Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive work in this area
Flusser's magnum opus exceeds Bernhard Roetzel's superb work "Gentleman: A Timeless Classic" as the simply the most comprehensive and authoritatve text on classic male dress. The chapters on proportion, colour and pattern deal with really important issues that Roetzel just misses out completely. The chapter on smart casual addresses an area that is very important to the...
Published on 14 Feb. 2003

versus
102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dressing the Man - For the British reader
The author knows his stuff. It's a good book and very detailed.

However, I found it heavy going, very much like reading a Haines car manual! Not a great deal of pictures, of which a majority are very old black & white shots of years gone by. I also found the wordage difficult to get along with.

It is very American and aimed at the US market. I found...
Published on 14 May 2006 by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dressing the Man - For the British reader, 14 May 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
The author knows his stuff. It's a good book and very detailed.

However, I found it heavy going, very much like reading a Haines car manual! Not a great deal of pictures, of which a majority are very old black & white shots of years gone by. I also found the wordage difficult to get along with.

It is very American and aimed at the US market. I found myself wondering if what I was reading relevant to me as a man in the UK. The 'how you should dress for work' section was so very 'American man goes to work'. Smart suits aside, nobody in England would dress for work in the ways described. It goes on about Ivy League cues etc. In essence it was classic style as we know it today came out of the US.

In summary I would compare it to 'Gentlemen - A timeless fashion', which I also have. Dressing the man has more historical detail, is hard going and aimed at the US reader/dresser. Gentlemen - A timeless fashion is better for how do I dress myself in a classic English way and why, with tons more pictures which help with a shopping list in your mind, it is also serves a handy easy reference. In my opinion Dressing the man does not offer good value for money compared to the other titles on the market; However that said the author knows his stuff but gets bogged down with history and nitty gritty and never really gets around to the hear and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive work in this area, 14 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
Flusser's magnum opus exceeds Bernhard Roetzel's superb work "Gentleman: A Timeless Classic" as the simply the most comprehensive and authoritatve text on classic male dress. The chapters on proportion, colour and pattern deal with really important issues that Roetzel just misses out completely. The chapter on smart casual addresses an area that is very important to the modern office, but sorely neglected by other authors. The only other work I know of that addressed these fundamentals to anywhere near this level of detail is Spensor's "Style Directions for Men," but her work is hampered by an overly-compartmentalised approach and very poor samples of clothing (the photos have been extracted from a cheap mail order catalogue). I would strongly recommend this book along with "Style and the Man" (then you'll know what and how to wear things AND where to find them). Roetzel's book is definitely worth having as well, but it has been overtaken. A smaller, but highly informative work is Karlen and Sulavik's "Indispensible Guide," but that just doesn't have the kind of colour photos, intricate detail and historical background that "Dressing the Man" does. I recommend this book to any gent who wants to know more about classic style and dress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not absolutely on the mark for the english reader, 14 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
A beautiful book well thought out and illustrated. If you buy the book for it's pictures alone you'll not be disappointed. I would agree with a previous reviewer that it's not 100% on the money for the English reader, a bit too American in focus. Other than that a first rate book and very interesting even if ,like me, you're a bit of a slob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man, you'll look good, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book. Many of the pictures are a bit dated, but that doesn't matter because it's easy and fun to experiment on your own wardrobe using the principles of proportion and colour coordination that the writer imparts.

Reading this book made me see my current clothes in a new light and boosted my ability to pick out new ones with verve and flair. I have always been told by those around me that I have good style but since putting the principles of this book into action, people who I don't know regularly compliment me on my dress sense and I was even stopped in the street and asked to appear in a national fashion mag's street-style shoot.

If you are interested in classic men's style, Dressing the Man will provide the principles, while Bernhard Roetzel's Gentleman: A Timeless Guide to Fashion is a great starting point for discovering the categories, names and locations of the classic menswear manufacturers. I recommend buying both of these books if you want to dress like a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your one-stop source for inspiration in dressing, 3 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
This is definitely a great book. It is full of color pictures, historical notes, side-to side comparisons, examples and so on.
Every piece of man's apparel is discussed, presented in full color, b/w photos or excellent hand drawings to feast your eyes upon. The number of pages isn't so high, but it is their sheer quality that shines. Open it anywhere and you could find inspiration.
Clearly a lot of thought and work has been infused in this volume. It is so well conceived that it can also do a lot of good to people just wanting a "quick fix" on their style, but it is in the hand of the fashion lover that it really shines. To give the best it must be read, re-read, admired and thought over.
Ultimately, this book will make you THINK and CREATE, and this is possibly the greatest homage which can be paid to any book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permanent fashion bible, 1 May 2012
By 
Ville Johan Witt (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
This book has been of good valuable to me as it explains sartorial details and - history, making the reader able to decide for himself what he will wear. For the aficionados out there!

It also explained how to proper size dress shirts, jackets, trousers, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIBLE, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Jonny (Bramham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
Simple;

There is no other book on menswear that compares. This is an extensive and comprehensive work, one of a kind...look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have the slightest interest in what to wear,buy it. A Bible!, 14 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
It's truly a dressing BIBLE.
I'm not dealing with chlothes or have any other interest than being nicely dressed.
I bought it from Amazon UK exactly 3 years ago, 2005, and I can't tell you how many times I have been going back to it!
It's marvellous. All the answers are there.
It's NOT for snobs, it's for normal adult men.
Beautiful, elegant, educational, perhaps a bit big, but what a book!
No other book in this field, comes in the neighbourhood.
If every mature man should own it, the world would much be more nice!

Doc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are betters, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
B. Roetzel's "Gentleman - Timeless guide" was more useful/practical. For me at least.
Nevertheless: "Dressing the Man" IS worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it!, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion (Hardcover)
If you want to learn to dress in a way that will save you money, and let you get dressed in the dark whilst still looking good, get this book. It teaches you how to analyse your colours and proportion and figure out the looks for you. It's also rigorous, and you'll know exactly how to look at a man in a suit and criticise everything about its fit. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion
Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion by Alan Flusser (Hardcover - 23 Oct. 2003)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews