Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but left me slightly frustrated
OK, this might be a personal thing but I really felt the lead (Katie) ended up with the wrong fella! Won't say too much here about that as don't want to spoil it before you read it, but it was the one bug bear I had with this. Apart from that really loved it - easy to read, devoured it in a day as couldnt put it down and really cared about the characters to the point of...
Published on 22 Oct 2006 by H. Jones

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment
Having been impressed by two of Colgan's previous books, Talking To Addison and Do You Remember The First Time?, I was looking forward to her most recent title, Where Have All The Boys Gone?
As with many books of this genre, the book's premise of a London PR girl leaving behind all her mod-cons in order to embrace the "great outdoors" seemed slightly contrived...
Published on 2 Sep 2005 by lozenge85


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but left me slightly frustrated, 22 Oct 2006
By 
H. Jones "madpixie" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, this might be a personal thing but I really felt the lead (Katie) ended up with the wrong fella! Won't say too much here about that as don't want to spoil it before you read it, but it was the one bug bear I had with this. Apart from that really loved it - easy to read, devoured it in a day as couldnt put it down and really cared about the characters to the point of crying at one point. Can we have a sequel please? (or if there is one, someone let me know! lol).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 2 Sep 2005
Having been impressed by two of Colgan's previous books, Talking To Addison and Do You Remember The First Time?, I was looking forward to her most recent title, Where Have All The Boys Gone?
As with many books of this genre, the book's premise of a London PR girl leaving behind all her mod-cons in order to embrace the "great outdoors" seemed slightly contrived. However, I was willing to give it a go, based on Colgan's earlier accomplishments...
I do not wish to spoil it for those who have not yet read it, so I will simply say that it starts off "ok" (for want of a better adjective!), lulls tremendously in the middle, but is thankfully recovered in the final third of the book. At this point, I was happy to find I couldn't put it down, as I wanted to see how everyone ended up.
It's not a bad book, but I was actually bored whilst reading a large proportion of it. Nonetheless, if you work through it as I did, you'll be pleasantly surprised at the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average read, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
I have read all of Jenny Colgan's books but have felt that the last few have not really lived up to the promise of Amanda's wedding and talking to Addison. This novel focuses on how difficult it is for women to find a man in London and when the two heroines are sent off to a remote Scottish Village mainly inhabited by men how their life changes. The story is very predictable with a few giggles along the way but not really a page turner. Fine for a sunbed read but if you're in to chick lit go for something a but meatier like Lisa Jewell or Adele Parks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A harmless, fun book, 25 Mar 2006
I really enjoyed reading this.
It's not a book that will keep you guessing or provide any intellectual challenge, but if you're looking for an afternoon with a relaxing book then this is it.
While the plot is a little weak, the characters are mostly lovable and the pace (at only ~200 pages) doesn't keep you waiting. It also DOES give a decent insight into the modern girls life. There is nothing profound... but it takes a few (valid) shots at the "work hard, play hard" lifestyle.
I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good relaxing read with no taxing twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amusing, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lightweight and amusing, chick lit, you do not have to think when reading it at all.however it is funny and positive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual warm hearted read that gives plenty of giggles and fairy tail ending. Would recommend it as nice easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a great read, 21 July 2014
I ended up giving up on this about a third of the way in as the characters were largely quite annoying and unlikeable and it wasn't a great read. What a shame, as Jenny Colgan's other books have been enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fatuous, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously written for a very young readership. Immature characters with one-track minds. Couldn't get past the first couple of chapters. Not for a more mature reader - or even a younger one with half a brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny - absurd, improbable, but very very funny!, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's more than a touch of the absurd in Where Have All the Boys Gone - but Colgan carries if off nicely. And despite the humor, I still managed to care about the characters and how things moved along. Oh sure, you can see who the "big couple" will be well in advance of the end of the book - but even that takes a sweet and unexpected turn. Great book for forgetting your troubles - sweet and funny at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where have all the boys gone?, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read other books by Jenny Coglan I found this very disappointing. The plot was very predictable and the whole story completely ridiculous. Definitely not one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where Have All the Boys Gone
Where Have All the Boys Gone by Jenny Colgan (Paperback - 12 May 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews