. It takes time and a clear plan to succeed. Let me tell you a small secret and the synposis of the entire book- buy index funds that are cheap as possible( ones with no entry or exit load and with very little maintainence fees). In time they will pay you rich dividends as warren buffet says.

If however you want to do your own research then the book you need to get is security analysis by graham, but let me warn you it is not light reading and a level of knowledge of stocks is neccasary. Maybe someone will edit that as well making it easier for the novice investor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invest In This Book, Invest In Yourself, 24 Sep 2006
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
With more than one million copies sold and an endorsement on the cover by Warren Buffet, you know there has to be something to this book- and I think I know why. Simply because it is the first book ever to describe the emotional framework and analytical tools necessary for financial success for individual investors.

Probably the single best book on investing written for the lay-public and the stock market bible since its first appearance in 1949, it's a great resource, although it's quite a thick book and filled with detail- and probably not for anybody but the serious stock market investor. And if getting motivated to start investing is your problem, suggest The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Cap Value Stocks Lead the US Market through 2004, 30 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
The Intelligent Investor effectively introduces the idea of examining a company's stock as though you might buy the whole company. This is the way that potential acquirers of the company will look at it. If it looks like a good buy as an acquisition, you have the added edge of a potential buy out to help buoy your stocks.
With so many stocks beaten down over the last few years, this is a good time to think about value investing. Also, remember that you can buy value investing indexed mutual funds now. And these have done well through 2004, especially the ones that focus on small capitalization stocks.
In March 2000, many people considered value investing about as useful as high-button shoes. If they had thought about value investing, they would have had another measure of how overpriced the market was. As a result, losses could have been avoided.
On the other hand, value investing will make you money more often than momentum investing will over the years. Long-term studies have shown that small cap value stocks beat the S&P 500 over time.
So even if this does not seem like this approach is right for you, you should learn more before rejecting this alternative.
Here's another reason why: Almost all stocks will be volatile relative to their average p/e, price/cash flow, or price/revenue ratio. By paying attention to this volatility, you can learn a lot about when to buy and sell a given stock. Astute traders based on value principles can also use options to lock in even larger profits, taking the normal ebb and flow of valuation into account.
Those who envy Warren Buffett's track record should understand these principles as well, because these ideas are the basis for some of the Buffett investing style. He later added a perspective on stock markets and human psychology that Graham did not have: Brand names which are attached to quality products and services will tend to outperform the market, especially when they have the potential to expand their geographical distribution around the world and to add new products.
Another benefit of understanding the lessons in this book is to help you know when value investors will probably want to start buying a "beaten down" stock, which will often mark the beginning of the stock's turnaround.
You will look in vain for a better book on value investing, and understanding this subject is like going to Driver's Education when you are learning to drive. It is an important groundwork for being a safe investor.
The most important concept you will ever learn as an investor is that avoiding losses is more important than making gains. It is too hard to make up for the losses, so make more careful buys in the first place and be prepared to leave before your precious capital is dissipated.
If you are a new investor, another lesson for you will be the need to establish a discipline to how you invest. This book will give you a good sense of how that can be done.
Otherwise, the stock market can be an expensive form of gambling. Please do buy, read, think about, and use the insights of this book to create more value for yourself and those you care about. We will all be richer if you do.
After you have finished enjoying this book, I suggest that you also think about where else in your life you should be careful not to make big mistakes. How about in your relationships?
May your wealth compound safely and intelligently for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head and shoulders above everything else, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
This book is the best stocks and shares book you will ever read. I know this is a bold statement and I have not read them all, but I have read over 100 of them. None of the others even touch this (except for 1 other which I am keeping secret whilst I apply the knowledge learned). It is heavy reading especially at the beginning and requires a lot of concentration. The further you get through the book, the moe you realise the brilliance of the man and the simplicity of his methods. By the end I was literally so excited to get trading that I turned professional within a month of finishing this book. The best financial book I have ever read and the 2nd best book I have EVER read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 9 Jun 2006
By 
David Munt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
The original text was written quite some years ago, yet like most truly good advice it survives the passage of time very well. An essential classic to read if you want to get your mind and attitude properly focused on Value Investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the serious investor, 4 Jun 2004
By 
Bas Röling (Haarlem, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
What can you say about such a classic? Everyone who takes investing seriously should read this book. After that, you will probably convinced that Graham's method is the only serious and logical approach to investing. And this book is the best way to learn this approach, beacuse Graham explains his principles in a very clear way (although the examples are a little outdated, of course) and what's better than to learn directly from the master himself? Another small recommendation to this book is the fortune Warren Buffett build by applying the philosophy described in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be better without Jason Zweig's bit, 4 Jun 2009
By 
M. Ambrose "Ambrose" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
I totally agree with one of the other reviews on this page. Graham's bits are outstanding, but the book overall is ruined by Jason Zweig's commentaries. I realise some may argue that I should just skip those, however it means you spend all of your time skipping chapters and reading half-filled pages that are padded out with loads of footnotes.

I eventually gave my copy to a charity shop and bought the original 1949 edition and really enjoyed it. It's just shame that you can't get the later edition in its original format.

One advantage the original book has is - for those that like firm guidelines - it sets out example criteria for picking stocks and is a far more practical version. The downside is there are chapters on bonds that no longer relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as wise as the bible, and as badly writen (in places), 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
i would acually give this 700 page tome 4 and a half stars, but there isnt a button for that.

this book is a very useable, inspiring and thought provoking investment guide. it was produced out of half a centuarys worth of trial, error and sucess by an unquestionably cleaver man. should someone interested in stocks read it? yes, proably.

for a book claiming to be for the 'layman' this book doesent give some of its secrets up easily. now im not an idiot (ha ha) but there were places in the book where i was reading the words but could come up with no meaning for the sentences. but i found it got easier to understand as i went on, perhaps it just takes a while to get used to grahams style. some, but not all, of the tables have been described by other reviewers a 'user unfriendly'. i wouldnt disagree.

enough of the bad, whats good?
graham really knew how to asses the financial health of a buisness and how to calculate its value. his 'value' and 'margin of safty' ideas are common sence writ large. his phlegmatic approach helps the investor to keep an even keel whilst navigating the stormy seas of the stock markets waves of irration optimism and pessimism.

some reviewers have criticised jason zwiegs footnotes and chapter summeries, but for me they were exelent and nessary. i can only guess that critics object to having new text interpolated in to what they, understandably, consider to be a perfect and complet work. but zweig helps to make to book more current and fills in a few areas where graham gave a less than satisfactory explination.

also one last thing, warren buffets little story at the end is brilliantly amusing and also very encouraging.

in sum, this book is full of gold; but be perpared to dig for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the hype, 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel (Paperback)
Most investors seem to have heard of this book - many refer to it as the bible of value investing. I think that the esteem that it is held in is probably counter productive (Barton Biggs, hedge fund manager, talks about being asked to read and annotate it twice as a young man), but what impressed me is that it is a very simple readable book that explains how to invest long term, to maximise wealth.

I don't think that Zweig's commentary adds much - I would pay more for a version with it excised - it provides interesting detail on what Graham may have considered important which is great, but it also provides a lot of anecdotal evidence which could be misleading. It also triples the length and provides a lot of distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing - A Book of Practical Counsel
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews