Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good 'ol George?
I bought this book as I have a general interest in the 'other' cyclists of the Armstrong era. George was finally backed into a corner and forced to admit his doping past despite not failing a test. As the rider who seemed closest to Lance I was almost determined not to like him and take a cynical view of his story. But I have to say this is a very well written book, even...
Published 23 days ago by SideBurn

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure apologism
Hincapie was a rider of huge ability but this book is just an attempt to whitewash his involvement with Armstrong. He lets himself off far too easily, claiming he decided to go clean as early as 2006, something few will believe credible, then tries to set himself up as a paragon of clean riding. Pah.

This is one for the cycling historians but it's ethically...
Published 3 months ago by Dourscot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure apologism, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Loyal Lieutenant (Hardcover)
Hincapie was a rider of huge ability but this book is just an attempt to whitewash his involvement with Armstrong. He lets himself off far too easily, claiming he decided to go clean as early as 2006, something few will believe credible, then tries to set himself up as a paragon of clean riding. Pah.

This is one for the cycling historians but it's ethically vapid. Avoid unless you really want to hear a former pro excuse himself and find that entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a cheese sandwich, 1 Jun 2014
This should be one of THE books of the era given this guy's position. It's not. It's a cheese sandwich : aka banal. And it's such an American book : sanitised, skimmed and no depth. It's the equivalent of all those crap airport corporate strategy "bestsellers".

Robotic nice guy George is very good a cycling and has the obligatory keen father. Is talent spotted, gets contract, meets Lance, finds and is happy with no2 role although sometimes it's a bit tiring being a pro cyclist. Slips effortlessly into taking drugs but did not really inhale. Team does well. PEDs come under fire. Gets caught up but by then is clean and very keen on cleaning up the sport. Proves to be an fffing brilliant chaperone to two more of the eras cycling greats. Quits the sport because it's getting to that time and because of fed PED pressure. Makes friends again with LA (though never really explains why they fell out).

Well yes I guess that must then be the skeleton but ye gads the guy lived through - in the MIDDLE - of very interesting times but about which he has actually very little to say (in this book anyway). I simply don't believe he is so vanilla.

It's written far too soon and far too aplogetically. There IS a very interesting character with his own unique and very real brilliance ... but you will not find him in this book. Oh George.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good 'ol George?, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I have a general interest in the 'other' cyclists of the Armstrong era. George was finally backed into a corner and forced to admit his doping past despite not failing a test. As the rider who seemed closest to Lance I was almost determined not to like him and take a cynical view of his story. But I have to say this is a very well written book, even without the 'doping' bits it is an interesting auto-biography, well illustrated with contributions from other riders. For this reason I have to give it 5 stars.. reluctantly.
As far as the doping is concerned I have to take a cynical view of his claim to have a naturally high red blood-cell count. A quick Google of the condition suggests that far from being an athletes dream, it is a serious and debilitating condition with poor life expectancy; he does not appear to be on his last legs, he claims to have inherited the condition from his mum...
I also had a feeling I had read the book before, some passages had a familiar ring, I am not sure where from. His confession reads a bit like David Miller's in that he claims to have stopped doping before he was forced to. He seems to have sacrificed some of his results, saying he doped, whilst claiming that the results he is most proud of were achieved 'clean', I suppose we will never know the full story.
But I have to say that I finished the book thinking good 'ol George, a man who worked hard played hard and has the scars to prove it. I am pleased I read the book and am happy to recommend it to others even if George is a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never quite gets there, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Michael Watson (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Loyal Lieutenant (Hardcover)
I've had this book for a couple of weeks now and unlike others on the post LA doping subject, I just can't get into this one.
I think part of the problem is that George has wheeled out a whole host of current top names to add little snippets in the book and how great George is and what an influence he has been on their lives. George does as good a job congratulating himself as they do too so the book is really about how super duper Big George was/is.
He never really gets to grips with the doping issue, instead making excuses (as they all have) about the fact he 'had to do it' and he never tries to distance himself from the culture either. Maybe he's too loyal?
George starts to take the credit as the architect of change within the pro peleton. He makes some veiled claims that he started the clean up after an epiphany but prior to this he was cheating 'only a little bit'. He would only cheat when it was absolutely necessary it seems and then only a little bit of EPO, testosterone and blood. That's still cheating mate.
I really wanted this book to be an expose of life inside the Armstrong Camp, the doping culture and the life of a Super Domestique. Instead its a self congratulatory book of excuses with nothing new. Like I said, I've had this for 2 weeks and I can't really be bothered to read the final few chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forever the loyal lieutenant, 22 July 2014
By 
Bateman (Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Loyal Lieutenant (Hardcover)
Frankie, Tyler and landis all come in for a bit of a pasting from Hincapie. These are three of the largest names to come out against Lance. George does a good, if under stated job on them. They broke the silence after all (well, once they were caught). Like other reviewers don't believe the going clean story but then again, don't particularly care. In a sport where you can't pick a winner for the last 20 years due to drug use you become immune to it.

Some of the other reviewers that claim he is distancing himself from Lance obviously don't know their cycling history. This is a guy still riding to protect his legacy as well as Lances.

His biggest mistake in his career is choosing this ghost rider, again, wonder what planet some of the reviewers are on criticising his writing, he rides bikes, he doesn't write books.

In a time when the entire peloton was doped out of their brains (and as I write this, a wry smile crosses my face knowing conty has had to retire from the Tour, cleaned up my $&@?), he was again, one of the best of the drug takers.

And a bloody good cyclist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too loyal by half, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Ian Franklin "Justme" (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loyal Lieutenant (Hardcover)
Other reviewers have so far questioned the position on doping that Hincapie has taken. The tone was well set by Armstrong in his foreword. The foreword itself is the biggest load of cr@p I have read for a long long time. Lance uses the opportunity to acquit himself from all wrongs by simply explaining that they all did so he had no option. Surely Lance if they all rode their bicycles under the proverbial bus would you do so too? Hincapie reinforces this Armstrong lie. If Armstrong and Hincapie loved the sport as much as they claimed, then they would not have followed the d=crowd when they discovered they were getting 'dropped' because everyone was on the new PEDS except Motorola riders. Any decent human being would have gone straight to UCI and the press and blown the gaff (as they say). Armstrong's foreword, and by association, Hincapie's book, are both disingenuous to the extreme. All my respect for Hincapie has gone. He did himself no favours with the content (or indeed the format with it's annoying inserted paragraphs written as homilies by his friends to the great George). George was a great cyclist, of that we have no doubt. But I would question everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once a liar...., 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Loyal Lieutenant (Hardcover)
By his words in this book, and his actions over the last few years, George is revealing himself as the most cynical of a very cynical bunch. He continues to go to great lengths to a) gloss over his crimes (remember he stole races, earning opportunities and team spots from clean riders), b) blame others for his sins ("Frankie made me do it") and c) grab as much cash as he can from whatever way he can continue to exploit the erroneous St George myth. That he is still able to be involved with young riders, while hilariously claiming credit for ridding the sport of doping, is the biggest crime of all. Do not line this mans pockets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must read for ALL sports fans, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly amazing man what a great read I couldn't put the book down, his hard work and dedication to his family his team and his sport is a true inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing man, terrible book, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quotations interjected into the main text are irritating and break the flow of the story. The story itself doesn't really get going until well into the book and it's pretty shallow with no great revelations. I can't believe it accurately portrays a truly special career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great perspective from George and loved his time with HTC, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gritty read, great perspective from George and loved his time with HTC. He needs to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Loyal Lieutenant
The Loyal Lieutenant by Craig Hummer (Hardcover - 27 May 2014)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews