Customer Reviews


2,312 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,820)
4 star:
 (323)
3 star:
 (103)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit: JRR Tolkien - The greatest children's book ever.
JRR Tolkien's `The Hobbit' is, of course, one of the greatest children's books to have been written in the twentieth century. Based on the stories he told to his children and originally published in 1937, it is an almost perfect blend of fantasy, magic and adventure. It follows the adventures of one Bilbo Baggins, as he sets off with thirteen dwarves and a wizard to...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Victor

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Audio Play: ok, but not the best treatment of The Hobbit
AMAZON TAKE NOTE: Because this version is so different from the book I think Amazon are wrong to lump all the reviews together and treat them as a single product. This will confuse buyers and create inaccurate ratings.

---

This version of The Hobbit is an audio play first broadcast by the BBC in 1968 (it is NOT an audiobook - ie someone reading the...
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by Sinbad


‹ Previous | 1187 188 189232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars still loved by children today, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
A classic, still loved by children today. A story of courage and friendship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality prelude to LOTR, 19 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book many years ago, after being introduced to it by my girlfriend. Well, I knew she obviously had great taste (mm, bighead), but I was very pleased this extended to Tolkien's works. I was charmed by the narrative, clearly intended to be read to or by children, and the story links neatly with the epic Lord of the Rings. I particularly liked the imagery of the journey to the dragon's lair, the encounter with Gollum and the innocent naievity of Bilbo, being so out of depth and uncertain as to how to fulfill his role in the venture. I would recommend this book to anyone of any age to be appreciated for what it is; an extremely well-crafted children's fantasy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a nice suprise, 28 April 2008
By 
P. Adams (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book having loved the Lord of The Rings Trilogy films. I had attempted to read Tolkiens LOTR novel years ago, before the films , and found I couldnt get into it at all. Being a 43 year old male who loves action/adventure,crime/thrillers etc.. I bought this book with some trepidation but since I loved the films so much, I thought Id give it a go.
I thoroughly enjoyed it.Yes it is a childrens book, but like the Harry Potter series(which I also suprisingly enjoyed), I found it very entertaining and fairly timeless.I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beast, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
It was good and and and and and and and and and there was guys in it a a a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our family favourite!, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
A book that doesn't need reviewing or recommending! Our family favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, great edition, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story as we all know/should know is brilliant so I wont go into that here. The edition is also very good, it's just the right size - not annoyingly oversized. Everything feels high quality from the maps to the paper, to the lovely original cover illustration. Difficult to fault it in any way really except that it's quite difficult to read with the dust jacket on as it slides around quite a lot. But this really is such a tiny quibble - don't let it put you off buying one of the best books of the century in one of it's best editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
a great book..my first ever book read as a child.. good to read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... it was described by the seller and is of perfect quality., 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HOBBIT (Paperback)
The item is as it was described by the seller and is of perfect quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Don't watch the film - and waste your life - read the book. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
No vampires and no werewolves and no sultry teen angst. Thank goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1187 188 189232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit, or, There and Back Again
The Hobbit, or, There and Back Again by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 1 Jan. 1991)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews