Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cost-effective resource
While net nearly as detailed as the great OLD, it is certainly a fair, cost-effective alternative. The exmaples from various authors showing the particular word in context is helpful to both the student reading Latin and also the student of Latin Composition. While probably not the best reference for graduate-level study, it is certainly a very good resource for the...
Published on 16 Sep 1997

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This well-presented volume is a recension, by an Eton classics master, of the work by Beard & Beard originally published in 1854. The author gives a useful history of the dictionary in his preface.
My previous (and indeed present) copy is pre-1886, that is before Markham's 'improved' edition, which is the one known to all schoolboys until the 1960s.
I...
Published on 6 Jan 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cost-effective resource, 16 Sep 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
While net nearly as detailed as the great OLD, it is certainly a fair, cost-effective alternative. The exmaples from various authors showing the particular word in context is helpful to both the student reading Latin and also the student of Latin Composition. While probably not the best reference for graduate-level study, it is certainly a very good resource for the undergraduate searching for a good Latin dictionary, yet unable to afford the OLD. I have three Latin-English dictionaries--the Pocket OLD, the New College Latin & English Dictionary, and Cassell's Latin Dictionary--and Cassell's stands paramount in relation to the former two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verbum!, 8 July 2004
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
The Cassell's Latin-English Dictionary has a long history. First published in 1854, it has continued in publication under various editors and revisions to the present text, the work of D.P. Simpson, Head of the Classics Department at Eton during the middle of the twentieth century. This book remains for all but the most advanced scholars in Latin the principle Latin dictionary. Clerics, students and general readers of the classics use this volume more than any other. There are other editions (concise editions, etc.), but this is primary volume for standard use.
The dictionary has two sections, a Latin-English side, and an English-Latin side. The Latin-English side contains a primary vocabulary of classical Latin, most words used and found in writings between 200 BCE and 100 AD/CE. There are also proper nouns (names, places). Spelling was flexible in the ancient world; the spelling here follows the conventional modern spellings, with cross-references for significant variances. Words indicate definitions, declension or conjugation as appropriate, and some pronunciation guides. Latin authors are also indicated (in abbreviation) for almost every word.
The English-Latin side is primarily useful for prose composition into Latin of the classical type. Because of the natural growth of language due to progress of technology and ideas, many English words will not be found, as there are no Latin equivalents. Latin equivalent words are taken largely from Cicero, Caesar and Livy, with some additions from legal and ecclesiastical Latin.
There are additional sections for standard Latin abbreviations, the Roman calendar, bibliographies for word lists, atlases, general antiquities, and Latin language guides. This is the best choice for a Latin dictionary for almost any purpose. Even high-end scholars will want the Cassell's for ready and easy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get more out of your Latin, 11 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
The best thing about this dictionary, and the thing that sets it above my Pocket Oxford and Collins dictionaries, is the amount of detail given for each Latin word.

Rather than just listing possible translations, Cassell's lists a word's literal and figurative meanings and also gives examples of its use, making it far easier to find a precise sense.

While the dictionary has an English-Latin section, the emphasis (quite rightly) is on the Latin-English, with more than two-thirds of the book dedicated to the Latin.

There is no grammar section, and irregular parts of verbs rarely have their own headwords, so Latin improvers (or duffers like me - caught out by mansum once too often) will still benefit from owning the Collins dictionary, which is very strong on irregular verbs.

Overall though, Cassell's is excellent value if you want to get more out of your Latin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best medium-sized Latin dictionary, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
Cassell's is the best medium-sized Latin dictionary I have come across.

My Collin's Latin dictionary was severely lacking in detail about word uses (in particular, it often omitted information about the case of noun taken by verbs and prepositions).

I have found Cassell's to be an excellent upgrade, providing apt information about word use, a detailed English-Latin section, and example uses of words by Classical authors. I discovered Cassell's in my last year of A level and only wish I had found it sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cassels' Standard Latin Dictionary, 11 Aug 2009
By 
T. D. Moorhouse "Pavo Absolutus" (Chichester,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
The content is excellent, but accessing it is slightly difficult. Many of the pages remain uncut from print, and the indexing 'system' inset into the page edges leaves much to be desired from an accuracy point of view.

Once you understand that what you expect to find will be in a slightly different place, then you will enjoy the wealth of informative descriptions necessary for a 'proper' Latin/English, English/Latin works.

Another very useful reference works I would rather not be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
Having recently started studying Latin, this dictionary has become my bible. After having used other Latin dictionaries this proves to be exceptionally useful. Cassell's dictionaries are just brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jan 2006
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
This well-presented volume is a recension, by an Eton classics master, of the work by Beard & Beard originally published in 1854. The author gives a useful history of the dictionary in his preface.
My previous (and indeed present) copy is pre-1886, that is before Markham's 'improved' edition, which is the one known to all schoolboys until the 1960s.
I thought I'd upgrade to Mr Simpson's 1964 edition, as mine is very tatty, and also shows the marks of its time in the presentation - small print, shortened headwords, etc.
Reader, it was a mistake. The presentation is faultless, the price is amazingly reasonable, but the content has been most dreadfully cut about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Latin reference, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
Although I have a Latin O level I am not a scholar , just wanting a hard back Latin reference book. This meets my requirements admirably . Cannot fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Eniko Hudak "E H" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
It's a beautiful book, excellent condition. Got damaged a little bit, but apart from this, perfect service! Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin (Hardcover)
difficult to find the words I really wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cassell's Standard Latin Dictionary: Latin/English, English/Latin
Used & New from: £6.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews