Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read
I really enjoyed this book. The story of Robert and Lucinda is a bumpy and interesting one. Robert is a recluse, suffering from severe trauma sustained during the Peninsular War. Lucinda has decided to marry and Robert decides he's going to help her catch her quarry. This is a big step for Robert as he finds it difficult to socialise. Lucinda helps him to step out of...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good end to an enjoyable series
Inevitably, the plot is full of political intrigue surrounding the 'Hundred Days War', which isn't my favourite plot device but is executed fairly well I must admit. Despite this I still felt a little disappointed by the novel. Robert, or Bit, who I did fall for in the first book lost a bit of his charm during his own story, maybe that was because he lost a lot of his...
Published 11 months ago by Rosie Read


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read, 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. The story of Robert and Lucinda is a bumpy and interesting one. Robert is a recluse, suffering from severe trauma sustained during the Peninsular War. Lucinda has decided to marry and Robert decides he's going to help her catch her quarry. This is a big step for Robert as he finds it difficult to socialise. Lucinda helps him to step out of the shadows more and more often to help her. He finds her fascinating and it helps him overcome his fear. The story wends its way round another suitor, Robert's panic attacks and a traitor who hopes to help Napoleon escape his imprisonment and re-start the war. There are outraged fathers, jealous suitors, meddling families and an exciting hunt for the traitor. All the ingredients for a book that you won't want to put down until you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars England's Perfect Hero, 13 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
Robert's character is interesting partly due to his experiences at Chateau Pagnon. You find your self caring for him and his story along with Lucinda. I have read this story many times and would also recommend the other titles in the Lessons in Love series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars englands perfect hero, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Could not put it down. Have read a few of Suzanne Enoch's books and this was up to the usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good end to an enjoyable series, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
Inevitably, the plot is full of political intrigue surrounding the 'Hundred Days War', which isn't my favourite plot device but is executed fairly well I must admit. Despite this I still felt a little disappointed by the novel. Robert, or Bit, who I did fall for in the first book lost a bit of his charm during his own story, maybe that was because he lost a lot of his mystery, I can't say.

Robert's difficulties in reconnecting to the world after his experiences during the war are dealt with well and his relationship with Lucinda is wonderfully, slowly developed. I was worried how they'd handle the story of Lucinda, the quietest of the three heroines of the series, and I was glad that she didn't undergo some sort of personality makeover to attract the hero.

Finally, the ending confrontation is a bit predictable, but nothing terrible in itself, albeit a bit rushed. Again, an epilogue would have really helped round off the story. I certainly preferred 'England's Perfect Hero' to 'London's Perfect Scoundrel' but 'The Rake' is still the best of the bunch for me with this offering coming in a respectable second place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It knocked my socks off - in a slow, deliberate and sweet move, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading London's Perfect Scoundrel and found it lacking, I had little to no expectations of England's Perfect Hero. Boy, how wrong I was. The story is written in such a way that the characters grow slowly, silently and sweetly on you, and in the end you sit there completely loving them without a slightest clue of when or how that happened. Well, that last bit isn't completely true. There was several moments where I applauded the hero and the heroine, but her especially as she was so opposite of many TSTL heroines in Regency romances. So let's start with her.

Lucinda is a surprisingly and refreshingly insightful and wise young woman. She's genuinly considerate, kind and unassuming. I love how she handles Robert (by not really handling him). She both realizes and understands without really trying that Robert, who suffers from PTSD, needs a person who can talk and act normally around him. A person who doesn't behave like they walk on broken glass, afraid that the tiniest thing they say would tick him off. She's honest in her responses to him - instead of acting all miffed when he's too direct or unintentionally insults her due to forgetting how to behave socially correct after the war trauma, she just decides to be just as direct as him, admitting that he insulted her, but that he is welcome to explain himself. She also realizes that a lot of things he does and say might have a deeper meaning than what is apparent. Examples is when he apologizes for a conversation she barely gave a second thought or seeks her out later. Instead of just waving the apology away, she understands that even though she thought little of it, he apparently did not and therefore felt it important to aplogize. So she accepted the apology. And when he sought her out she went silently with him instead of asking a lot of questions. She thought he might have a good reason or something he saw as important to talk to her about. Often she also answers questions - either by action or speech - he didn't realize he asked or that he wanted to ask but didn't know how to.

Robert's struggle with the after effects of war is described realistically, and you really sympathize with him and can to a certain degree understand how he feels. He often has trouble describing his experiences with PTSD although the author does not. Even though he shies away from interaction with his family his relationship with his youngest brother Edward is so touching. And the way Edward scolds Robert for leaving without telling anybody is highly amusing considering that he's only ten years old.

I also liked that they started out as friends (though the love interest is definitely there) before they got together - too many historical novels and romantic novels in general just focus on getting the heroine and hero together as fast as possible.

A big plus is that the 'big misunderstanding' never really happened as Robert and Lucinda was too level-headed people to fall into the trap of unnecessary drama and also trusted each other enough.

So yeah, this book was totally worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect hero, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read, couldn't put it down and a fantastic end to the trilogy. I loved Robert and Lucinda's story best,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Aug 2004
By 
Heather Saggers "englishrose850" (broxbourne, herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not a reader of books, but when i picked this up i was hooked. Beautifully written, this story of love. I promise you once you pick this book up, you will not be able to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing end to an excellent trilogy, 13 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read the first 2 books in this trilogy by Suzanne Enoch (The Rake and London's Perfect Scoundrel), I was looking forward to a further delight in this last novel. I was however sorely disappointed. Perhaps it is my taste, but while the other books involved strong rakes as the leading man, the third book tries to get a bit deeper and centres around a more sensitive figure. I didn't feel this worked as a regency plot so found it repetitive and became bored. I do however thoroughly recommend the first two books in the series and also her novellas in the Lady Whistledown collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 23 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
I haev only started to read Ms Enoch's books but find them very good. I started with Londons perfect scoundrel, which was absolutely one of my favourates and then went on to the rake( georgies story). Of the 3 Evelyns story was the best thats why I gave Lucindas story only a 4. Ms Enochs books are excellent though and i will keep getting them. I loved Robert the hero in this book, he played the part to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent...I AM HOOKED!, 28 Jan 2005
This review is from: England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) (Mass Market Paperback)
I know I should have read the first and second books first, in retrospect. But even though I read this book before the others, I was hooked, love Robert and thought Lucinda made a good heroine for him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love)
England's Perfect Hero (Lessons in Love) by Suzanne Enoch (Mass Market Paperback - 27 April 2004)
5.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews