Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
How do you rate the best of its kind, not the easiest book in the world to read but there is NO doubt that Charles Darwin knows what he is writing about, I have heard of this book since I was at school - WHY did it take so long for me to read it - I do not know, I must be stupid.
Published 6 months ago by P. E. Sneddon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but cheap
Yes, the book is "On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life" and was written back in the mid 1800s, which would account for how hard to read it is, but get past that it's a solid and well written book that explains everything very well, even for people that don't know much about evolution...
Published 26 days ago by Lewis H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How do you rate the best of its kind, not the easiest book in the world to read but there is NO doubt that Charles Darwin knows what he is writing about, I have heard of this book since I was at school - WHY did it take so long for me to read it - I do not know, I must be stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
this is the first none-fiction classic I've had a go at and still haven't finished but, aside from how the old fashioned way of writing seems to at least double the word count, it's broken into reasonably sized sections that average joe like me can still enjoy reading. it gives a good understanding of the lengths darwin went to in understanding and proving his theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but cheap, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Lewis H (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
Yes, the book is "On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life" and was written back in the mid 1800s, which would account for how hard to read it is, but get past that it's a solid and well written book that explains everything very well, even for people that don't know much about evolution or Darwin, which shows that it is a brilliant learning tool.

I rated it 3 stars because, as the title suggests, I seemed to have received a poorly made copy of the book. There's several ink stains along the top of the outside of the first 100 pages, and pages 381 to 396 aren't glued into the book properly so fall out as you read. It's not too hard to look past these two flaws in the book, especially since the price is so cheap, but if you need this book for students, or to use in the classroom I would advise you get Hardbacks, or at least a better version; since this book is pretty easy to tear and destroy and children seem to be the best at that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that changed the world, 30 May 2014
By 
teatime (directly above the centre of the earth) - See all my reviews
A book that changed the world, Darwin is to biology what Newton is to physics. Although the idea has progressed considerably since this book was written (Darwin had no knowledge of DNA) it is still worth reading such a wonderfully written and important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of ten.., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
A scientific classic and an absolute joy to read.. This book should be required reading for every religious nut on the planet..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Budget edition - Kindle and paperback, 12 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can one say about the content? Nothing which hasn't been said zillions of times before. Typical Victorian style - wordy and over long but of course astonishingly insightful in to many of the facts and theories that we take for granted nowadays.

The volume? - well let us say, its for the budget conscious. American edition spelling, modest number of typos (although many more in the Kindle version of the same edition), typical paperback printing. Fine if you just want to read the text, as I did. If you want a collectors edition, look elsewhere and pay more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
This book really inspires me, as it shows both the human need to investigate and how when shown proof we can come to our own conclusions.
Everyone obviously already knows about the theory of evolution, but it is worth the read to see how Darwin came to the conclusion.
I'd recommend it to anybody really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy, 6 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches". I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that recent pieces of knowledge were not available to Charles Darwin this book could have been written last week. Having to look from the outside without the knowledge of DNA or Plate Tectonics, he pretty much nailed how the environment and crossbreeding would have an effect on natural selection. Speaking of natural selection, I thought his was going to be some great insight to a new concept. All it means is that species are not being mucked around by man (artificial selection).

If you picked up Time magazine today you would find all the things that Charles said would be near impossible to find or do. Yet he predicted that it is doable in theory. With an imperfect geological record many things he was not able to find at the writing of this book have been found (according to the possibilities described in the book.)
The only draw back to the book was his constant apologizing. If he had more time and space he could prove this and that. Or it looks like this but who can say at this time. Or the same evidence can be interpreted 180 degrees different.

In the end it is worth reading and you will never look at life the same way again.

The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches (Penguin Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origin of Species (Collins Classics), 20 Jun 2013
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent edition of Charles Darwin's epoch changing book, now regarded as a surrogate Bible by millions around the world; who insist that his theory be taught as 'fact' in modern schools, despite the many deliberate lies/falsifications devout Neo-Darwinian believers have attempted to establish as 'scientific truth'.

From Piltdown Man through Haeckel's drawings and Lysenko's Doctrine to the recent 'Global Warming' scam, recent historical record is FULL of these 'scientific' frauds being foisted on the public. But why should so many intelligent individuals be prepared to conceal/destroy knowledge they know to be true, while promoting doctrinaire nonesense they know to be lies?

The publication by Charles Darwin in 1859 of his excellent book:- The Origin of Species (Collins Classics)threw the Western World into a spiritual/psychological crisis, from which it has never really recovered. Darwin accurately observed that all living things can adapt to the effect of external pressures IE: changes in the habitat, food supply, prevailing weather conditions etc... From these observations he reasoned that all the varieties of life on this planet might originally have been descended from only one original source, existing in the distant past. He clearly understood the potentially damaging social effects this idea might have; and also the possibility that he may have been innaccurate, as can be seen from the quotes shown below:-

"A fair result can be obtained only by fully stating and balancing the facts and arguments on both sides of each question." - Charles Darwin"

"The mystery of the beginning of all things is insoluble by us; and I for one must be content to remain an agnostic." - Charles Darwin

"...I feel most deeply that the whole subject is too profound for the human intellect. A dog might as well speculate on the mind of Newton.- Let each man hope & believe what he can." - Charles Darwin

Unfortunately, Darwin's 'Survival of the Fittest' Theory, with it's racist/white supremist attitudes, was exactly what the Victorian Era political Establishment needed; a 'scientific' ideology that underpinned their Imperialist conquest/colonisations around the world. Darwinism was thus seized upon, accepted as 'unarguable truth' and rapidly elavated to the status of a new 'scientific religion', intended by it's Victorian believers to replace Christianity. Quote:-

"I could show fight on natural selection having done and doing more for the progress of civilization than you seem inclined to admit. Remember what risk the nations of Europe ran, not so many centuries ago of being overwhelmed by the Turks, and how ridiculous such an idea now is! The more civilised so-called Caucasian races have beaten the Turkish hollow in the struggle for existence. Looking to the world at no very distant date, what an endless number of the lower races will have been eliminated by the higher civilized races throughout the world." - Charles Darwin

Without meaningfull knowledge of the 'simple' cell, let alone of DNA, chromosomes and/or Genetic Science, but with evidence of European civilisation's supremacy apparent from a glance at the newspapers; the later Victorian Era was Darwinism's hey-day. Millions of the most well-educated accepted the new 'scientific' Darwinism, exactly as Protestantism had been accepted following Martin Luther's 95 Theses being made public knowledge in 1522. And for the same reasons; Darwinism seemed to answer the questions of the day far better than the backward looking Victorian Christianity it challenged.

Unfortunately, the grimmer reality of Darwinian 'selection' became clear to all following the defeat of Nazi Germany (the first truly Darwinian Govt. of the 20th Century) in 1945. With the victorious Allied Media exulting in the horrors of Auschwitz, Belsen and the rest, tens of millions of believing Darwinists faced an unwelcome choice that Luther's devotees were spared. Re-edit whole sections of the original doctrine OR accept evil as the natural condition of man.

Since then we've seen this editing process within the Neo-Darwinian Scientific establishment occuring on an ever greater scale, even as the advance of molecular/genetic science casts increasing doubt on the entire philosophy. That's why today's devout Neo-Darwinists trumpet:- "It is not the strongest or the most intelligent who will survive but those who can best manage change." BUT at the same time attempt to conceal/discredit and even destroy irreplacable scientific evidence that exposes flaws in the central Darwinist doctrine itself (See:- Rebuttal to the Rumor that I Destroyed a Paluxy Track - Copyright 1998 by Glen J. Kuban)

This situation is a modernday re-run of that facing devout Catholics after the Protestant Reformation. Millions of devout Catholics did not wish to abandon the 'faith of their father's', but ultimately found themselves forced to suppress ever more obviously beneficial human intellectual development, in order to 'conceal' the increasingly obvious flaws in Medieval Catholic doctrine.

As Darwin explained however:- "it is those who know little, not those who know much, who so positively assert that this or that problem will never be solved by science."

The publications listed below are just a few of the many scientific exposes of today's failing Neo-Darwinian faith/doctrine, just as Luther and Darwin's works exposed the failed doctrine/dogmas of their ages:-

The Science Delusion - Rupert Sheldrake.
Why Us?: How Science Rediscovered the Mystery of Ourselves - James Le Fanu.
Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target: A Critique of the New Atheism - C Lennox.
Where the Conflict Really Lies: Science, Religion, and Naturalism - Alvin Plantinga
Mind and Cosmos: Why the Materialist Neo-Darwinian Conception of Nature is Almost Certainly False - Thomas Nagel
The Myth of Junk DNA - Jonathan Wells
Signature in the Cell: DNA and the Evidence for Intelligent Design - Stephen Meyer
The Politically Incorrect Guide to Darwin and Intelligent Design (Politically Incorrect Guides) - Jonathan Wells
The Devil's Delusion: Atheism and Its Scientific Pretensions - David Berlinski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
Thanks! This is going to make a great present for my friend! I'm sure he'll love it! and he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Origin of Species (Collins Classics)
The Origin of Species (Collins Classics) by Charles Darwin (Paperback - 1 Oct 2011)
2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews