Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book
This is a fantastic book. If an alien came from another planet and needed a handful of books to find out what it is like as a human being - this would be in his shopping basket! The trouble with that scenario is that the alien would then know more than you do and yet you are a human being!

In "Taming Your Gremlin" Rick Carson exposes and uncovers the most...
Published on 2 Nov 2006 by Paul Foreman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting... but a little too American for me.
Like my title says, it's an interesting book, as it explains the little negative voice in the back of your mind in an alternative way and the illustrations were also "interesting". I can't say this book really helped me in any way though, as i felt it was a little too American when describing "your gremlin" (it's a little too over the top). Not for someone who is more...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by nat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 2 Nov 2006
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. If an alien came from another planet and needed a handful of books to find out what it is like as a human being - this would be in his shopping basket! The trouble with that scenario is that the alien would then know more than you do and yet you are a human being!

In "Taming Your Gremlin" Rick Carson exposes and uncovers the most significant reason for human suffering and gives us countless strategies for being one step ahead at all times.

Your Gremlin is the narrator in your head. Simply by noticing your Gremlin you are shining a light on your repetitive and habitual erroneous thoughts. With relaxed detachment and by observing your thinking rather than constantly analysing you no longer need to be imprisoned by your mental chatter. Witnessing the movements of the mind as an independent observer, you realise that you do not have to believe your thoughts - you begin to see how repetitive your thinking can become and how absurd it can be.

Your Gremlin is cunning, it makes things up, fantasizes and draws you into inevitable internal fights - mental torture designed to confuse you into a spiral of depressive thought processes that sap the energy and life from you. When your Gremlin is trapping you it makes you adopt a whinging, poor me attitude, thriving on negativity and leading you into inner turmoil away from the natural you. This can be done so subtly that you start to convince yourself that the `natural you' is what your Gremlin tells you rather than who you really are! In other words your Gremlin is so persuasive that you don't always know when you are being fooled.

Simply noticing your Gremlin (or internal chatter) is a huge step toward taming it. Fighting your Gremlin is pointless - it is far too shrewd - you need to diminish your Gremlin by shining the light on it, by being aware, by taming it.

If you stop to consider what it would be like if all your thoughts came out of your mouth as they enter your mind you can see how those around you might label you insane! And yet, even though we know others would find our constant internal chatterbox absurd we still listen to it and worse still we believe it!

"Taming Your Gremlin" offers you an inner peace and calm that most humans don't know exists. I highly recommend this book to you - it will revolutionise your thinking and transform your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource, 27 July 2007
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
Carson has written an excellent self-help guide, with a wealth of useful suggestions for taming the negative effects of your 'gremlin' (your internal sense of self-doubt). The book is explained in a suitably direct manner with a simple, user-friendly tone. There are a number of different exercises that will be sure to keep the gremlin on a leash (subject to regular practise) and stop him from pissing on your bonfire. The chief criticism would be that he goes a little over the top with the whole gremlin metaphor at times. Still, some of the tips are extremely useful, such as 'never expose your gremlin to bright light', 'never get your gremlin wet' and (apparently by far the most important) 'NEVER feed it after midnight'. Wise words indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book really did open my eyes, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
I have been reading self improvement type books for a long time and most of the time you can always find some value in them. You don't always have to follow them exactly and you can apply the principles in a way that suits your life and personality; for me they serve more of an inspiration and thought provoking role.

However, this book was something else. Every single key point made in here made perfect sense to me (once I put it into practice) and actually allowed me to grow in the way I had wanted to for a long time.

The book tagline says something like "A method for getting out of your own way" and it is exactly that. It works by personifying your negative/harmful thoughts (and we all have them, it is a natural defense mechanism) as a Gremlin. Each of our Gremlins is different but are essentially the damaging "chatter" we have with ourselves in our own heads.

What I love about the book is that it isn't hard work. This is not about spending hours doing positive thinking exercises or working out how our past might affect our future. The book actually tells you that hours of soul searching and spending time "in our minds" is a bad thing and just feeds our Gremlin.

How many of you have stressed over a situation and spent hours trying to pick it apart? You will notice that all this does is create a circle of stress and anxiety which never ends.

The part of this book that worked best for me is "Simply Noticing". This is just a conscious effort to "watch" the gremlin chatter unfold in your head and notice what it is doing. It is not about fighting it, reasoning it, drowning it out with positive thoughts etc.

Once you just notice what your Gremlin is saying the power of it diminishes. Trying to drown out that chatter would make it increase in volume and urgency, making you more anxious and panicked.

I can't do the book justice in a review here but hopefully that gives you an insight into what this is all about.

This is the only book I actually come back to when I feel like I need it. Of all the books I have read, I know that this one and these methods will work and are there when I need them.

Get this book, read it and you will not look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and useful, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
I love this book. Carson presents clear and effective tools for dealing with our Gremlins in a straight forward even humorous way. An accessible book dealing with complex issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance of life, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Carl Rodgers "carlbyronrodgers" (Zurich,Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
A must for all those people who get in their own way and not only make their life a misery but make all those around them miserable.
A well written thought provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
Thank heavens for someone who can write concisely about an important subject and keep it down to earth, frank, funny and an interesting read. I thought the visual diagrams were great, the book is an easy read and so true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
Entertaining, humourous, but well -written and easy to digest. Provided great insight in to my own inner Gremlins! Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
Incredible book - very simply written.
I've bought about 6 copies andgiven them to people. I've seen it change lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best help ever to start sorting out your life, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
If you're feeling in the least bit insatisfied with your life and keep rummaging the same old reasons, just get this book. It is truly a life changer. Written in a very friendly way, it's like Rick Carson is just taking you by the hand and showing you not only a world that's different but also the very simple things you can do to get there. And when I say simple, a key thing is "just breathe!" - but you'llhave to read the book to know why it's so powerful and changes lives. I got it for myself, then have encouraged over a dozen people to get it - everyone who read it felt the change for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Ego buster, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way (Paperback)
An amazing Ego buster.

For those who wish to free their minds of all the chaos of the ego, which of course love to keep you focused on all the trauma's and drama's of life, this is the book for you. It is so simple, yet once you understand how you can tame your Gremlin, you will positively change your life forever. Free your mind, and the rest will follow. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews