Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Crossword Puzzle book I've used...ever
An excellent crossword puzzle help book; it is a compilation of Crossword definitions that have been taken from other puzzles over the past 10 years.

What I liked...

1.)It features an extensive list of words, abbreviations, acronyms, phrases, and fill in the blanks in phrases and sayings.

2.)It also gives detailed information on authors...
Published on 18 Dec. 2008 by R. Nicholson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can we have a British version please?
This is an excellent book and if a British version could be produced I'd buy it. This is of limited use for British crosswords because of American spellings and content.
Published on 9 April 2011 by Punter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Crossword Puzzle book I've used...ever, 18 Dec. 2008
An excellent crossword puzzle help book; it is a compilation of Crossword definitions that have been taken from other puzzles over the past 10 years.

What I liked...

1.)It features an extensive list of words, abbreviations, acronyms, phrases, and fill in the blanks in phrases and sayings.

2.)It also gives detailed information on authors (and their books), actors and actresses (listing their movies), sports and sport persons, musicians, movies with stars, directors and music and Oscars; this is, of course, in addition to a huge volume of 'normal' crossword puzzle definition and answers.

3.)There are foreign countries listed (with notable persons, places and unique points of interest), as well as common words found in many foreign languages

4.)Answers to definitions are listed first by word size, e.i. 3, 4, 5, letters etc. and then all these words are listed alphabetically; for example, If you looked up the word 'MEANING' you'd find: 3...aim, use; 4...gist, goal, pith; 5...drift, heart, and so on.

Minor concerns:

1.)The book is large (1,268 pages) and heavy, making it a significant weight to be toted around. (not unexpected, I guess, for the quantity [and quality as well] of material it holds)

2.)The printing is somewhat small; most of us 'older' folks will need reading glasses to see the offered answers comfortably.

Suggestions for improvements:
Some shading at the side edge of the pages would have be very useful to indicate where each letter of the alphabet started; possibly using different colors may have helped even more.

Conclusion:
I love challenging crossword puzzles; this book has provided the best help for finding most tough clues that I've come across. 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can we have a British version please?, 9 April 2011
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book and if a British version could be produced I'd buy it. This is of limited use for British crosswords because of American spellings and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good for some...but not for me !, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a book full of words...

American words

And we're two people separated by the same language - never truer than in this case...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it for my mobile, but it's so slow to search, and it drains the battery while doing a search
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for 'latest' versions, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
Sadly I didn't know that there were 'versions' and the friend I bought it for left it with me. The book seems to be fine but I haven't used it ....not the books fault just mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Million Word crossword Dictionary, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
This was actually my christmas (one off) present and I have had a chance to look thro' it. It looks exactly as I expected it to be
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
good replacement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crossward enthusiast, 26 April 2011
This review is from: The Million Word Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
Received my order without any problem. The book ( The Million Word Crossword Dictionary ) has already served its purpose. A must for crossword enthusiasts.
Thanks a lot
B Evans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Million Word Crossword Dictionary
The Million Word Crossword Dictionary by Daniel Stark (Hardcover - Mar. 2004)
£17.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews