Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed the book
really enjoyed the book. found it knpiring with lots of common sense ideas. has great links to free websites too. if embarking on learning a language, particularly your first, i would highly recommend you get this book.
Published 1 month ago by alan

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get out what you put in
I was really interested to read this as I already speak one foreign language and am learning another. To be honest, the content in this book could be summed up in a couple of chapters and I suspect most of it is on Benny's website (the end of every chapter has a link to his website for further information). It gets quite repetitive at times and the main message is about...
Published 5 months ago by Laura Walsham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get out what you put in, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
I was really interested to read this as I already speak one foreign language and am learning another. To be honest, the content in this book could be summed up in a couple of chapters and I suspect most of it is on Benny's website (the end of every chapter has a link to his website for further information). It gets quite repetitive at times and the main message is about immersion. While I agree with his points about using the internet and finding native speakers, not a lot of people have the time to dedicate to his style of learning.
All in all, I found some of the information helpful and did go to his site to look at more, but I'm not sure that this is particularly groundbreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Motivating, but not giving a clear language learning approach, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
I just finished reading the book. The book is great for motivating you to learn a language and Benny Lewis is quite an inspiration!

The media hype helped a lot in convincing me to buy the book. However, I wish this book had more practical examples of how I can approach learning a (only one) specific language. Perhaps I was hoping for a day by day to do list on how to learn a language in 3 months. Towards the end of the book the author gives some guidance on some languages, but the book is trying to cover too many languages and is too high level. The author uses the approach of immediately talking and doing skype calls etc which is fantastic, but I don't think the book has fully answered the question how I can memorise some of the words and genders. To be fair the author does give you examples of how he memorised words, but those approaches will never work for me. I am still uncertain on how to progress between learning words, doing fun things with the language and learning some grammar. I fully agree with the author's approach to learn the language before he travels to the country, this author is clearly realistic and has shared great experiences.

Highly motivating book (I almost gave it 4 stars), but I walk away from this book not knowing what approach to follow going forward. I think it helps to sign up to the author's website version, because Benny Lewis gives some really good advice on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes interesting, sometimes tedious., 22 May 2014
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
Whilst I enjoyed some parts of the book, I found the constant mention of his website very tedious.
Why not just list it at the beginning ? Every other sentence mentioned it. I get the message - visit your website.

Also found his manner irritating.

Did pick up some tips, but overall would not really recommend.

The book in a nutshell:
speak to people who speak the language you are wishing to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed the book, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
really enjoyed the book. found it knpiring with lots of common sense ideas. has great links to free websites too. if embarking on learning a language, particularly your first, i would highly recommend you get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splash of water, 9 April 2014
By 
Martin (Swindon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing. It has no secret techniques but real practical experience and a lot of debunking of myths.

The real gem of this book is not only in building a solid foundation for language learning, but building up a great enthusiasm for doing so.

A month in and my Russian is going strong, my enthusiasm is holding and my foundation is the best fallback, all thanks to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just what you would expect, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
This is a book that tells you that if you want to learn how to speak with foreign people, you should practice by speaking to them. There are no magic tricks involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Alan Fisk (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
This book contains a large number of very sensible and practical tips, which would be particularly useful for anyone who needs (not merely wants) to learn a language but is apprehensive about doing so. I think I would advise beginning the study of grammar a little earlier in the language-learning process than Benny does, but I agree with 99 per cent of his advice. There were some techniques that I had never heard of that I shall certainly use from now on. One criticism for the publisher (not the author), though: I hate the cheap newsprint paper on which the book has been printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 10 April 2014
By 
Vincent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
Definitely deserving of a five star ranking, and Benny's blog is also well worth following.

I've tried all sorts of language products looking for some way to make sense of the actual process of learning languages, to find some way to become fluent, but this book delivers the reality- that you need to speak it from the start! Great tips and approaches to becoming fluent. Of course, the title isn't meant to be a promise. The point is to really get into learning regardless of your situation, set goals, beat them, and then keep going. All the while, you will actually be SPEAKING the language just like you want to!

Go buy this book, choose the language you want to learn, and get ready to make achieving fluency a much more effective and enjoyable experience. You can hold up on the grammar book (at least for now) as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read!, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
Having sat in classes with people who have "studied" a language for years and are afraid to open their mouths I want to present this book to every one of them.

Benny recommends getting out of your comfort zone and speaking the lingo. You don't have to leave your country, nor even your home, just find someone on line. Fluent in 3 months doesn't say it will be easy, or that you don't have to put the work in, but that if the work is directed at speaking with a friendly native speaker you will go a long way to being fluent.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluent in 3 Months (Paperback)
Don't buy this book if you think it will make you fluent in any language in 3 months. This book is for people who continually procrastinate about learning another language and think that buying another book might help. And this might be the book that helps you. However, none of the information in this book is new and the vast majority of the advice is freely available on the internet. In summary, the advice from the book is: "speak the target language at every available opportunity" and "stop making excuses". All of this is freely available on the website of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fluent in 3 Months
Fluent in 3 Months by Benny Lewis (Paperback - 11 Mar 2014)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews