Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book in Pratchett's Johnny Maxwell series
In my opinion, Johnny and the Bomb is the best book in Terry Pratchett’s Johnny Maxwell trilogy. While classified as juvenile fiction, this book bears the strongest resemblance of the three to Pratchett’s Discworld ideas and characterizations, containing much more social commentary, satire, and sidesplitting comedy than Only You Can Save Mankind and Johnny...
Published on 25 Mar 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio book
I find the Johnny series much better than any of Pratchett's Disc Worlds, but what lets them down on audio book is Two Tone Tony, he reads with no interest or passion, too obvious its just a job to him. But with that its still a good listen as your driving along.
Published 12 months ago by Smally


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book in Pratchett's Johnny Maxwell series, 25 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnny and the Bomb (Hardcover)
In my opinion, Johnny and the Bomb is the best book in Terry Pratchett’s Johnny Maxwell trilogy. While classified as juvenile fiction, this book bears the strongest resemblance of the three to Pratchett’s Discworld ideas and characterizations, containing much more social commentary, satire, and sidesplitting comedy than Only You Can Save Mankind and Johnny and the Dead. For such a normal twelve-year-old kid, Johnny Maxwell has some amazing adventures. This time around, he becomes a time traveler. Old Mrs. Tachyon, whom we have met briefly earlier in the series, is now revealed to be something more than a crazy bag lady; she is a time-traveling crazy bag lady. When she turns up injured, Johnny and his friends summon an ambulance for her and take her trolley cart (complete with her ornery cat Guilty) to Johnny’s garage for safe keeping. Johnny notices that some of her bags seem to move of their own accord at times, and this discovery quickly leads to an episode of quite unexpected time travel.
The characters of Johnny’s remarkable friends are fleshed out in this novel to a much greater extent than they were in the previous two novels. Yo-less, a black kid, is less than pleased to find himself dubbed Sambo by the folks living in 1941, and the extremely forceful young Kirsten is almost as upset about being treated like a “little lady.” Johnny, for his part, often finds himself putting his sanity at risk by contemplating the ways and whims of time travel. I found this book to be hilarious; the time travel part of the tale is a little wild and crazy, but hypotheses about the different legs of the Trousers of Time is vintage Pratchett material. Old Mrs. Tachyon is a wonderful character, seemingly rather insane based on her thought processes and tendency to spout gibberish all the time, she is perhaps more sane than anyone else around her; time traveling is enough to warp anyone’s mind, Johnny reasons. I was rather delighted to hear Mrs. Tachyon mumble the words “Millennium hand and shrimp” at one point because these are the very same words often spoken by Foul Ole Ron on the Discworld. This adventure really is the type of thing you might expect to find on Pratchett’s famous planetary creation, and I daresay any Discworld fan should enjoy this book immensely. I find myself wishing for more Johnny Maxwell stories; I feel as if I know these characters now, and they are a fascinating, increasingly funny bunch of guys to hang around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another super adventure for Johnny and freinds, 8 Jun 2002
By 
R Jacob (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny and the Bomb (Paperback)
This entire series (see Only You Can Save Mankind, and Johnny and The Dead) is so funny and imaginative that never mind the 'Childrens Book' classification, all ages will love it.
Here Johnny and freinds add a little time travel to their list of adventures, and find themselves in in thier home town, but in 1941! A world where girls should play with their dolls rather than worry about technical things which they can't understand, does not go down well with a 90's female.
And as for 'Yo Less' Johnny's black friend, imagine the suprise when the 1940's shopkeeper finds out that 'Sambo' does speak rather good English!
Again another classic combination of humour, imagination and subtle social comment from an author who in my opimion should have far more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the Johnny series, 18 Oct 2004
Funny, insightful, it's probably the best of the johnny series (or is it Johnny and the bomb ?) and should appeal to readers of all ages. Anyway a great read and warmly recommended. From a reader who isn't even a native English speaker :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time travel,bewiderment,adventure.What more could you want!, 23 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Johnny and the Bomb (Paperback)
This is an amazing book.It may be a bit confusing but it is still lots of fun to read! If you like other Terry Pratchett books or if you liked 'Jonny and the Dead' you will love this. An essential buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, and just as excellent t.v series!!!, 8 Feb 2006
Johnny and the Bomb just has to be the best out of all the Johnny series,partly because it helps you notice how children today have changed from children back in 1941,but mainly because it is so touching about how far Johnny will go to save his grandma from getting bombed.
My favourite character is Kirsty,because she is so good at judo and confident in herself!!!I think this book is really funny,but sad in parts too.
Johnny and the Bomb has recently been made into a three-part t.v series and it is just how i imagined the book to be,on a recent interview Terry Pratchett (the author) said it was just like walking into his head when he was writing the book!
I really reccomend this book to children (and adults as well!) adged 7 to whatever age!!!I thouroughly enjoyed it and if you like stories about the past with a twist the this is the book for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore the trouser legs of time, 20 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of a set of three, each book can be read as a stand alone novel or as part of the 'Johnny Trilogy', (although younger readers may not fully appreciate the 'space invader' references in 'Only you can save mankind'). Full of quirky humour and suitable for equally quirky 9ish year olds and up. Johnny Maxwell and his friends become unstuck in time and end up in 1941 Britain. One of them is separated from the rest and as a result creates a 'new trouser leg of time', resulting in a moral dilemma in the future, or is it the present? This book has a back story, a front story and a feasible explanation for eccentric bag ladies everywhere, (and their cats). My favourite book of the trilogy, where the characters of this series of books are fleshed out. Useful to upper juniors studying the differences between world war II Britain and the present day, in a relaxed kind of way. File under science fiction though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, 7 April 2014
By 
Mr. Colin Mcelhatton (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pratchett moves away from Disc World offering us life through the eyes of a young boy called Johnny. In these incredible tales which mix reality and fantasy, we get to experience yet another literary gem by an outstanding Author. If you love fantasy with a comedic twist, you will love the "Johnny" Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favorite of mine and good for all ages, 26 Feb 2014
This has to be one of the funniest books i have ever read and reread,ive lent it out so many time and never got it back that i now refuse to lend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story to read, 28 Jun 2013
This is a great story to read to your children.

I read this to my 8 year old, and we both enjoyed it. Great for adults and children alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Audio book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find the Johnny series much better than any of Pratchett's Disc Worlds, but what lets them down on audio book is Two Tone Tony, he reads with no interest or passion, too obvious its just a job to him. But with that its still a good listen as your driving along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Johnny and the Bomb (The Johnny Maxwell Trilogy)
Johnny and the Bomb (The Johnny Maxwell Trilogy) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - April 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews