Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have ever read
'Hunter's Moon', by Garry Kilworth, is without a doubt the best book that I have ever read in my entire life thus far. Not only does it beautifully describe the lives of foxes and the sorroundings that they live in, it also contains a great, absorbing plot and extremely well-made characters that develop a lot throughout the story. It is also the first book in my life to...
Published on 25 April 2009 by Jose Luis Dicenta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars
"Hunter's Moon" is an interesting read, but certainly does not deserve the full 5 stars which all the other reviewers have given it. (And since all but one of the other reviewers have only ever reviewed this item, I shall assume they are shill reviews. For shame!).

The book follows the lives of a family of foxes through their trials and tribulations, with Man...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by Chantal Lyons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have ever read, 25 April 2009
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
'Hunter's Moon', by Garry Kilworth, is without a doubt the best book that I have ever read in my entire life thus far. Not only does it beautifully describe the lives of foxes and the sorroundings that they live in, it also contains a great, absorbing plot and extremely well-made characters that develop a lot throughout the story. It is also the first book in my life to have made me cry, not to mention that it also made me break out into laughter on several occasions due to Garry Kilworth's masterful writing. For me, 'Hunter's Moon' is doubtlessly the best work of art that I have encountered so far, and it seems likely to remain thus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 4 April 2008
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
A truely great book, compelling you to read it cover to cover. Suitable for all ages and certainly a must for anyone interested in wildlife of the British countryside, be warned though; the Author reflects the good and bad turns of a fox's life and most of it is sad; however his style of writing and use of decriptive words makes you continue to read all the way through.
A Must, especially for people in the Furry Fandom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 31 Mar 2005
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
This book is so good , i can't believe soooo many people have never heard of it, i borrowed it from the library at the age of 11 to take as holiday reading, since then it has become almost a ritual that a day before i leave i go in and pick up a copy! The story mixes the good with the bad and is like a lot of 'mini' adventures in one, it tracks the lives of O-ha and her cubs through there lives- it is amazing how similar they seem to us!
give it a go you shall not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 1 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
This book was one of the most amazing books I have ever read I have read it now 8 times and I am 19 LOVE IT!! The things O-ha goes through really pull at your heart but although she gives up hope and vows to live a life alone she does learn to love again because of Camio the American fox who excaped from a zoo they have cubs and they go through some horrible things, it is just a story of their lives and what foxes must go through....amazing....and anyone who fox hunts shame on you utterly disgusting....but a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Chantal Lyons (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
"Hunter's Moon" is an interesting read, but certainly does not deserve the full 5 stars which all the other reviewers have given it. (And since all but one of the other reviewers have only ever reviewed this item, I shall assume they are shill reviews. For shame!).

The book follows the lives of a family of foxes through their trials and tribulations, with Man as a continuous presence. There isn't much of a story; the book tends to simply meander along, with occasional forays into adventure before returning to the status quo. It just couldn't decide what it wanted to be about - is it about the subjugation of the natural world by Man? Is it about the spirituality of animals? Is it a love story? No theme felt truly developed.

The prose was, I felt, rather inconsistent - at times Kilworth can write beautifully, with vivid descriptions of the natural and the man-made world. But at other times the prose was clinical; scientific. Characters also did not feel consistent, making decisions or having thoughts which seemed at odds with their behaviour previously. There was also an odd part in the book where time suddenly turned back to follow the thread of one particular character. If this had happened a few times, it would not have felt so out of place.

Ultimately the book has a self-published kind of feeling. It could have really benefited from an editor's scrutinising eye, and I can't imagine a publisher picking it up in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
A beautifully written story, A pleasure to read.
This book caused me to smile and to cry for it really touched my heart.
The way the author described little fox rituals and habbits is wonderful also.
Most of them are very beautiful too, like how these characters deal with death.
Recommanded for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent!, 23 Jun 2007
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
I read this bok cover to cover in one sitting. It has such wonderful wonderful description as you follow the foxes. It can be a little confusing at times, but it doesn't matter. buy this now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 2 Feb 2007
By 
Fox Lover (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
This is the most amazing book I have ever read! Bought from the library for less than a pound, I never thought it was going to be so good.

O-ha is learning what it takes to be a fox. This story is sad, but also uplifting when O-ha finally realises she has to acccept the past and move on. A very compelling story, a real page turner. Number 1 on my book list.

You can really imagine what it would be like to be a fox. With lots of exciting twists and turns, and often sad, this is one book that will be with you for a long time.

Read it, you will not regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunter's Moon
Hunter's Moon by Garry Kilworth (Hardcover - 23 Sep 1989)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews