Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a beginner this book was the business.
In the introduction to this book, the reader is told that they cannot just read it all the way through and expect to win at poker. You are told that to get the most from it you will need to read it slowly and go over parts of the book time and again.
This has certainly been the case for this poker player who up to 3 months ago had not played poker at all. The main...
Published on 2 July 2004 by apgreenwood

versus
45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about this book
On the one hand, you can't argue with Phil's record as a poker player. And he does talk through a lot of interesting concepts quite clearly. But great players do not necessarily make great teachers, and while Phil is by no means the worst, he's not the best, either. Sometimes he says what you shouldn't do... and then gives an example where he (or another high level Pro)...
Published on 8 Dec 2003 by merlinme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a beginner this book was the business., 2 July 2004
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
In the introduction to this book, the reader is told that they cannot just read it all the way through and expect to win at poker. You are told that to get the most from it you will need to read it slowly and go over parts of the book time and again.
This has certainly been the case for this poker player who up to 3 months ago had not played poker at all. The main reason why this book worked so well for me is the way it is laid out. By having strategy for beginners then intermediate and finally advanced it allows you to learn at your own pace without being bogged down in strategies you can barely understand. In my opinion this format is the best way to do it as it shows the beginner what to concentrate on until they are comfortable enough to move up to the next level
The fact that there are no charts detailing table odds and the like to me is a positive. Phil in this book concentrates on teaching you how to play the hands you will be dealt and the thought processes you should use as the hand progresses to make decisions. Not confusing you by saying well if the table odds are this or if they are that.
Thanks to this book I am now enjoy playing Texas Hold Em online, when my wife allows and I think it will do the same for you as long as you remember that reading this book alone cannot make you a great poker player, the way you approach it also has an effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning At The Feet Of The Master, 13 Oct 2003
By 
Hibby (Broxburn, West Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
Want to play poker? Then read this before you read anything else!
Anybody who already plays poker at any level should have the authors name already engrained into thier memory as a true master of the game.
Phil lays out what, when and how to play with such amazing clarity that it stunned me. Whilst some books on the game can bamboozle you with mathematical formulas Phil lays it out in plain sometimes even funny English. The ideas laid out in the book such as playing Ax suited "either hit it or miss it" could advance nearly anyone's plays and the layout is superb taking you from beginner through to advanced plays. I consider myself a good intermediate player but decided to read the book from the very first page, just to see what Phil had to say and was amazed that I picked up fresh insights into even Begginers stratgey. I may already have played these plays many times but this book refreshed your mind in how and when to do so.
The clear consice layout of animal characters and how to identify them at your game are also truly insightful.
Rest assured this is a book I will go back over again and again and again.
As I said before, Want to learn poker? play better poker? or most importantly WIN AT POKER? Then look no further than this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 24 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
Why all the carping and snippy reviews of this book? One only needs to read the forward by the late Andrew Glazer at the beginning of Play Poker Like the Pros to understand the value of this book. This is one of MANY poker books that are worth reading. There is never any claim that this is the best or the only book on the subject.
Smart poker players read from as many sources as possible and try to learn from different perspectives. Arguing about whether this book is better or worse than Brunson or other books is a waste of time. Instead of arguing about it, read them both and learn a little from every author you can. Most importantly if you think there is any book out there that will make you a winner without having to utilize your own judgement and ability, then I hope to see you at the casino so I can take your money.
As with any guide on poker, there are some parts of this book that are helpful and other parts of the book that I don't agree. The strength of this book is in its strategy discussions for players who are fairly new to playing in casinos, online or in tournaments. It's a big jump from playing in someone's living room to playing against strangers. Hellmuth's basic tight/aggressive strategy is bound to be instructive to any poker newbie.
Where the book tends to be lacking is in its discussion of subjects other than limit hold em and seven card stud. You can tell that the game of Omaha 8 baffles Hellmuth as it does most players and the chapters on Razz and regular Omaha add little. The other shortcoming is in the discussion of No Limit Hold em. Many more casinos are offering this as a cash game along with tournaments. You won't learn a lot about that particular game with this book.
The good news is that if you are new to competitive play, you will probably end up playing in a small stakes limit cash game. This book will help you. If you are a hardened, poker veteran who wants to improve your game, there are probably other books that you can find to suit your need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book to learn the basics and start winning, 14 April 2007
By 
Edward Boon "edwardboon" (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
The book covers several kinds of poker, but I've only read the sections on Limit and NoLimit Hold'Em, as well as the parts that discuss general poker strategy.

The Limit chapters (3, for Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced) are very well written, easy to read and with helpful examples. Helmuth's strategy is to be selective with the hands you play but play these hands agressively. Not all players will like this, but at a low-stake game with lots of loose players (who call a lot and fish for draws) this strategy works great. I have tried Helmuth's strategy at several 2/4 Limit tables and as long as the session is long enough (min. 2 hours) I always win. However, I find that at higher-stake tables you need to be able to switch to a different style when the table is too tight(see a lot of cheap flops with mediocre cards, and throw them away if you don't hit on the flop).

The No-Limit section is rather short. You can consider it a good quick introduction, but it doesn't compete with Dan Harrington's books and other standards.

In short, buy it for the Limit section, not for the No-Limit section, and if you're a beginning player stick with the strategy until you are ready to experiment with a looser play style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars play poker like the pros, 1 Jan 2005
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
Having been playing online poker for a few months, i thought i would delve into buying some texts to extend my knowledge and help my play. After reading reviews i decided oin this book by phil hellmuth jr. If you are an absoplute novice, or a regular player, this book will offer you alot. It breaks things down very well, and has had me, at least, thinking about what i am doing alot more than i did than before i read it! A very good purchase, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic advice on achieving a 'tight' playing style, 4 July 2006
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
I have read a number of Poker titles and I would say this book is ideal for beginners and intermediate players. Phil is very clear on the starting hands, initially 10 with more to be introduced as your experience increases. Nothing revalationary in here but just sound, solid advice. A few other leading titles advocate a very aggressive strategy which is great for high limit, battle hardened veterans used to big swings in their bank role, but scary for the rest of us. Phil advocates a 'super tight' approach, which if you have the discipline to follow will enable you to clean up at the lower limits. Phil covers Holdem (limit, pot & no limit), 7 card stud and omaha. If your looking for a step by step guide to a 'Tight' playing style, this book is ideal. If you are already an established player not too much in here for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about this book, 8 Dec 2003
By 
merlinme "merlinme" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
On the one hand, you can't argue with Phil's record as a poker player. And he does talk through a lot of interesting concepts quite clearly. But great players do not necessarily make great teachers, and while Phil is by no means the worst, he's not the best, either. Sometimes he says what you shouldn't do... and then gives an example where he (or another high level Pro) did the 'wrong' thing and got away with it. I'm not sure how helpful this is for the beginner. Again, he's a very instinctive player, with a very particular style. Poker is a game which is very hard to give hard and fast rules with, because it changes so much depending on your style of play (your 'table image') and on your opponents skill and aggressiveness. His animal analogies are interesting, but too often he doesn't explain _why_ he's re-raising the Jackal and not the Mouse. The style he describes for a beginning player (only play the top ten hands, be very aggressive) is sound enough; but very few beginners have the patience to fold 90% of the hands they're dealt. And I think someone who started off trying to use that very aggressive style with his 'intermediate' level (where you play somewhat weaker hands) could get themselves into all sorts of trouble. I'm not sure Phil always explains very clearly why certain tactics might work on some occasions more than others, either. He seems to be a player who relies a lot on reading his opponents, which takes a lot of practice and again, could get a beginner into a lot of trouble. By contrast, while I'm sure he understands pot odds, he mentions them about twice in the entire section on Hold'Em, and charts are pretty rare. Why do people who go all-in pre-flop in no limit hold'em do reasonably well? Phil won't tell you.
On the positive side, he does describe a lot of very interesting points, and he covers a wide range of topics. The section on Omaha (a game I've not had much to do with) was interesting. So by all means buy it as a reasonably fun read that gets you thinking about some important ideas at a high level, and might introduce you to a few poker variations you weren't aware of. But I'd be very wary about treating it as a 'how to' book for a beginner. 'Winning Low Limit Hold'Em' (Lee Jones) is far better, giving you a fairly consistent message and style which should be enough to get you winning small amounts of money fairly quickly. If you prefer a different game to Hold'Em, again, there are far better places to start than 'Play Poker Like the Pros'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harrington's book £30.00 - Hellmuth £9.00, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr James (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
Read the title - it says it all. Nevertheless I still gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because of one little ingredient; Hellmuth's ego. The difference between this book and the books of many other professionals is that Hellmuth likes not only to tell us how great he is, but also to prove it with words that cannot be ignored.

Whilst I am a massive fan of Dan Harrington (and his books), I cannot argue that Phil Hellmuth is without doubt a fantastic player of Hold'em and what he writes about is bare facts, whereas some others might not divulge all their secrets; if you get my drift. We can't think like Dan Harrington but Phil, who has won an enormous amount in the game, lays it on the line for us so that we mere mortals can absorb precisely what Phil has done to be where he is.

Although a little patronising (I'd expect nothing less from Phil) this book is a real insight into the game of poker and should be on the bookcase of any serious poker player. I enjoyed the read; I hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phil is great!, 5 Dec 2008
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
I begun to interest to poker last year. Here in Italy the most played draw variant is the one played with the reduced deck. In that variant a was a good player. The book of Phil made me a good player of limit Hold'em. His approach is progressive, and the beginner section is very easy to understand. I really improved my poker readign this book.
I own the Harrington on Hold'em 1 and 2, and the Sit'n,go Strategy of Moshman. These titles are good for tournaments, but reading the book of Phil i've learned the discipline of a limit player.
Also the sections on Omaha and Stud are very accurate, and I learned play H.o.r.s.e with some skill.
I recommend this book to all novice poker players, and I recommend to read this book BEFORE any book on tournament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad., 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) (Paperback)
Absolute drivel. Phil Hellmuth is one of the top tournament players of all time. He is also one of the worst poker teachers and writers of all time. This book sells because of Hellmuth's name - no other reason. There are some great books out there by authors who aren't poker superstars. Do some research and find them for yourself. Or buy this book and hope I see you at a table soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books)
Play Poker Like the Pros ( HarperResource Books) by Phil Hellmuth (Paperback - 4 Mar 2004)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews