Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2006
The author knows his stuff. It's a good book and very detailed.

However, I found it heavy going, very much like reading a Haines car manual! Not a great deal of pictures, of which a majority are very old black & white shots of years gone by. I also found the wordage difficult to get along with.

It is very American and aimed at the US market. I found myself wondering if what I was reading relevant to me as a man in the UK. The 'how you should dress for work' section was so very 'American man goes to work'. Smart suits aside, nobody in England would dress for work in the ways described. It goes on about Ivy League cues etc. In essence it was classic style as we know it today came out of the US.

In summary I would compare it to 'Gentlemen - A timeless fashion', which I also have. Dressing the man has more historical detail, is hard going and aimed at the US reader/dresser. Gentlemen - A timeless fashion is better for how do I dress myself in a classic English way and why, with tons more pictures which help with a shopping list in your mind, it is also serves a handy easy reference. In my opinion Dressing the man does not offer good value for money compared to the other titles on the market; However that said the author knows his stuff but gets bogged down with history and nitty gritty and never really gets around to the hear and now.
11 comment|114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2003
Flusser's magnum opus exceeds Bernhard Roetzel's superb work "Gentleman: A Timeless Classic" as the simply the most comprehensive and authoritatve text on classic male dress. The chapters on proportion, colour and pattern deal with really important issues that Roetzel just misses out completely. The chapter on smart casual addresses an area that is very important to the modern office, but sorely neglected by other authors. The only other work I know of that addressed these fundamentals to anywhere near this level of detail is Spensor's "Style Directions for Men," but her work is hampered by an overly-compartmentalised approach and very poor samples of clothing (the photos have been extracted from a cheap mail order catalogue). I would strongly recommend this book along with "Style and the Man" (then you'll know what and how to wear things AND where to find them). Roetzel's book is definitely worth having as well, but it has been overtaken. A smaller, but highly informative work is Karlen and Sulavik's "Indispensible Guide," but that just doesn't have the kind of colour photos, intricate detail and historical background that "Dressing the Man" does. I recommend this book to any gent who wants to know more about classic style and dress.
0Comment|105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
This is definitely a great book. It is full of color pictures, historical notes, side-to side comparisons, examples and so on.
Every piece of man's apparel is discussed, presented in full color, b/w photos or excellent hand drawings to feast your eyes upon. The number of pages isn't so high, but it is their sheer quality that shines. Open it anywhere and you could find inspiration.
Clearly a lot of thought and work has been infused in this volume. It is so well conceived that it can also do a lot of good to people just wanting a "quick fix" on their style, but it is in the hand of the fashion lover that it really shines. To give the best it must be read, re-read, admired and thought over.
Ultimately, this book will make you THINK and CREATE, and this is possibly the greatest homage which can be paid to any book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
If you want to learn to dress in a way that will save you money, and let you get dressed in the dark whilst still looking good, get this book. It teaches you how to analyse your colours and proportion and figure out the looks for you. It's also rigorous, and you'll know exactly how to look at a man in a suit and criticise everything about its fit. You won't regret it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Simple;

There is no other book on menswear that compares. This is an extensive and comprehensive work, one of a kind...look no further!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
A beautiful book well thought out and illustrated. If you buy the book for it's pictures alone you'll not be disappointed. I would agree with a previous reviewer that it's not 100% on the money for the English reader, a bit too American in focus. Other than that a first rate book and very interesting even if ,like me, you're a bit of a slob!
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
This book has been of good valuable to me as it explains sartorial details and - history, making the reader able to decide for himself what he will wear. For the aficionados out there!

It also explained how to proper size dress shirts, jackets, trousers, etc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
B. Roetzel's "Gentleman - Timeless guide" was more useful/practical. For me at least.
Nevertheless: "Dressing the Man" IS worth every penny!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
It's truly a dressing BIBLE.
I'm not dealing with chlothes or have any other interest than being nicely dressed.
I bought it from Amazon UK exactly 3 years ago, 2005, and I can't tell you how many times I have been going back to it!
It's marvellous. All the answers are there.
It's NOT for snobs, it's for normal adult men.
Beautiful, elegant, educational, perhaps a bit big, but what a book!
No other book in this field, comes in the neighbourhood.
If every mature man should own it, the world would much be more nice!

Doc
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
That is the best complement to "The Gentleman". A very informative book on male fashion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)