Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of the western world
This is a discovery browsing a public library in a small suburb of a small but civilized city of Adelaide, and after reading so many books of modern history, this one encompass all aspects of human ideas from science, politics, religion, historical events, economics, trivia, literature, poetry, music art and all what makes our lives so interesting and rich. The Western...
Published 18 months ago by Marcello Costa

versus
21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Modern "Never Mind"
Reading this book is like listening to one of Mozart's string quartets played by a few beginning saxophone students. Sure, you might recognize the significance of the content, but the execution leaves you longing for a performance commensurate with its substance. I found myself continually putting it down and returning to other books on my shelf, such as Everdell's...
Published on 15 Jun. 2001 by J. Henderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of the western world, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century (Paperback)
This is a discovery browsing a public library in a small suburb of a small but civilized city of Adelaide, and after reading so many books of modern history, this one encompass all aspects of human ideas from science, politics, religion, historical events, economics, trivia, literature, poetry, music art and all what makes our lives so interesting and rich. The Western world could not have had a better summarising writer with knowledge, non unsympathetic but not excessively admiring all aspects of our culture. I highly recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly can't be read like a best seller but well worth the effort, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century (Paperback)
Peter Watson has such a breadth of knowledge it's awe -inspiring. He really does survey the scene in a coherent and focused way. Takes time to read; short sections need to be digested. Certainly can't be read like a best seller but well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century (Paperback)
Don't know what everyone else is saying, this book provides an utterly superb introduction to the ideas and thinkers and movements of the modern age, a great springboard to works and ideas you otherwise might never encounter.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Modern "Never Mind", 15 Jun. 2001
By 
J. Henderson (Clermont, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reading this book is like listening to one of Mozart's string quartets played by a few beginning saxophone students. Sure, you might recognize the significance of the content, but the execution leaves you longing for a performance commensurate with its substance. I found myself continually putting it down and returning to other books on my shelf, such as Everdell's "The First Moderns" or Schorske's "Fin de Siècle Vienna."
In all fairness though, Watson's book is remarkably ambitious in its attempt to cover the entire scope of twentieth century intellectual history in one volume. Undertaking this daunting task alone merits a few stars. The author's apparent breadth of knowledge is impressive and it was somewhat nice to read a broad work on a subject so prone to esoteric treatment. Watson's book brings needed perspective. I learned some things reading it, but I would not want my students to model his writing. The word "encyclopedic," used elsewhere in reference to this book, is an accurate description--for better or for worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intellectual history of the 20th Centuary, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century (Paperback)
I was first introduced to this book through my local library.It was so absorbing exciting and interesting to read that I needed to purchased it and I now use it as a reference book For any one that has an enquiring mind it is a must Its attraction is the diverse amount of the subject matter from the discoveries of this century to the origins of the universe The way in which it is written subject by subject allows you to pick it up at any chapter which is like reading a small book each time you pick it up Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century
Modern Mind: An Intellectual History of the 20th Century by Peter Watson (Paperback - July 2002)
£13.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews