Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a gifted family!
I thought this was an excellent addition to the Diana Wynne Jones canon. It is sad that she didn't live long enough to finish it herself but her sister did an excellent job of completing it, and the touching explanation she provided at the end was interesting and poignant. I certainly couldn't see the 'join'. It makes me think that her sister should write novels too...
Published 15 months ago by Ms Louise Wilford

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modified rapture
Much of this is fine. I was worried that the difference between Diana's own writing and that of her sister, who completed it after Diana's death, would obtrude, but I really couldn't see the join. Ultimately, though, as with most of her last few books, it doesn't even approach the standard of the classic DWJs: it takes a long time to get to its destination, and then,...
Published 15 months ago by S Sims


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modified rapture, 9 April 2014
By 
S Sims "Sue Sims (Bournemouth)" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Islands of Chaldea (Hardcover)
Much of this is fine. I was worried that the difference between Diana's own writing and that of her sister, who completed it after Diana's death, would obtrude, but I really couldn't see the join. Ultimately, though, as with most of her last few books, it doesn't even approach the standard of the classic DWJs: it takes a long time to get to its destination, and then, after a brief bit of suspense, finishes. Worth reading, but (unless, like me, you're a DWJ completist) probably not paying a great deal to read. It's more Pinhoe Egg than Hexwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a gifted family!, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was an excellent addition to the Diana Wynne Jones canon. It is sad that she didn't live long enough to finish it herself but her sister did an excellent job of completing it, and the touching explanation she provided at the end was interesting and poignant. I certainly couldn't see the 'join'. It makes me think that her sister should write novels too! What a gifted family!

The story is interesting, with vivid characters, imaginative ideas, the typical Wynne Jones romance, and her characteristic combination of real-life and fantasy, the mundane and the fantastic. Highly recommended to all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A celebration of true magic, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Chris Lovegrove (Pembrokeshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Islands of Chaldea (Hardcover)
The late Diana Wynne Jones would have been 80 this year if she had been still with us. As always with posthumous novels the worry is, will this work be up to her usual standard, or will disappointment cloud the reputation that she painstakingly established for herself?

We find ourselves in on an alternate Earth, one of the author’s Related Worlds which are similar to but not the same as our own, chiefly because magic is always prevalent. The Islands of Chaldea (the real Mesopotamian polity of Chaldea was famed for its magicians) are Skarr, Bernica, Gallis and Logra, loosely based on Scotland, Ireland, Wales and England. The four countries, as well as being separated from each other by water, are further divided by a magical barrier that has for some years closed Logra off from the other three islands. On Skarr lives Aileen, a potential young Wise Woman who despairs of inheriting the talents that she is supposed to develop. Unexpectedly she is sent, with her Aunt Beck, idle princeling Ivar and servant Ogo, on a journey to Logra via Bernica and Gallis, to help resolve the situation and to fulfil a prophecy. We sense the classic premise of the lowliest achieving greatness through discovering and using innate gifts and skills.

Aileen, with green eyes and hair "the colour of toffee", is also the narrator, diminutive in stature but growing in maturity. She describes how she is sent with some odd companions and a disreputable crew to achieve an ill-defined quest, in which barriers galore -- and not just the magical one -- are placed in the way of success. First they arrive on the tiny island called Lone, where they encounter a rather peculiar creature. Next, they cross over to Bernica where they acquire another companion and another creature, as green as our own Emerald Isle is supposed to be. (There's an episode here involving humans turned into donkeys that recalls Petronius, Shakespeare, Kingsley and Collodi, who also riff on the theme.) They somehow get to Gallis where more companions join them, and yet another creature puts in an appearance. Then they have to find a way to surmount that final obstacle to reach Logra where, if the pattern holds, we must expect another beast to present another crucial piece of the puzzle. Will solutions be forthcoming?

Such a bald outline in no way does justice to the author's narrative skill, especially in her ability to recapture a young person's tone in relating a story. In addition, for those in the know, there is the delight of discovering how much she has drawn in the myth, legend and folklore of the British Isles to almost, dare one say it, make a political statement about individual cultures coexisting within shared traditions. And, in answer to the common question she got asked -- "Where do you get your ideas from?" -- her usual inventiveness is displayed in the way, magpie-like, she has picked up various shiny objects to line the nest of her story.

Let's start with the animals. The red winged lizard that appears in this story is associated with Gallis, not surprising as the emblem of Wales is a dragon. Less obvious is the talking green parrot that Aileen and her companions discover in Bernica (this name derived, of course, from an old name for Ireland). A green bird would be appropriate for Ireland, but why has the author hit on a non-native bird? Perhaps the legendary island called Hy Brasil to the west of Ireland suggested to her the modern country of Brazil, through which flows the Amazon; and in its jungles are the medium-sized green birds, good at imitating speech, called Amazon parrots.

The third of the four animals is a large cat, no ordinary beast this but one which can disappear at will, rather like the Cheshire Cat. With its 'long legs [and] small head' I wonder if a European lynx is meant rather than the Scottish wildcat, even though Aileen hails from the Chaldean equivalent of Scotland. The lynx apparently survived in Britain into the Dark Ages, and may have furnished a basis for the lions encountered in Arthurian legends as the Welsh Cath Palug ("clawing cat") and the chapulu of French Alpine lore. I think what confirms this for me is Aileen's nickname for the cat, Plug-Ugly. The Land of Lone where Plug-Ugly is found could represent the Isle of Man, but Jones has also woven in strands from folktales about the sunken land of Cantre'r Gwaelod, the Welsh Lowland Hundred that disappeared in Cardigan Bay as the result of human error.

And the fourth animal? Surely Diana drew on the traditional symbols of the four evangelists for inspiration here, coming up with the bull, symbol of St Luke, to represent Logra. (The parrot derives from St John's eagle and the cat from St Mark's winged lion; only the dragon deviates from St Matthew's man, though both of course have wings. Ultimately the four creatures derive from the cherubim who according to Ezekiel supported God's throne, appearing as man, lion, ox and eagle.)

Helpful Companions are the staple of traditional fairytales, where they aid the hero or heroine in accomplishing impossible tasks. Often they collectively form a group of seven, as here, and without them Aileen wouldn't be able to achieve her quest. For example, Aileen's Aunt Beck has the gift of visions; a wonderful character who must surely have been drawn from life, she unfortunately suffers from what appears to be a stroke -- though of course, this being a literary fairytale, this affliction is the traditional 'fairy stroke', the result of a malevolent spell, rather than the more lasting physical ailment that we know by the name. Meanwhile the Bernican monk called Finn is the owner of the wonderful parrot which gives more appropriate advice than is usual for these talking birds. Riannan from Gallis has the ability to sing spells, rather like her counterpart in Welsh tales who converses with birds, while her brother Rees infuses mechanical inventions with magic. And Ivar and Ogo have their own significant roles to play too.

Fairytales have their villains, and here the baddie is someone whose name aptly includes a Germanic element which means 'rule' or 'power'. We must be very grateful to Ursula Jones for finding a way to successfully resolve the very complex plot from a clue presented early on in Diana's incomplete manuscript. Ursula doesn't say what this clue is but I suspect it's the handing over of a purse, supposedly "for expenses" but of course nothing of the kind. I haven't yet spotted where the transition to a different author is, though I sense a change in style and pace around Chapter Fourteen. What is definitely Diana's contribution, however, is the introduction of a hot-air balloon into the plot. Bristol, where she lived, is host of a spectacular International Balloon Fiesta every summer, and she would have been very familiar with the sight of Montgolfier balloons floating across the river Avon and over Clifton.

<i>The Islands of Chaldea</i> is a love-letter to Britain, a hymn to hope and a celebration of true magic, which is the life of the imagination. While fans may regret her passing, whether as friend or author, this final novel is a fitting addition to the canon and one to be grateful for now that it has been completed in style.

Finally, I’d like here to report on a coincidence, if coincidence it is. Diana Wynne Jones and I shared a regular correspondent, the late Bill Russell. Bill, a professor emeritus of sociology, was president of the Pendragon Society, an Arthurian group for which I edited the journal. In spring 2005 I published an article I’d put together called ‘A Concise Arthurian Bestiary’ listing a number of creatures associated with Arthurian legends and folklore, including cat, dragon and parrot. Now Bill was in the habit of sending some of his complimentary copies of <i>Pendragon</i> to other correspondents, and as I’d included his review of Diana’s <i>Hexwood</i> in the same issue I suspect there’s every chance that he’d sent a copy of this to her. It’s distantly possible that her choice of featured animals in <i>The Islands of Chaldea</i> was influenced or at least confirmed by the mention of cat, dragon and parrot in the bestiary article – though admittedly more likely that Diana was already familiar with their associations.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The journey to Logra, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Islands of Chaldea (Hardcover)
When Diana Wynne-Jones passed away in 2011, she left behind a partly-finished book. It was left up to her sister Ursula to complete it.

And so the world receives the final enchanting novel by this wildly underrated author -- "The Islands of Chaldea," a clever and magical adventure across an alternate version of the British Isles. It's literally impossible to tell where Ursula worked on this book, because it seems so typical of her sister's style: cats, spells, domineering older relatives and strange conspiracies.

Years ago, magicians sealed off the land of Logra from the rest of the world, and somebody kidnapped the crown prince Alasdair. Now there is a prophecy making the rounds that if a wise woman travels through certain countries, with a man of each country, she will be able to make it into Logra. So the High King enlists wise woman Aunt Beck and wise-woman-in-training Aileen to make the journey.

And to represent the various lands, they have bratty Prince Ivar (whom Aileen wants to marry), despised orphan Ogo, and green monk Finn (who is the keeper of an oracular bird). Oh, and Plug-Ugly, a magical cat who develops a fondness for Aileen.

Unfortunately, a drunken queen casts a botched spell on Aunt Beck, which leaves the whole disastrous quest in Aileen's hands. But reaching Logra turns out to be the least of her problems -- because once their little gang gets past the barrier, they find themselves neck-deep in a deadly Logran conspiracy. To save them all, Aileen will have to summon all her knowledge of magic to save the day.

There's a bittersweet feel to "The Islands of Chaldea" that has nothing to do with the book itself, and everything to do with... well, unless another manuscript is found in a trunk, we'll never get another Diana Wynne Jones novel again. It's even sadder because this little story has so many glorious Jonesian flourishes -- we have a magic cat, quirky characters, secrets, and it's all on an alternate-universe version of Britain.

On a side note, Ursula Jones deserves a round of applause for not only finishing the book, but managing to pull off her sister's style. You literally cannot tell where Diana ends and Ursula begins.

That style is distinctly British, quick and clever, with very vivid descriptions ("It was laden with spells that were hanging over him in brown, lumpy strings, like dirty, badly spun wool") and lots of humorous moments (“Address me as Your Honour!”). And Aileen's quest through the various islands of Chaldea is a pleasant experience, as the characters careen through situations both grim and comic.

It doesn't hurt that almost all of the characters are pretty endearing, especially Aileen. This is an "ordinary" kid with powers beyond her knowledge, and who has more wise-woman knowledge than she realizes. She also has a lot of baggage, courtesy of her domineering aunt and a father she has never seen -- but her slow-blooming relationship with Ogo is pretty sweet. It's hard to see why she's ever determined to marry a brat like Ivar.

Ivar is mostly there for the comic relief, since bleating that he's a prince is pretty much his defense against everything. We're there for the competent characters -- the quirky and pious Finn, the endearing underdog Ogo, and the magical animals who are more than they seem. Well, one of them can turn invisible and teleport, and the other can tell the future... which is pretty interesting.

The problem? The final act is kind of rushed, introducing the main villain pretty late in the story. And the climactic battle is literally the last scene in the book. We rocket through it in a few pages, only to crash right into the coda. It could have used another chapter or so.

"The Islands of Chaldea" has a rushed ending, but the final novel by Diana Wynne-Jones is a bittersweetly enjoyable experience -- funny, fast-moving and beautifully written by Jones and her capable sister. Farewell, Diana. We'll miss you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful final novel, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a long time lover of all things Diana Wynne Jones and her death left me longing for more. This gap has been admirably and gloriously filled by her sister finishing The Islands of Chaldea which left me wishing for more unfinished manuscripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last act of a genius, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating adventure with many twists and turns, and tantalising hints of links to the countries of Britain in the names, characters and some national characteristics, and yet very different. While there were predictable clues to some plot elements, the conclusion was unexpected and yet satisfying.

I truly enjoyed this, and am only sorry that it is the last by one of my favourite authors, and that there will be no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beguiling tale, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Islands of Chaldea (Hardcover)
It was good to hear that Diana Wynne Jones had left another book, albeit uncompleted, when she died. And this one is excellent. it was finished by her sister, but it isn't obvious where one writer left off and the other took over - and by "not obvious" I mean, of course, "I couldn't tell".

So we get a breakneck adventure, as trainee Wise Woman Aileen (who has just failed her initiation) leaves her northern, mountainous island to try and lift a curse that has divided it from the neighbouring land of Logra. The four nations of Logra, Skarr, Bernica and Gallis, through which Aileen must travel, bear a suggestive likeness to England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales - but they are magical lands, filled with mysterious Guardians, drunken, spell casting queens and beautiful singers. Aileen copes, of course, with the madness and keeps her band of friends together until the final confrontation.

A high readable, funny, inventive and joy-filled book, this is a great memorial to Wynne Jones's long writing career. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diane Wynne Jones - her last fantasy, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Islands of Chaldea (Hardcover)
This is one of Diana Wynne Jones' last books and a delightful fantasy to read. She received a World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement in 2007, as well as two Mythopoeic Awards and the Guardian Fiction Award for Charmed Life.
This book was left unfinished in her last illness and finished by her sister. I couldn't see the join when her sister took over.
It's wonderful to have this book even though she is gone from us. Her humanity and wit still shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for one last DWJ!, 22 April 2014
By 
Marie O'R (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really sad when I heard that Diana Wynne Jones had passed away. I've been reading her books since I was 11 years old and now read them to my daughter. She wrote so really beautifully. I wasn't sure how well Ursula Jones would manage, finishing her sister's book but she has done a great job. The characters are as usual full of interest. The story is perhaps a little episodic, but that isn't really a downside. It is a really good story and a credit to Ursula Jones and I'm so glad that she gave me one last unexpected treat, a DWJ novel to enjoy, thanks Ursula!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well done to Ursula Jones for finishing this book. It is just what I would have expected. RIP Diana Wynne Jones and thank you for many delightful books over the years. I am a huge fan - I read them , read them aloud to my children, and shall read them to my grandchildren later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Islands of Chaldea
The Islands of Chaldea by Diana Wynne Jones (Hardcover - 27 Feb. 2014)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews