Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some good reminders of doing less with more
This book acts a good reminder to the futility of pursuing growth for growth's sake - that we need to become less worried about growing GDP and more interested in growing our personal happiness and wellbeing. Most of the points will probably have already crossed the mind of anyone who has stopped to think about the absurdity of the US consumer model of growth that is...
Published on 5 Dec 2009 by jrhartley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is excellent, content is great
Book is excellent, content is great. However, it looks like a child glued the pages to the spine. Really poorly presented.
Published 3 months ago by Sophie Craggs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some good reminders of doing less with more, 5 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book acts a good reminder to the futility of pursuing growth for growth's sake - that we need to become less worried about growing GDP and more interested in growing our personal happiness and wellbeing. Most of the points will probably have already crossed the mind of anyone who has stopped to think about the absurdity of the US consumer model of growth that is rapidly being rolled out across the world, relegating people from makers, thinkers, creators, to just buyers - their sole purpose being to keep the economy ticking over. Honore does a good job of meeting a number of organisations around the world who are advocating slowness - we all know the Slow Food Movement, but there are numerous other, like the Society for the Deceleration of Time and many others. It explores Western notions of time as a finite, limited resource and contrasts this with eastern / circular views of time.

Sometimes you do get the feeling that Honore remains a bit of speed merchant, racing around the world for fleeting meetings with different advocates of ways to slow down our lives. Importantly, Honore reminds us how living slower does not mean living worse - and may not even be incompatible with capitalist models, and living slow is not solely the reserve of the monied classes. There are an awful lots of things out there which are free and fulfilling - Western societies need to wean themselves free of their obsession with possessions, shopping and keeping up with the Joneses.

It's all the more interesting when you read the AGW doubters who claim that the AGW story is just a conspiracy to lead to our suppression by Bilderberg / the G20 / global governments. If they genuinely believe this, then it would be good to see them actually doing something to crush the system - and the simplest and most effective way would be to start living slower, buy less, learn more.

Regrettably, the majority of society is trapped in a cage of its own making. Its Brave New World, shopping is our soma - we complain about Government control, but we still willing drag ourselves mindlessly around the shops. Books like in Praise of Slowness are unlikely to change this pathetic state of affairs - largely because most of zombie Britain 'hasn't got the time' to read a book any more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living in the Now, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Pat Lewis - Morris (Llanelli, Carmarthenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book appeals because the message is one that suits us.
The bumph states:- "People all over the world are reclaiming their time and slowing down the pace - and living happier, healthier and more productive lives as a result".
A small market town in Wales Llandeilo has been called The Slow food place. On reaching old age one finds eating delighfully presented fresh food, becomes one of the great highlights in life. If you've also grown the vegetables yourselves, taken time to prepare them before serving them up, preferably with organic meat, you can't do much more - other than enjoy the pleasure of eating it slowly too - which will help your body.
We see people rushing around, not enjoying what they are doing, but constantly thinking of the next job, the next buy, or the next thrill. This book talks about the stress and pressure everywhere. It doesn't have to be like that. Read it and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book is excellent, content is great, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is excellent, content is great. However, it looks like a child glued the pages to the spine. Really poorly presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is speed always required to be more successful and efficient?, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started to order books on Amazon because the prices are very reasonable, the range of products is great, I do not need to spend time in the bookstores, simply pick a book, pay and have it delivered to the office after a week.

The book is really good, describing slower approach to life which does not need to always be contra-productive or less efficient. It is not about being lazy and slow and passive.
Many mistakes/injures etc. are caused by speed. Will we really by increasing the speed achieve better life, more appreciation, success? .... Read a book:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
devoured it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh the Irony of it all!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not yet read this book, this review is about the irony of receiving two substandard copies from Amazon.

So I was looking forward to reading a book about slowing down, not rushing things, "challenging the cult of speed". Unfortunatly I think the publishers and Amazon both need to challenge the cult of speed themselves! The first copy I received had uncut pages with rough edges. It had not been finished properly. Amazon sent me a replacement which had the same problem - uncut rough edges.

It seems the publishers rushed the book to production and didn't check it's quality and then sent it to Amazon in a substandard condition. After that the packers at Amazon rushed it to shipping, also without paying attention to it's condition... twice!

I still hope to read this book, but I will have to find a seller who can do quality control and only ship products of a suitable standard.

Unusually I'm not frustrated by this, I find it amusingly ironic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Praise of Slowness: How a Worldwide Movement Is Challenging the Cult of Speed
Used & New from: £0.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews