Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has a quite charm
In the second of the Bastion series from Stephanie Laurens it is the turn of Tony Blake, Viscount Torrington and former spy to meet his match in the matrimonial stakes.
Coming across a young lady in his godmothers garden at a party he finds that she is everything he wants, unfortunatly she is also standing there with a bloody knife in her hand and a dead body at her...
Published on 20 Nov 2003 by Tanya Shuttlewood

versus
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but....
I enjoyed the book, but, yet again an author's lack of knowledge on England has let her down. The biggest area of bemusement is journey time, I know England is a small country but even today it is a whole day journey to get from the centre of London to Exmoor! At the time the story is set in the early 19th century it would have taken days, maybe weeks! I do understand...
Published on 15 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has a quite charm, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: A Gentleman's Honor (Mass Market Paperback)
In the second of the Bastion series from Stephanie Laurens it is the turn of Tony Blake, Viscount Torrington and former spy to meet his match in the matrimonial stakes.
Coming across a young lady in his godmothers garden at a party he finds that she is everything he wants, unfortunatly she is also standing there with a bloody knife in her hand and a dead body at her feet. And so Tony is called upon to put all his spying expertise into play to ensure the innocence and safety of Alicia, the young 'widow' that has captured his attention.
What follows is a different approach for Laurens, Tony and Alicia are more than willing to act upon what they feel for each other. They form a friendship, a partnership and support each other through the ensuing plot to discover the real murderer.
Alicia is a very likeable heroine, practical in her management of a large household of younger brothers and sister, assured in dealing with society and intelligent in her relationship with a complex and world weary hero.
The only issue lies with the search for the murderer/traitor which is slow with paper trails and research being at its foundation. However this is more than made up with the interaction between the main characters in what is one of the better Laurens stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to put down, 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: A Gentleman's Honor (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked up A Gentleman's Honor by Stephanie Laurens, I had not expected it to be much more than a semi-interesting read. However, with every page turn, I became more and more attached to the novel's heroine, and actually found it very difficult to put the book down. Since reading this book, I have highly recommended it to all my girlfriends. It's a beautiful story about life, love and friendship filled with excitement, heartbreak and hope. I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but...., 15 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Honor (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed the book, but, yet again an author's lack of knowledge on England has let her down. The biggest area of bemusement is journey time, I know England is a small country but even today it is a whole day journey to get from the centre of London to Exmoor! At the time the story is set in the early 19th century it would have taken days, maybe weeks! I do understand that for a story to be fast moving the plot must move on, but, for me it does weaken a story when simple errors like this occur.
For fans of Ms Laurens, I am sure that the style of the prose will be enjoyed, but it does miss some of the sparkle of her 'Cynster' books and could have done with a bit of editing down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Beat Him as a Hero, 5 Mar 2013
A Bastion Club novel featuring Anthony Blake, Viscount Torrington and desperate and penniless Alicia Pevensey (pretending to be a young widow, Alicia Carrington).

Sinfully sensual novel, peppered with humour, and a big fat 5, 5 plus actually ......... thus far Tony has (and probably will be forever) one of my favourite heroes'.

Romantic fiction at its best, I would highly recommend this series by Stephanie Laurens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regency romance/detective story in the "Bastion Club" series, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An entertaining if completely implausible story which is second in the "Bastion Club" series of novels which are a sort of hybrid between detective stories and modern erotic romances set in the Regency period of history.

The "Bastion Club" stories begin just after the battle of Waterloo brought to an end twenty years of war. In the book "The Lady Chosen: Bastion Club Series, Book 1," a group of British officers who have been serving their country, first as officers in the Guards and latterly as spies, met after the battle to discuss how they were going to adapt to peacetime life. Most of them have recently inherited titles, all are single and most of them need to marry. And the whole of the "ton" as high society was called, knows that they are very eligible batchelors.

Realising that they are likely to be mobbed by matchmaking mothers, our heroes decide to set up a club where they can retreat to enjoy one another's company, and plan together their strategies to make sure that each has a chance to marry the lady with whom he has the best chance of a happy marriage rather than someone foisted on him by "matchmaking mamas." They call it the "Bastion Club" because it is intended to be, as described in this volume "their secured base from which each would infiltrate the ton, identify the lady he wanted as his wife, and them storm the enemy's position and capture her."

So they buy an empty property in Belgravia to serve as the club. Each of the novels in the series tells the story of how one of our heroes finds his lady - and then has to use the skills they acquired during the war to rescue her from the machinations of some criminal mastermind.

It's a genuine series in the sense that the main characters of previous books appear as supporting characters in later ones: for example, when they learn of the difficulties facing Alicia, the heroine of this book and the lady who the hero is determined to marry, both Leonora, the heroine of "The Lady Chosen" and Kit, the heroine of the prequel, "Captain Jack's Woman descend on her to offer moral support. (It comes out at this point that Kit saved the life of Tony, the hero of this book, when he was working as a spy. You have to read "Captain Jack's Woman" if you want to know that story.)

In fact a large number of characters in the author's Bar Cynster series also have supporting roles or walk-on cameo parts in this book, including Helena, Duchess of St Ives and heroine of "The Promise in a Kiss (Bar Cynster)", her sisters-in-law Augusta, Marchioness of Huntley and Lady Horatia Cynster, and Horatia's son Harry, known as "Demon", who is the hero of "A Rogue's Proposal (Bar Cynster).

The hero of this story is Anthony (or Tony) Blake, Viscount Torrington, who is a target for every matchmaking female in London. But the only lady who takes his interest is the woman who he finds in the garden of a house where a musical soiree is taking place, with a bloody dagger in her hand, crouching by the body of a murdered man ...

The delightful heroine of the story, Alicia, has been left to look after her sister and three young brothers on the death of their parents, who left them an old name but no money. She has a secret: a grand plan to help her sister marry well. But a villain finds out that secret and threatens to expose her ...

I won't say any more about the plot to avoid spoiling the story, beyond that, like others in the series, it is about 50% romance and about 50% detective story, and that the romantic side of the story is extremely similar to the plot of most of Stephanie Laurens' recent books.

This book is utterly implausible but quite charming. Gentlemen and Ladies of the ton did not generally behave in the way the characters in this book do, but it is entertaining if you can suspend disbelief. Some other reviewers have commented that there is too much sex in the series: there is certainly significantly more than normal for the regency romance genre, and towards the end the sex scenes do start to get irritatingly repetitive.

But overall if you have an interest in romantic detective stories, I can recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this book for my Granny when come in the post on date said she was so happy. She start reading at day
She says it as a good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentleman'sHonour, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoying this new series by Stephanie Laurens - again very similar story lines but good gripping stories, don't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book by Stephanie laurens, 30 May 2010
By 
All books by the authoress Stephanie laurens are a hit with me, having stumbled across her by accident I am now collecting her complete works. She brings alive the regency period with a down to earth human aspect,love, sex and honour as well as the villains of the time. If you have not yet read her work I would reccomend you try if you are drawn to the romantic type novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reprint alert, 10 Feb 2010
By 
M. Dugdale "mairi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why oh why can't publishers tell you if books are re-prints?

This book was published by Avon in 2003 and available to buy on Amazon. Piatkus are re-issuing it with a lovely cover but presumably the contents are the same.

From what I remember I enjoyed the book but it is a standard SL with loads of humphing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Gentleman's Honor
A Gentleman's Honor by Stephanie Laurens (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews