Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her first and best
I have read all of Carole matthews books, and I stumbled upon the novel
' Bare Necessity' on amazon the other day, her first book and I had not read it so I ordered it.When it arrived and I started reading it I just could not put it down, very funny, moving sad, happy are some of the words I could use to describe it, it was on the whole a very engrossing, feel good...
Published on 7 Sept. 2010 by mel

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I read 106 pages and called it a day. Just couldn't get into into it I'm afraid. I've loved all other Carole Matthews books but this one.
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Carole Matthews - A compromising position, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book but seemed a bit slow to get going and didn't really have the Carole Matthews laugh factor that I really enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars out of date but enjoyable, 22 July 2012
This book illustrates how far technology has advanced although I still thoroughly enjoyed it. It took me a while to get into it but persevere it certainly gets better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compromising Position, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am enjoying reading the book but it is not as funny as I expected it to be after reading some of the reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER BOOK, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
would certainly recommend it. Enjoyed it from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic as, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's by Carole Matthews, fantastic as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read as usual from carol Mathews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great chick lit book - loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. J. A. Roberts (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual a good book by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 16 July 2004
The only reason that I am giving this book 4 out of 5 is because there are a couple of slow chapters in the middle. But it is still worth a read!
Emily Miller is a disgraced school teacher because of her ex-boyfriend Declan, who posted Saucy Pictures of her on the internet. So she starts to look for a new man.
Enter Cara, who can't seem to find a good boyfriend because she is slightly unorthodox.
With magic spells and potions, they vow to find a sensitive, romantic new boyfriend. But when the both fall in love for the same man, they start to encounter problems.
A light hearted, easy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Compromising Position, 17 April 2013
By 
I did not enjoy this book as much as some of the other books I have read by Carole Matthews.

Emma finds that her boyfriend (Declan) has put photo's of her on the internet dressed up in a santa suit. Emma thought these photo's were just a bit of fun between her and Declan. Emma goes to live with her hippy best friend Cara. This book follows the trials and tribulations that follow this. Also there is a very good friendship bound in this book which comes across very well.

This did have me chuckling a couple of times. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Necessity
Bare Necessity by Carole Matthews (Paperback - 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews