Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book to get for 1st and 2nd year Astrophysics students, 2 Feb 2005
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
If you are doing a degree in Astrophysics or Astronomy and want a book that is going to last and provide a broad knowledge of astronomy and will last throughout your degree, this is a book to get. If you want pretty pictures and hand-wavy explanations and descriptions, get another book. If you want a bit a detail, and some solid (but not complicated) mathematical background to help understand the astrophysics presented more deeply, this book does a good job. It provides nice simple mathematical models for otherwise complicated processes such as stellar structure, planetary physics and galactic astronomy. It also has some useful appendicies with those easy-to-forget astronomical constants and numbers you need for homeworks. I bought this in the first year of my undergraduate degree, and I am still using it during my PhD. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, maybe not the answer to your seminar prayers tho, 5 April 2003
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This is a great book. I was recommended it for my course (physics with astrophysics) and as a first year have found it very useful in the more specific areas of study. Having said that, it gives a great overview of the subject matter. It is clearly set out in an easy to follow manner, and the information is understandable! (not a mean feat for astro books!). I would certainly recommend this book to anyone doing any space science/astronomy degree, and even to the informed reader who simply wants to learn more. A good understanding of physics is a must though (gcse-alevel) as it will not teach you ALL the fundementals. Really helpful, but don't expect it to simply dish out the answers to those seminar questions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars competition, 19 July 2010
By 
T. J. M. Klerk (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
The book is more thorough than it's competitor "Astronomy, A physical perspective" by Marc Kutler.
With thinner paper it is slimmer but has about 100 pages more than its competition. Both look at astronomy from a physical perspective and therefore are not simple popular reading but do pose the physical questions and equations.
The order of topics in both cases is starting from the solar system and ending at the rim of the known universe.
The book, with its b/w illustrations, is a little dated with its 4th edition of 1998 whereas the "physical perspective" first edition dates from 2003 and uses colour in abundance. Both are great books to dive a little deeper into astronomy. The "astrophysics" is a slightly heavier read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good undergraduate text, 29 May 2001
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This was the recommended text some of the lecture courses in my Physics with Astronomy degree, and I have to say that I've returned to it time and time again.
Everything is explained clearly and all of the background knowledge you need to tackle a problem is given. It can be a bit daunting to a first-year undergraduate, although it will prove invaluable in second and third year - but in saying that, some more advanced concepts are not always developed as fully as you would expect.
All in all though - an excellent book, and a great complement to Carroll & Ostlie or Binney & Merrifield for more advanced stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Astro undergrads AND a great layman's reference book, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This is essential for 1st Year (and 2nd year) Astronomy students.
A previous edition of this book was on the reading list for the Astronomy and Astrophysics courses during my Degree at UCL (Physical Sciences) back in 1994, and it was essential.
Brilliantly written, well illustrated and clearly explained. With the mathematics and physics clearly explained and working shown rather than just chucked.
It helped me a lot, and well, it's essential!

What I love more about this book is that years alter, having Graduated and now in a completely different field and profession, this has pride of place on my bookshelf, it is a superb reference manual, and has been well thumbed through over the years, as the wealth of material and information contained within is always of value.

Overall, the best book on the subject I have ever read, (for those with my limited knowledge and qualification) and is also a perfect reference book on Astronomy and Astrophysics for the layman too - as the text is so good as are the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Brilliant, 12 Aug 2008
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This book isexactly what it claims to be in the preface, the best introduction to astronomy and astrophysics for the mathematically literate around. its big, packed with useful information, the physics prelude reminds you of everything you know, and teaches some stuff you might not know. A reasonable grasp of physics (at least A-Level), and Algebra, Trigonometry, and Calculus is also required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly meets the needs of both astronomers and astrophysicists, 7 July 2014
By 
Andrew Kelly "AK" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
The book that got me through my first degree. Perfect in balancing the differing needs of astronomers and astrophysicists, I also wholeheartedly recommend this book for astronomy enthusiasts who want more out of their hobby than just observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling read, 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This introduction to astronomy was simply breathtaking. Packed with information and easily accessable to the casual reader and student alike, this book is a must read for anyone who has taken the time to ponder over the origins of the universe in which we live. An important and profound experience which is simply too magnificent to put into words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant overview of modern astrophyics, 28 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
This book covers an astonishling range of theoretical and experimental astrophyisics in a hugely readable style. This is not a book aimed at the general public, but the mathematically literate (at least A level maths/physics) wanting a deep understanding of the universe will struggle to find better. Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series) (Hardcover)
For a beginner (which I am) / degree student one of the best books around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introductory Astronomy and Astrophysics (Saunders Golden Sunburst Series)
69.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews