Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brick in the wall..........
I came to James Rollins via the flu' , .Take one part "Ice Station Zebra", one part "The Thing", add a little "Creature from the Black Lagoon" a healthy sprinkling of science fiction and a pinch of science fact . Give it all a good mix ,sit back and enjoy!! Beats Matthew Reilly hands down .
Published on 21 Jan 2007 by J. Riley

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ICE OVER (DONE)
For fans of Irwin Allen's VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA, James Rollins ICE HUNT pays loving tribute to the style, tone and form of the film, mixed with similar types of action, pacing and storytelling. It's a throwback kind of thriller, pulpy, but fused with current technology and hard science...and if you like what you've read there, then stop reading here, because ICE...
Published on 7 Nov 2003 by Thomas E. O'Sullivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brick in the wall.........., 21 Jan 2007
By 
J. Riley "jon n murph" (leafy midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
I came to James Rollins via the flu' , .Take one part "Ice Station Zebra", one part "The Thing", add a little "Creature from the Black Lagoon" a healthy sprinkling of science fiction and a pinch of science fact . Give it all a good mix ,sit back and enjoy!! Beats Matthew Reilly hands down .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars james rollins better than dan brown?, 12 Aug 2007
By 
D. C. Sharp (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
By a mile! i got into rollins books via map of bones, and couldn't put it down, then i found sandstorm in an airport book shop and again couldn't put it down all holiday and as soon as i came back had to buy all his others off here, and they are all truly awesome, characters that you feel connected to, storylines that keep you turning the pages and with all good fiction books, the perfect line between fantasy and fact.
i'm just sad i've only got amazonia and the judas strain left to read, if anyone knows of any other authors that come close to rollins style, please let me know so i can give them a go.
Forget making the da vinci code and angels and demons into films, all of rollins books could and should become massive blockbuster movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book from James Rollins!!, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was fantastic. If you're looking for a book that will keep you guessing right till the end, you have found it!! The plague/creature/radioactive artifact (so as not to spoil it for you) was slightly disappointing compared to Amazonia or Excavation, but still lots better than average and this very minor grumble was more than made up for by the creepiness of the ending which really makes you think...
I couldn't put this down. You are missing out if you don't read it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars N-Ice Fun Read, 7 Sep 2011
By 
S. D. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Paperback)
OK, Salinger this is not but it has all the ingredients to be a great "bloke on holiday's book". Mix a crazed Russian Submarine Captain with deep-cover CIA operatives, add a decent pinch of Arctic Sea Monsters and you have a great premise for a roller-coaster read. It delivers a light but enjoyable read at a decent pace and the characters are likeable enough for you to care about their well-being. Three thumbs up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling though high on fiction, 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
An early and totally unbelievable (I think we call it fiction) action blockbuster from Rollins. An old Russian research lab is buried in an ice island in the Arctic Circle. Mysterious experiments on humans and some non-extinct Grendel's and other secrets are fought by Russians and the U.S. in a semi political and apocalyptic adventure. With all of this gong on, it naturally takes an Alaskan Fish and Game Warden, his ex-wife Police Woman, and a dog to save the world! This was a highly enjoyable read, a little repetitive, but a great adventure if you like brainless Indiana Jones escapism thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ICE OVER (DONE), 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Hardcover)
For fans of Irwin Allen's VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA, James Rollins ICE HUNT pays loving tribute to the style, tone and form of the film, mixed with similar types of action, pacing and storytelling. It's a throwback kind of thriller, pulpy, but fused with current technology and hard science...and if you like what you've read there, then stop reading here, because ICE HUNT is for you, but if you're looking for something more, something that bucks the standard cut and paste techno/adventure/science/submarine/thriller/monster hunt/spy vs. spy/cold war/science shocker/adventure, then ICE HUNT fails on all levels. To be blunt, the book is just plain boring. It has a rich idea, and Rollins does manage to mine some promise from the storyline at times (and if the book had been more geared towards the horror/thriller side of publishing, then ICE HUNT would have fared much better), but for the most part the book is dragged down by too much cardboard, mind numbing backstory (no one is happy in this book, at all, about anything, and it seems NO ONE had a happy childhood, marriage or career... and Rollins isn't content just to give his characters one or two problems, but EVERY problem he can imagine...the leads, Matt and Jenny, alone in the book suffer through a host of problems that most people don't suffer in two lifetimes, let alone one, and all in the space of 394 pages), "one thing after another" action and repeative exposition (Rollins often repeats action from the previous chapter to remind readers of what has happened early on in the book, and by the end he has it repeated sometimes from paragrpah to paragraph), dialouge, and overly clipped and metaphor heavy writing (although to give Rollins credit, there are only so many ways you can write about snow and ice, and Rollins uses them all here, by the close of the book we've moved from the hard science of ice and snow down into Middle Earth where everything looks like dragons bones, teeth and claws). This book really seems less written for the reader, and more written for the small screen. It's a treatment, nothing more. Fused with all the bells and whistles a television mini-series craves for sweeps, if sold, I'm sure will be a big hit. But as a book, ICE HUNT doesn't reward you for the effort put into it. A bigger book for Rollins, some better ideas found inside, but still not a breakthrough... be brave, James, fear not, the fans will follow you even if you break with tradition and blaze a new trail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow......, 1 July 2006
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Mass Market Paperback)
What can I say - not too much - don't want to give the plot away - take my word for it you have just got to read this book. It keeps you up till all hours and keeps you on your toes as the action gets more thrilling with each turn of the page - Just remember to breathe!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Paperback)
Another brilliant book from James Rollins. What else to say? It is definitely worth reading. The price won’t break your bank either. What’s not to like? James Rollins books are a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as all his books are., 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Paperback)
He always takes partial fact and adds some almost believable fiction. Lots of twists and turns.
The best of his books I have read is 'Amazonia' and 'Black Order, both of these could be brilliant films'. Currently reading 'Bloodline'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a page turner, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Hunt (Kindle Edition)
I loved this, the only thing is the very neat ending. It just felt like it was gift wrapped with a bow. However, actually loved the way the characters are written, you connect with them. The 'monsters' are scary and very well described. As ,Beowulf,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Hunt
Ice Hunt by James Rollins (Mass Market Paperback - 31 July 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews