Customer Reviews


336 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


195 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When All Else Fails, Only Hope Remains
The cruelty of the human race never fails to amaze me. I have no doubt that Solomon Northup's narrative is as accurate as it can be, but the content of this book is truly shocking. This glimpse into African American enslavement is one of horror and shows just how brutal man can be to his fellows.

Solomon is captured and enslaved against his will, removed from...
Published 10 months ago by Anari

versus
42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor edition
This is a fascinating book, but this edition is a hard copy of an e-book edition from Digireads.com, and like many ebooks it's full of typing errors. Some are so bad you can't even guess what the word is even meant to be, and the frequency of errors starts to grate after the first couple of chapters. I have decided to throw it away and buy a good, honest, old-school...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Richard75


‹ Previous | 132 33 34 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Paperback)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book not as good as film, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
Usually the book is better than the film but this time not the case. I don't need to know how to plant cotton or sugar cane in the details that the book goes into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
By 
Ms. M. L. Gittins "Mandy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) (Paperback)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars boring, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave (Paperback)
The book was boring bit like the film not very clear on times and dates etc very slow read long in words short in content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 12years Slave, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this book but not seen the film. We all have our choices of what makes a good book, that's why I hesitate to give my opinion of a book that does not rate as high as expectation.There are pages of explanation of cotton picking and the like, which frankly gave me the feeling of padding out content and not fitting into the story line at all. I found the book rather disappointing, but other readers may not have the same opinion, and may well enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not yet read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 34 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics)
Twelve Years a Slave: A True Story (Collins Classics) by Solomon Northup (Paperback - 6 Feb 2014)
2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews