Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished
J.R.R. Tolkien's tales of Middle-Earth weren't restricted just to fantasy epic "Lord of the Rings." His life's work was spread over hundreds of stories and invented legends -- some were compiled into "The Silmarillion."
But some were left over -- yes, there were even more stories that didn't make the cut. These little odd bits make up "Unfinished...
Published on 28 Feb. 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for your completists!
I really did try! I love the classic books, but this was a step too far. That's not to say that you can't find some interesting stuff here. You have to dig though. Approach with extreme caution because this could end up spoiling your enjoyment of the classic stories because of overexposure. Saying that, I enjoyed seeing parts of stories from an alternate view. I had to...
Published 10 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful history of Middle Earth, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Kindle Edition)
To a person who was already a big fan of anything Tolkien, this extra portion of Middle Earth's history was indeed enjoyable and very informative. Granted, it is crucial that the reader required an already heavy knowledge of information of both 'The Lord of the Rings', 'The Silmarillion' and even 'The Children of Hurin', as mentioned in the forward by Christopher Tolkien, but each section will answer many questions which many fans have sought the answers for.
While reading however, I sometimes found it difficult to read, but this is to expected in a Tolkien book. Overall, it was a very good read and I will enjoy reading it once more some time in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More insight into the tales of Tolkien, 3 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Paperback)
The stories in this volume are meant to give more insight into Characters and events in Tolkien's Tales. These are meant to give readers more ideas of how things have happened. There are several versions of some tales to let people see how each story developed, or completely new stories as in Aldarion and Erendis. This story gives readers more details of Numenor which most readers would not know much about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love History, but not of this earth..., 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Kindle Edition)
WW2 and English Civil War... all extremely interesting, but when Tolkien unleashes his world created from his own imagination you can't help but read on and on and on. You will learn of Legendary figures, epic battles, languages, God's and Evil deeds. At the end you will probably wish that it was real as it has a sense of purpose to the entire depiction of Middle Earth and Beleriand that is hard to find in reality, you may find yourself being immersed and hunting for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For LOTR fans, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Paperback)
If you want to know more about the world Tolkien created and have already read LOTR and The Silmarillion, this book gives further insight with some great descriptions and short stories. Some parts are a little disjointed as they are extra scribblings of Tolkien's on various characters, places etc, but Christopher Tolkien has done a good job of editing.

If you are a fan this is totally worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, this is a very, very nice edition of a somewhat hard book to find in the bookstores.
I still did not read it, but I love the presentation. It is definitely a worth item for my shelf!
Very nice pictures as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The shipping was pretty long. But it was worth the time waiting for it. The book is almost my most precious thing. Héhé.
I take back a star for the overall aspect of the book, which looked a bit used and not very new. But I'm still satisfied with this book. A wonderful tale to read when you are a Tolkien fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a pleasure for the senses and the imagination, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
H. B. Lulham "Nanny Oggins" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Deluxe Slipcase Edition) (Collectors Edition) (Hardcover)
What can I say! Lovely thick creamy paper with a silky finish. More tales from Tolkien,and that wonderful smell of a new book!
It's a pleasure for the senses and the imagination.

My one criticism is the silk bookmark has begun to fray after only a month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth and imagination, 7 July 2007
By 
Charles Edge "A real critic" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Paperback)
J.R.R. Tolkien was a man with the utmost respect for the genre in which he reigned as king. This stunning book simply adds to the incredible tapestry that he has woven so expertly, allowing for a greater understanding of the fantastic tales of Middle-earth. The stories span from a very in depth view of the meeting Galadriel and Celeborn in Doriath to an extended version of the Children of Hurin, which was covered in brief in the Silmarillion and which has now been expanded even further to comprise a whole book of it's own, something the story certainly merits. Further chapters of interest are those concerning the Istari (Wizards) and the history of the Palantiri.

This is a book that adds to the history of Middle-earth, a must have for any budding Tolkienist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicest edition of unfinished tales, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Deluxe Slipcase Edition) (Collectors Edition) (Hardcover)
Great edition of Unfinished tales. You're probably only buying this edition if you are a fan or collector, and have already read the book. The book is great quality and matches the other de luxe editions perfectly. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY GOOD READ!!, 27 July 2013
This review is from: Unfinished Tales (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book for that Tolkien fan looking for that little bit extra depth, knowledge and history of some of our favourite characters of Middle Earth!

This book is an investment (as are all Tolkien books)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unfinished Tales (Deluxe Slipcase Edition) (Collectors Edition)
Unfinished Tales (Deluxe Slipcase Edition) (Collectors Edition) by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - 5 Dec. 2013)
£48.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews