Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make way for a new crime star!
I bought this book without many expectations of reading anything too new but once I picked it up I couldn't put it down! It has definitly put a new lease of life into the crime/thriller genre! Disturbing in parts I don't recommend you read it if you are easily upset, but if you are a true crime fan then this is a definite read. I won't give away any plot lines as so many...
Published on 6 Oct 2003 by alipali81

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim and relentless. But that's what it says on the tin
Only read this book if you like a police procedural of the darkest and most explicit sort.
A shocking discovery during the post mortem that follows a teenage shooting launches an investigation that uncovers a murky world of paedophile rings, infanticide, child trafficking, mutilation, incest, torture, rape and porn. It's all plot, there's no time for subtleties or...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Bookwoman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim and relentless. But that's what it says on the tin, 18 Nov 2011
By 
Only read this book if you like a police procedural of the darkest and most explicit sort.
A shocking discovery during the post mortem that follows a teenage shooting launches an investigation that uncovers a murky world of paedophile rings, infanticide, child trafficking, mutilation, incest, torture, rape and porn. It's all plot, there's no time for subtleties or character development, but the story is told clearly and efficiently, and there are plenty of shocks, twists and races against time to keep you on your toes.
It's a grim and relentless tale, which is what I expected from this author, but was it really necessary for her to pile it on quite so thickly? As if all the unpleasant details of this particular case weren't enough, she also makes us re-live crimes from a previous book as a policewoman tries to come to terms not only with her own kidnap and rape, but also her blind sister's murder. It's all a question of taste, of course, but this seemed a bit of a gratuitous wallow to me - and isn't there a bit too much going on in this small southern town (where everyone knows everyone else yet no-one notices a thing) to be entirely credible?
And when the wrongdoers in a book are absolute monsters, cold and evil beyond belief, I really need a warm and sympathetic protagonist to redress the balance and act as the story's moral centre. Not a superhero, just someone to identify with and bring a touch of humanity and normality to the proceedings. Unfortunately Dr Sara Linton and her police chief ex-husband were too lightweight to do the job for me: I found I didn't care about either of them very much.
I like detective stories, and usually have a strong enough stomach for the harrowing sort, but only if they're very well done and they make me think (like the film Seven [DVD], for instance). Once started, I had to finish this book, but the story wasn't surprising enough, and the characters weren't interesting enough, to justify spending all that time reading about such vile people.
Someone should tell her that less is sometimes more. Still, that's not what she's about, and with the right cast this could make a good tv series.
One final question, which perhaps tells you more about the book's subject matter than you might want to know: does any other reader think that she's mixed up the words 'castration' and 'circumcision'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make way for a new crime star!, 6 Oct 2003
I bought this book without many expectations of reading anything too new but once I picked it up I couldn't put it down! It has definitly put a new lease of life into the crime/thriller genre! Disturbing in parts I don't recommend you read it if you are easily upset, but if you are a true crime fan then this is a definite read. I won't give away any plot lines as so many do in some of these reviews all you need to know is in the synopsis. There are references to her first book-Blindsighted-but it is not necessary for you to have read that first as I hadn't and still thouroughly enjoyed this one. As I said if you are a fan of this genre than this one is a must! I read it in just a couple of days and can't wait to read the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not for the faint-hearted, 12 Jan 2005
By 
K. Morrison "kirmildew" (Lincs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm still not sure where I stand on this book. I commend the writing- it is gripping, fast- paced and well researched- but the subject matter was harrowing. It's all a matter of personal taste of course; I am not easily shocked but there were times I had to put the book down. I was left feeling rather raw and sad, knowing that Slaughter must have had to do research into the evil,horrific little world the story is centred upon. Parts of it made me want to cry knowing that somewhere, now, it could be happening. Having said all that, if you are willing to see the black- hearted side of humanity it is a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 4 Dec 2011
I very much enjoyed the first book in the Grant County series, even though I didn't think it contained a big mystery.

It is nice to check in with Sara again here, while the book's opening is terrific.

That pace keeps up through most of the story with plenty of twists and an excellent ending I won't spoil.

I'm looking forward to the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well done!, 11 Oct 2003
By 
Claire, Lulu "Lulu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Kisscut is the second book of Karin Slaughters with the first being Blindsighted. This book once again has the same detectives and characters as the first however a totally different story line. She creates her characters in such a way that you can feel that you are there with Sarah and Jeffrey solving the latest crime. I wont give away the story other than to say that it is crimes of teenagers. Excellent reading material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow she's hooked me!, 6 Nov 2003
By 
rebecca howse (Luton, Beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I started to read karin slaughter's books as a stop gap in between books by another author, but boy am i glad that i picked her books to read! I am totally hooked! it is easy to place yourself in the book with the characters,to hope and pray that they find who it is and why it happened! but at the same time you don't want it to end!I would recommend to all.If you don't read her books you will be missing out big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little too much wallowing and not enough action, 15 April 2012
I like Karin Slaughter and her creations, and I like he way that she can twist them and the story line about unexpectedly so you never really know where you are. But having read some of her later books first I found this one something of a disappointment.
She fails to give depth to even the central characters, although her scenes between Sara's family are perfect and
totally uncontrived (?)She has many light touches like that and it is masterful. Which is all the more dismaying when she veers offf and turns up a load of cardboard cut-outs to look at. For example the boy who was going to be shot in the opening chapter of the book - neither he nor his family are developed into real people - instead they remain as vapid wraiths, incapable of explaining their existence. How much more chilling their existence would have been had they but taken the stage as more than puppets.

She also makes far too much milage over the same two issues - Sara's willingness to forgive Jeffrey and to live with him again, and Leah's ability or not to deal at some level with her rape ordeal. To keep making something of both these issues at the same level all the time is dishonest. And she DOES go on! Move on or put up!

She does much better with later books so maybe some lessons werelearnt here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thought-provoking, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. M. Cheung (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Second in the Grant County series, we explore more of the lead characters' lives and their relationships, and the healing that they each go through to recover from their own personal tragedies.

The story is strong and gripping, dealing with some very shady and repulsive business, and there are plenty of twists and turns as more and more is revealed. The ending, although ultimately not satisfying the need for "completeness", was more realistic and true to life.

Utterly horrifying, this book was a very sad reminder of the horrors that exist in our so-called civilised world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay - I'm hooked.., 10 May 2009
By 
Ms. E. J. White "Gisbournia" (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Second book in the series and yep, I'm definately hooked. Taut, crisp writing and excellent characterisation.

The characters themselves can be infuriating as well and endearing, complex as well as dim, but in a very realistic way. They appear to be real people handling terrifying crimes, and sweep the reader along with them.

Grisly, but not too grisly for comfort, I couldn't put this book down. Which is an excellent sign. I'm off to get the next in the series now, and hope the standard coninues as high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars less gory, fast paced, 20 Feb 2003
By 
Penny Harvey "penhar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kisscut (Hardcover)
Back again to Sara and Jeffrey still somewhat off and on but eventually straightens itself out in that area. The subject matter of the novel is very disturbing as it concerns paedophilia - in saying that it brings home the fragility of the world we build around us and not everyone is what they seem. I almost felt as if every child who refuses to listen to their parents about the dangers out there should read it. This is far more skillfully written than Blindsighted and although we stillhave some of the violence it is not as excessive or graphic.
Jeffrey is still, to me, a rather insipid character and if I was the chief of police I would sack his female police officer because she is very unstable and the fact that she could be employed as a police officer and would be on active duty actually scares the living daylights out of me.
Much of the sensitive side of the plot is dealt with extremely well and there appears to have been a great deal more thought put into the actual characters rather than repetitive gore.
It's very fast paced but somehow I can't help feel that there is something missing, perhaps it is because the ending was really quite unsatisfactory - for me anyway - but I do like all the ends to be tied off and a book to finish. I have serious problems with 'baddies' reappearing in further books.
All in all I enjoyed the read and the complexity of the plot was dealt with well, hopefully both Sara and Jeffrey will grow next time and become more rounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kisscut (Grant County)
Kisscut (Grant County) by Karin Slaughter (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews