Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here
As I know one of the ladies who are portrayed in this book, I was interested to see what her life was like at the Butlin camp. I found all the stories equally fascinating and the synopsis of Billy Butlin also illuminating.
Published 6 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s ...
Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s and 60s. It tends to be repetitive as you read their accounts of life as redcoats.
Published 5 months ago by F. N. URE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I know one of the ladies who are portrayed in this book, I was interested to see what her life was like at the Butlin camp. I found all the stories equally fascinating and the synopsis of Billy Butlin also illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book and brought back so many lovely memory's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic memories, 20 July 2014
Really liked this book. It took me back to the times in the 70,s especially when I first went to Butlins as a teenager., also when we took our own children in later years. The Redcoats were always fantastic and my daughter who was 8 spent a lot of time collecting their autographed photographs and had her photo taken numerous times with as many as she could. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Redcoats A Winner., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely story of what the Redcoats did on and off duty. Each individual story is a pleasure to read, each story does overlap to a certain extent this is to be expected, but everyone's story is completely different starting off from when they were young, then teenagers, onto working at Butlins and what happened to them later in life.
Some of the accounts are so difficult to believe you would be forgiven for thinking they were fiction when you suddenly think my goodness this is fact and it really happened to them.
Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s ..., 4 Aug. 2014
By 
F. N. URE (Swansea UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s and 60s. It tends to be repetitive as you read their accounts of life as redcoats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it - Ex Redcoat Tracy 1989, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. T. A. Murten (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me right back - As an ex redcoat from Skegness 1989 - brought back lots of happy memories. In 1989 we worked just as hard and had the same experiences - the only thing that seemed to have changed was the wages - I got £60 per week (worked from 8am til midnight 6 days a week).
I loved every minute of it and still miss it - loved my Butlins family and we now have a reunion every year :)
Redcoat Tracy 1989
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Paperback)
great read, but some photos would have been an added bonus. Perhaps it was a copyright issue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy days of the old holiday camp billy butlin started ..., 12 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Paperback)
happy days of the old holiday camp billy butlin started it off the lives of these people were changed whenthey became red coats some to be famous others to just be there and enjoy them selves the jobs were busy and they had chance to meet their wife/husband or just have a mad fling good reminders of past hols at all in camps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing, 27 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Paperback)
Rather grim, the tackiness of Butlins and austerity of the 50's and 60's is very depressing. Repetitive stories of women all about the same age who all knew each other, and lead very boring lives, retold in quite a journalistic manner similar to articles in a woman's magazine or newspaper. Wish I hadn't wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Halcyon days, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
Molly (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Paperback)
Just lovely! Every story a story worth reading in it's own right ... I'd finish one and think 'Oh damn, this next story's not going to be a patch on hers' but within a paragraph I was hooked again. Read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews