Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2014
I was at Edgbaston the day that Ponting scored his 10,000th Test Run and the applause round the ground was testament to the regard in which he was held as a cricketer. I didn't like Ponting as a man, but I respected him as a cricketer, but this book changed that.

This is a fascinating book about an enigmatic and complex man. Ponting comes across as a top man, utterly driven in his desire to be the very best he can. This book also offers an intriguing insight into the Australian mentality about sports and the desire to win at all costs. Packed full of anecdote about some of the great cricketers of the modern generation, including Warne, Gilchrist, Tendulkar and Lara, this offers a no holds barred look behind the scenes of international cricket, through the eyes of one of the true greats of the game.

When I finished the book I was satisfied that I had read it, and would recommmend it to any cricket fan. A jolly good read all round.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
A top bloke and first rate cricketer. A great read. It makes you realise the dedication required by first class sportsmen.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
644 pages of small (paperback) print. Pretty daunting at first sight but he has avoided a ‘blow by blow’ account and once you get started it’s an excellent read. Like some other reviewers I gradually warmed to RP who, certainly in the UK, has a somewhat ‘pantomime villain’ reputation. His family clearly means a lot to him and there are several interesting passages when he discusses the pressure felt by him and other players when away from their family for long periods.
Just a few ‘insights’:
1. Whose idea was it to print the ‘insights’ on a black background? Daft.
2. He DID mention Somerset, pace reviewer James Minifie (pp. 342 and 671-2 in the stats section). No mention of Somerset in the index, however.
3. I found the constant use of nicknames a bit irritating (eg - guys like Bic, Mabo, Hoggy and Symmo) but it does indicate the togetherness of the Australian team, though RP does not hesitate to point out times when this appeared to be less so.
4. You will pick up a number of Australian slang expressions – I was more dirty on the hundred missed than happy with the 56 scored; I was briefly cranky for playing a dud shot; I was sweet with that (a decision); … the blue I had on the plane with Paul Reiffel; … an idea that was only euchred when the Test finished a day early.
5. Lots of interesting stats.
6. A good range of colour photos, with several of his family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
An honest account of a great cricketer. inside the head of a unique talent, we can only dream of what it must be like to be someone like that. This book helps us do that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Bit long, but the guy did play for about 45 years. When I'd read it I had a new found admiration for Ricky and he comes across as a decent guy - although whoever wrote an autobiog and made themselves look like a plank?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
So far so good, excellent read, massive book, so only 200 pages in and now he has just broke into Aussies team, interesting stuff about an all time great. Great price and for a used book in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Great book from a truly great Aussie batsman and captain.
Loved watching him play England and loved reading his book.
Was a great read even for a Pom!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
A massive read and a must for those who like to see behind the scenes at Test matches, told by a person who is totally believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
A great read - full of personal insights and views; by the end you really understand what makes him tick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Excellent read - a real insight into Australian Cricket and cricket in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)