Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
A top bloke and first rate cricketer. A great read. It makes you realise the dedication required by first class sportsmen.
Published 7 months ago by Lyndon Smith

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars at close of play
Got it as a present and not had anyfeed back, must be a must for any cricket nut.
Published 22 days ago by dennis brookes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
A top bloke and first rate cricketer. A great read. It makes you realise the dedication required by first class sportsmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book about a complex man, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
I was at Edgbaston the day that Ponting scored his 10,000th Test Run and the applause round the ground was testament to the regard in which he was held as a cricketer. I didn't like Ponting as a man, but I respected him as a cricketer, but this book changed that.

This is a fascinating book about an enigmatic and complex man. Ponting comes across as a top man, utterly driven in his desire to be the very best he can. This book also offers an intriguing insight into the Australian mentality about sports and the desire to win at all costs. Packed full of anecdote about some of the great cricketers of the modern generation, including Warne, Gilchrist, Tendulkar and Lara, this offers a no holds barred look behind the scenes of international cricket, through the eyes of one of the true greats of the game.

When I finished the book I was satisfied that I had read it, and would recommmend it to any cricket fan. A jolly good read all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inside the head of a great., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An honest account of a great cricketer. inside the head of a unique talent, we can only dream of what it must be like to be someone like that. This book helps us do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top Aussie bio, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
A book this size of a house brick.
Ricky does hide from the issues.
He just does like Duncan Fletcher, lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars at close of play, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
Got it as a present and not had anyfeed back, must be a must for any cricket nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE TRUE GREATS OF THE GAME, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST READS I HAVE DONE IN A WHILE HE IS VERY HONEST AND TAKES YOU THREW ALL AGES OF HIS CRICKET LIFE TO ME HE IS THE GREATEST BATSMEN EVER HE HAS HAD TOUGHER MATCHES THAN TENDULKAR AND HAS BATTED ON HARDER PITCHES THEN HE HAS TO ME HE WILL ALWAYS BE THE WORLDS GREATEST
I FELT SAD WHEN I FINISHED THIS BOOK WHICH TOOK ME JUST SHORT OF A WEEK
I LOVE ENGLAND WINNING THE ASHES AND THE ONLY THING I EVER FEEL SORRY FOR WAS WE WAS GOOD WHEN RICK PLAYED AS HE DESERVED EVERYTHING AS A PLAYER TO ME THE GREATEST CAPTAIN AND PLAYER EVER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for such a large book, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for a cricket fanatic. I am sure that this large book will provide him many hours of enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At close of play, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
As this was a Christmas gift , I unable to comment on whether it was liked or not, hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ricky Ponting, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Close of Play (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my son as a Xmas present so I am unable to give you my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the Close of Play
At the Close of Play by Ricky Ponting (Paperback - 5 Jun 2014)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews