Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brick in the wall..........
I came to James Rollins via the flu' , .Take one part "Ice Station Zebra", one part "The Thing", add a little "Creature from the Black Lagoon" a healthy sprinkling of science fiction and a pinch of science fact . Give it all a good mix ,sit back and enjoy!! Beats Matthew Reilly hands down .
Published on 21 Jan. 2007 by J. Riley

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ICE OVER (DONE)
For fans of Irwin Allen's VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA, James Rollins ICE HUNT pays loving tribute to the style, tone and form of the film, mixed with similar types of action, pacing and storytelling. It's a throwback kind of thriller, pulpy, but fused with current technology and hard science...and if you like what you've read there, then stop reading here, because ICE...
Published on 7 Nov. 2003 by Thomas E. O'Sullivan

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brick in the wall.........., 21 Jan. 2007
By 
J. Riley "jon n murph" (leafy midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
I came to James Rollins via the flu' , .Take one part "Ice Station Zebra", one part "The Thing", add a little "Creature from the Black Lagoon" a healthy sprinkling of science fiction and a pinch of science fact . Give it all a good mix ,sit back and enjoy!! Beats Matthew Reilly hands down .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars james rollins better than dan brown?, 12 Aug. 2007
By 
D. C. Sharp (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
By a mile! i got into rollins books via map of bones, and couldn't put it down, then i found sandstorm in an airport book shop and again couldn't put it down all holiday and as soon as i came back had to buy all his others off here, and they are all truly awesome, characters that you feel connected to, storylines that keep you turning the pages and with all good fiction books, the perfect line between fantasy and fact.
i'm just sad i've only got amazonia and the judas strain left to read, if anyone knows of any other authors that come close to rollins style, please let me know so i can give them a go.
Forget making the da vinci code and angels and demons into films, all of rollins books could and should become massive blockbuster movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book from James Rollins!!, 21 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was fantastic. If you're looking for a book that will keep you guessing right till the end, you have found it!! The plague/creature/radioactive artifact (so as not to spoil it for you) was slightly disappointing compared to Amazonia or Excavation, but still lots better than average and this very minor grumble was more than made up for by the creepiness of the ending which really makes you think...
I couldn't put this down. You are missing out if you don't read it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars N-Ice Fun Read, 7 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Paperback)
OK, Salinger this is not but it has all the ingredients to be a great "bloke on holiday's book". Mix a crazed Russian Submarine Captain with deep-cover CIA operatives, add a decent pinch of Arctic Sea Monsters and you have a great premise for a roller-coaster read. It delivers a light but enjoyable read at a decent pace and the characters are likeable enough for you to care about their well-being. Three thumbs up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling though high on fiction, 10 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
An early and totally unbelievable (I think we call it fiction) action blockbuster from Rollins. An old Russian research lab is buried in an ice island in the Arctic Circle. Mysterious experiments on humans and some non-extinct Grendel's and other secrets are fought by Russians and the U.S. in a semi political and apocalyptic adventure. With all of this gong on, it naturally takes an Alaskan Fish and Game Warden, his ex-wife Police Woman, and a dog to save the world! This was a highly enjoyable read, a little repetitive, but a great adventure if you like brainless Indiana Jones escapism thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Rip-Roaring story from a fantastic author., 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Kindle Edition)
I found James Rollins from searching for Arctic adventures. Ice Hunt was the first book I read from James and he didn't disappoint. This is my type of story where science meets military, meets civilian, meets monster.

The story itself is a rip-roaring action packed adventure, with some heart-warming moments, just the right amount of humour and plenty of science mixed with action. James has suppressed my addiction for this type of novel and after reading the first 70 pages, I then went on and bought 8 more of James' books. All of the Stand-a-lone novels and a few of his Sigma Force novels too.

I hope the sigma books are as good as his stand-a-lone stories. His website just shows more Sigma novels and a few collaborations, but If you ever read this James, I hope you write a lot more individual stories in the future. These books are just what I need on these cold and stormy nights.

I will write a review when I get to the Sigma novels. I have just finished Excavation (which was excellent) and I have just started Deep Fathom.

James is now my favourite author. I hope his books just continue to get better and I recommend his books to anyone who loves the sciences and has a sense of adventure, wonder and excitement.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ICE OVER (DONE), 7 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Hardcover)
For fans of Irwin Allen's VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA, James Rollins ICE HUNT pays loving tribute to the style, tone and form of the film, mixed with similar types of action, pacing and storytelling. It's a throwback kind of thriller, pulpy, but fused with current technology and hard science...and if you like what you've read there, then stop reading here, because ICE HUNT is for you, but if you're looking for something more, something that bucks the standard cut and paste techno/adventure/science/submarine/thriller/monster hunt/spy vs. spy/cold war/science shocker/adventure, then ICE HUNT fails on all levels. To be blunt, the book is just plain boring. It has a rich idea, and Rollins does manage to mine some promise from the storyline at times (and if the book had been more geared towards the horror/thriller side of publishing, then ICE HUNT would have fared much better), but for the most part the book is dragged down by too much cardboard, mind numbing backstory (no one is happy in this book, at all, about anything, and it seems NO ONE had a happy childhood, marriage or career... and Rollins isn't content just to give his characters one or two problems, but EVERY problem he can imagine...the leads, Matt and Jenny, alone in the book suffer through a host of problems that most people don't suffer in two lifetimes, let alone one, and all in the space of 394 pages), "one thing after another" action and repeative exposition (Rollins often repeats action from the previous chapter to remind readers of what has happened early on in the book, and by the end he has it repeated sometimes from paragrpah to paragraph), dialouge, and overly clipped and metaphor heavy writing (although to give Rollins credit, there are only so many ways you can write about snow and ice, and Rollins uses them all here, by the close of the book we've moved from the hard science of ice and snow down into Middle Earth where everything looks like dragons bones, teeth and claws). This book really seems less written for the reader, and more written for the small screen. It's a treatment, nothing more. Fused with all the bells and whistles a television mini-series craves for sweeps, if sold, I'm sure will be a big hit. But as a book, ICE HUNT doesn't reward you for the effort put into it. A bigger book for Rollins, some better ideas found inside, but still not a breakthrough... be brave, James, fear not, the fans will follow you even if you break with tradition and blaze a new trail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Daft, fun, romp through Arctic wastes veers off course, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Paperback)
The first third of this roller-coaster thriller is immense fun: likeable good guys, thrilling chase sequences, astonishing surprises. From then on, although the pace is maintained the book loses readability. This is partly because the degree of absurdity of the plot, and the repeated escapes of the heroes from death, come to feel contrived. If they can escape all that, why should we worry about them? And it's partly because the action is so intense throughout that the repeated climaxes come to seem dreary rather than exciting. Most thrillers have some pauses for reflection built in: Ice Hunt is a thrill-a-minute throughout. That makes it hard to digest.

Pro: expertly-constructed, exciting thriller full of climaxes. Con: loses tension through excessive improbability. Russian-US politics a bit off-beam, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chillingly good..., 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
I'll admit I'm a big fan of James Rollins, so my reviews may not always be subjective.... I'll leave that to your consideration.

The story starts with Matt Pike witnessing a plane crash, which follows with murder and subsequently, he finds himself on the run from some white clad gun totting men. Following a harrowing air chase, he lands on an ice cap and the journey begins. Matt along with a group of scientist, military/navy personnel, his dog, his ex-father in law and his ex-wife try to not only survive, but stop something horrific from taking place.

As with all of Mr Rollins novels, this story is fast paced, packed with lots of action, adventure, suspense, sci-fi, bloody deaths, hint of romance and complete utter fiction; so unrealistic but I do love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow......, 1 July 2006
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
What can I say - not too much - don't want to give the plot away - take my word for it you have just got to read this book. It keeps you up till all hours and keeps you on your toes as the action gets more thrilling with each turn of the page - Just remember to breathe!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Hunt
Ice Hunt by James Rollins (Mass Market Paperback - 31 July 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Deep Fathom
Deep Fathom by James Rollins (Paperback - 21 Nov. 2013)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55)   
Buy new£7.99
In stock

Amazonia
Amazonia by James Rollins (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46)   
Buy new£8.99
In stock

Subterranean
Subterranean by James Rollins (Paperback - 8 May 2014)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (96)   
Buy new£7.99
In stock