Customer Reviews


732 Reviews
5 star:
 (448)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


196 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When All Else Fails, Only Hope Remains
The cruelty of the human race never fails to amaze me. I have no doubt that Solomon Northup's narrative is as accurate as it can be, but the content of this book is truly shocking. This glimpse into African American enslavement is one of horror and shows just how brutal man can be to his fellows.

Solomon is captured and enslaved against his will, removed from...
Published 14 months ago by Anari

versus
42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor edition
This is a fascinating book, but this edition is a hard copy of an e-book edition from Digireads.com, and like many ebooks it's full of typing errors. Some are so bad you can't even guess what the word is even meant to be, and the frequency of errors starts to grate after the first couple of chapters. I have decided to throw it away and buy a good, honest, old-school...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Richard75


‹ Previous | 132 33 3474 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars compelling read, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i thought it was a bit slow at first but once I got into it I found it to be compelling reading. i have not finished it yet but nearly there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On time!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a last minute desision and I got it right away. Perfect gift for the avid reader. Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful and heart-wrenching story, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
The fact that this is not only a true story but is written by Solomon himself makes it hard and harrowing reading. The only reason I didn't give it 5-stars (it is definitely a 5-star story) is that it is written (quite naturally) in the language of an Amerian gentleman in the 1860's so is a little harder to understand. Having said that this is, without doubt, a 'can't put it down' book. A Must Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This true story is quite horrific in places and some of the punishments handed out to slaves beggars belief. But it is a story that should be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Brutal Truth, 3 Mar 2014
By 
V. Kamruddin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of the Slave Trade. It is an authentic account by a free blackman who was kidnapped and sold into slavery in America. Far more detailed than the somewhat sanitized film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this as a prelude to seeing the move. Although it is related in the language of the time I found it very readable. It does make you consider man's inhumanity to his fellow man & just how casually dehumanising the slave states were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative book. Harrowing in places, but written in a journalistic matter of fact manner. I recommend it highly. ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual book much better than the film but still deserves all the accolades it receives, really moving true story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well deserved 5 stars, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book love it from start to finish I havent seen the film yet ithink it would be very hard to bear tihe book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slavery, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much even though it was a terrible account of one man's hell to get back to his normal life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3474 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics)
Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) by Solomon Northup (Paperback - 6 Feb 2014)
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews