Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars84
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2011
I know that the English language is a wide and diversified thing, but I could not possibly have imagined that our twenty-six letter alphabet could be combined in quite so many different and, apparently, meaningful ways. This book is crammed with words that probably no-one other than a Scrabble buff would ever have heard of, let alone used in everyday conversation.

It is an absolute must if you play the game and don't have a photographic memory of the full OED in your head. Mix your tiles up and then look at the book to see if the jumble you have is actually a word - chances are pretty high that it will be!

Two slight negatives for me - I wish it had even just a brief explanation of what the words mean, although I guess that takes the twenty-odd volumes of the full dictionary to achieve, and a quick summary page showing all the valid two-letter words would be a real bonus. Otherwise, it does what it says on the tin - more so than you could believe without seeing it.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
This is the latest official (I hope!) list of acceptable Scrabble words. (Very useful, but be aware that this is just a list of the words, not a dictionary.) Quick and easy to refer to, nicely set out, with clear print. There are two sections. The first section contains alphabetical lists of all the two to nine letter words, while the ten letter, and above, words are listed separately in alphabetical order towards the end of the book. Lots of new words have been added. Pity that Scrabble has been 'dumbed down' to include dubious, words such as 'za' (short for pizza?) and 'ja'. I had never understood why 'jeu' (French for 'game'?) was included, but sadly it's still in there! At least there's a standard list I suppose. The book is worth having anyway as not only can you check to see if your (or your opponent's) word is okay, but it helps improve your knowledge of acceptable (if somewhat obscure) words!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
As the most recent authoritative arbiter of fair play many keen Scrabble players will not be able to enjoy playing without it. So for that limited market it is an immediate non-negotiable essential. For everyone else it is of no use at all. In terms of practical details it is larger and heavier than previous OSWs while seeming to waste quite a lot of space on each page. Sadly unlike some earlier editions it does not list 2-letter words and 3-letter words separately. For the right person a great Christmas present.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
For those of us who play Scrabble with free use of a dictionary, it is sad to say this new Collins edition of Scrabble Words is not as useful as the old Chambers edition. The type is smaller and not as bold, making it definitely more difficult to read. The 2- and 3-letter word dictionaries at the back have been eliminated. Instead of the old, handy, under-500 page book, it has now become a hefty 1184 page tome which is downright heavy and difficult to handle. The reason for the more than doubling is size is that a separate almost-500 page compendium of ten to fifteen letter words has been added to the back of the book. (How often does anyone play a ten-or-more letter word in Scrabble?) The two- to nine-letter list has ballooned by over 200 pages to just under 700. Would that they had just added or deleted words, but left the format the same. However if you want a list of acceptable Scrabble words, there is no choice. Unless, of course, you buy a used copy of the old Chambers edition and forget being up-to-date.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
A great book for looking up new words but the 10 to 15 letter word lists at the end of the book are really superfluous to requirements and make the book physically very heavy to pick up. The paper is also very thin to accommodate this and may, in time, tear easily. The only things that have spoiled what would otherwise have been an excellent book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2013
This compilation of words approved by WESPA (The World English-Language Scrabble Players' Association) has a tantalisingly brief one-page introduction. It seems that "addios" and "ciaos" are no longer accepted, as was formerly the case, but "blingy" and "mwah" are now "playable". In the search for high scoring words, qin, coxib, boxty, juvie, soz and figh are all allowed, but what do they all mean? The main shortcoming of this book is that we are not told, but I suppose that it would be too thick to open if we were. Then, of course, there are the "7's" to note: neetroot, noilier and snotrag!

Perhaps of more use for the amateurish player like myself, is the revelation of all the two letter words permissible, from "aa" to "za". The book consists in fact of two lists in alphabetical order, five columns a page: firstly two to nine letters, then ten to fifteen for those in a higher league.

Using this book has enhanced my scores, although to learn from it one has to bend the rules and let everyone consult it, which can slow down the pace of the game!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
This was such rubbish, it's the first book I've ever returned for a refund.

The book is unwieldy: 6cm thick. The words are printed too close to the margin, which means breaking the spine of the book to even see words on the inside column, and then it's difficult. And despite its apparently colossal number of words, it doesn't have standard, common, two-letter words like 'xi' (spelling of the Greek letter).

I thought it was time to refresh my 1988 copy of OSW with now yellowing pages, but it's so much better than this edition. I have absolutely no idea how this book has been given five stars... I'd pay to get rid of it, which in fact is exactly what I had to do!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 December 2012
There's not really much to this book bar words, words and more words listed in clear well laid out columns for easy usage with 'Scrabble' and 'Super Scrabble'. The hardcover edition comes with a dustcover, is well made and sturdy and is likely to stand up to repeated use. It is ideal (if rather large to handle) for those who play either game with 'an open dictionary' and a far better option than the paperback edition because it will last for years rather than months - the hard cover making it impossible to flick through the pages without first opening the book and so the edge of pages do not get frayed.

You are unlikely to learn a lot from this edition, however, as (disappointingly) there are no word definitions. Instead, a separate section at the back of the book lists all 8 to 12 letter words allowable in the game. While this is a useful addition for serious students of the game, for 99% percent of the games I play it is of little use and I would thus have preferred either a section listing word definitions or some kind of 'Scrabble records and information section'.

All in all though, for the definitive answer to whether you can or cannot have a word during a game this book is the Scrabble bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
We had to buy this as our old chambers OSW book 4th edition has fallen apart after many years of use! However we were disappointed as there is not a separate 2 and 3 letter word list at the back of the book like you got in the old chambers book. More words though
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Very disappointed that there are no quick reference lists of 2 and 3 words, which are essential to the game.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)