Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and enjoyable read
Gives an honest insight into the personal and competitive life of one of the world's greatest surfers. A very easy to read book which made a refreshing change from the highly descriptive dribble that I have been reading of late.
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Paulo Bazzerio

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but average...
This should have been a fascinating read, after all, Kelly Slater has dominated the surfing scene like no one else before and is still considered by many as one of the most powerful surfers around today. However, what we actually get is none of the passion of Kelly's surfing and weak writing lets down what could have been a fascinating story. It all too often has the feel...
Published on 21 Oct 2003 by J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but average..., 21 Oct 2003
By 
J (Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pipe Dreams (Hardcover)
This should have been a fascinating read, after all, Kelly Slater has dominated the surfing scene like no one else before and is still considered by many as one of the most powerful surfers around today. However, what we actually get is none of the passion of Kelly's surfing and weak writing lets down what could have been a fascinating story. It all too often has the feel of a school project and even the climax of a world championship fought out in the finals of the Pipemasters contest in Hawaii fails to conjure up the tension it should.

All surfers should find this an interesting enough read, but Kelly should have employed the services of a biographer to tell his story. Not in the same league as Tony Hawk's autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and enjoyable read, 2 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
Gives an honest insight into the personal and competitive life of one of the world's greatest surfers. A very easy to read book which made a refreshing change from the highly descriptive dribble that I have been reading of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
This was a very earnest and enjoyable read. At times it seems painfully honest and forthright. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down and I felt quite sad to finish it. I hope Kelly Slater considers writing another instalment soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
Ordered this book for my surf mad boyfriend and gave it to him for Christmas he was over the moon with it can't comment on content as he's saving it for his tour but was well packaged and arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all surfers, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
it is a stocking filler for mu surf addicted 15 year old son. I have to admit to a sneaky read when it arrived. He will
really enjoy it.
The service was great . It arrived in plenty of time.
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book i've ever read!, 27 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
Kelly Slater is my hero. Has been since I was 6 years old, and this book was just brilliant. All the storys of his childhood were deep, some hillarious, some moving. I found it truly fasinating to be seeing things from his point of view, everything from surf comps to touring the world, to staying down here in Cornwall freezing his whatsits off.

Brilliant read... I think i'll go read it again now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pipe Dream or nightmare??, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. D. Bawler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
Well I'm new to the world of surfing but everyone has heard of Kelly Slater havent they!?!

Good book, well written and interjected with pictures to break up the page after page of words that often stop my mind concentrating! ha ha

I found it a good inside angle on what it takes to be a pro surfer and legend of surfing no less!

I finished reading hte book thinking that I could emphasise with the surfing community for disliking Mr Slatter but its actually a really good book.

I had a week off and read it cover to cover within 4 days and I aint a reader type!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars badly written chronology of slaters competition wins, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
badly written chronology of slaters competition wins, written with the charisma of a stone,.. for a better read, try Nat Youngs' autobigraphy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, 16 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. SD Hoskins "Hoskins" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
I loved this book! It was so good reading about how Kelly started off surfing on a body board as a kid before getting a surfboard then slowly making himself known winning competitions then to become world champion! I didn't think there was anything wrong with the way it was written like another review says. If you like surfing and like Kelly Slater then this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey (Paperback)
All in all a poor book, it never really grabbed my attention and could have been far better considering the story kelly has to tell. very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey
Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey by Kelly Slater (Paperback - 7 Oct 2004)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews