Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Conclusion to an Intelligent Trilogy
The Pool of Fire concludes the Tripods Trilogy written by John Christopher during the 1960s. The book deals with the events in the the life of Will Parker in his fight against the oppressive regime of an occupying alien race.
Christopher deals with a number of themes within these novels, considering the role of the individual, personal responsibility, self sacrifice...
Published on 10 July 2002

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now I know how it ends!
Like many others, I guess, I watched the bbc adaptation of the books in my youth. Michael Grade in his wisdom cancelled the series halfway through (and doctor who, good work Michael!)

I'd forgotten about the story but then read that there's going to be a film this year so i picked up the books second hand. All I can say is, good story, not a great set of...
Published on 4 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Conclusion to an Intelligent Trilogy, 10 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pool of Fire (The tripods trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Pool of Fire concludes the Tripods Trilogy written by John Christopher during the 1960s. The book deals with the events in the the life of Will Parker in his fight against the oppressive regime of an occupying alien race.
Christopher deals with a number of themes within these novels, considering the role of the individual, personal responsibility, self sacrifice and the nature of human freedom. These are all dealt with intelligently and without compromise - Christopher does not shirk from making hard choices about the futures of his main characters, and it is here that The Pool of Fire really contains its emotional power. While the book is suitable for a younger secondary school child to read, it retains an appeal for adults and provides much for them to enjoy and think upon. Indeed, while I first read these books at around nine years old, I have returned to them many times over the successive years and have always found a new element to them.
In many respects, the Tripods Trilogy is a story about growing up, and as the main characters of Will Parker, his cousin Henry and their friend Beanpole age over the years in which the books are set, so too does the maturity of the books content.
The Pool of Fire is a fine conclusion to an exemplary trilogy. It provides the reader with an intelligent, exciting and thought-provoking experience. It is only a shame that the BBC decided to cancel their adaptation of the series in the mid 1980s before beginning filming of this third instalment. However, the quality of John Christopher's novel is an excellent piece of fiction in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Tripods - can they be defeated?, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third and final book in the Tripods trilogy (fourth if you also consider the Prequel, When the Tripods Came, set prior to the main storyline and explaining the Tripods arrival on Earth).

The Resistance now know of the Masters' awful plans for Earth; but they also know of a way that the Masters can be harmed, or even killed. Can they take the knowledge that they now have, and find a plan that will allow them to reclaim Earth, to destroy the Masters and to build a new planet? Will and his friends must take on their most awful challenges yet, to try and overcome their own individual prejudices, insecurities and fears, and work together for all of humanity.

This is the last story in the Tripods volumes, but it does leave a future which the reader is left to think about long after turning the last page; and that's how it should be, with a series that deals with the future of humanity and Earth. A great end to a great series; it's just a pity that we never got to see the entire series brought to television all those years ago. At least I know now how the story was supposed to continue. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pool of Fire, 22 Mar 2011
Book 3 in the Tripod series, and the final book.

Based in similarity to HG Well's War of the Worlds and a futuristic if regressed society living pastoral lives, this book is also similar to the Matrix, in that overlords, sentinels control unwitting populations etc.

Buy these and read the original school-boy classics before going to the new Hollywood versions being cooked up.
Also check out the original 80s TV Series which was sadly cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 14 Jun 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After discovering the Tripods' plot to destroy mankind, Will rushes back to the White Mountains to tell the other uncapped humans. With a race against time to overthrow the Tripods, Will and his friends must go across the globe recruiting massive amounts of youth to deal the final blow to the aliens.

After capturing a Tripod, they discover that alcohol has a sleep-inducing effect on the aliens. Armed with this new knowledge, will the resistance be able to take back Earth. What will happen if the Tripods catch on to the humans' plan?

This is an adventure filled with action, suspense, and right vs. wrong. The well-developed characters seem to step up to the plate and shine in this book, and the plot is fast-paced. Readers who like fantasy, science fiction, adventure, and action-filled books will enjoy reading THE POOL OF FIRE.

Reviewed by: Kira M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now I know how it ends!, 4 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many others, I guess, I watched the bbc adaptation of the books in my youth. Michael Grade in his wisdom cancelled the series halfway through (and doctor who, good work Michael!)

I'd forgotten about the story but then read that there's going to be a film this year so i picked up the books second hand. All I can say is, good story, not a great set of novels. Anyone who thinks that Harry Potter falls into the same category should read these - they make JK Rowling seem like Shakespeare!

There's a massive massive story crammed into three tiny books. The characters are pretty thin, but it's a great yarn. Buy the books, trawl through them over a weekend and then wait for the film, when you'll be able to complain that it's not as good as the books.

Fluffy Little Kitten in Fluffy Little Kitten's Birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pool of Fire (The tripods trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Tripods is one of the classic children's sci-fi series, first made popular by the BBC drama. It was one of the books that got me into science fiction and I haven't looked back. John Christopher is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The White Mountains, 19 May 2004
By 
Morvarid Feiz (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pool of Fire (The tripods trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just purchased the Tripod Triology and am looking forward to receiving it. I had read Farsi translation of the White Mountains in Iran when I was about eight years old and loved it. Although the story is written for children, but the contents have guided me for many years on how to recognise the value of freedom, to aim for goals that seemed impossible at the time and to never let failures take hold. A Good Read for all generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pool of Fire (The tripods trilogy)
The Pool of Fire (The tripods trilogy) by John Christopher (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Oct 1988)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews