Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Scrabblers!
This is the latest official (I hope!) list of acceptable Scrabble words. (Very useful, but be aware that this is just a list of the words, not a dictionary.) Quick and easy to refer to, nicely set out, with clear print. There are two sections. The first section contains alphabetical lists of all the two to nine letter words, while the ten letter, and above, words are...
Published 7 months ago by Cherry

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The first book I've ever rejected
This was such rubbish, it's the first book I've ever returned for a refund.

The book is unwieldy: 6cm thick. The words are printed too close to the margin, which means breaking the spine of the book to even see words on the inside column, and then it's difficult. And despite its apparently colossal number of words, it doesn't have standard, common, two-letter...
Published 6 months ago by Tsuchan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Scrabblers!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This is the latest official (I hope!) list of acceptable Scrabble words. (Very useful, but be aware that this is just a list of the words, not a dictionary.) Quick and easy to refer to, nicely set out, with clear print. There are two sections. The first section contains alphabetical lists of all the two to nine letter words, while the ten letter, and above, words are listed separately in alphabetical order towards the end of the book. Lots of new words have been added. Pity that Scrabble has been 'dumbed down' to include dubious, words such as 'za' (short for pizza?) and 'ja'. I had never understood why 'jeu' (French for 'game'?) was included, but sadly it's still in there! At least there's a standard list I suppose. The book is worth having anyway as not only can you check to see if your (or your opponent's) word is okay, but it helps improve your knowledge of acceptable (if somewhat obscure) words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The first book I've ever rejected, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This was such rubbish, it's the first book I've ever returned for a refund.

The book is unwieldy: 6cm thick. The words are printed too close to the margin, which means breaking the spine of the book to even see words on the inside column, and then it's difficult. And despite its apparently colossal number of words, it doesn't have standard, common, two-letter words like 'xi' (spelling of the Greek letter).

I thought it was time to refresh my 1988 copy of OSW with now yellowing pages, but it's so much better than this edition. I have absolutely no idea how this book has been given five stars... I'd pay to get rid of it, which in fact is exactly what I had to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but no 2 letter word lists, 4 Jan 2014
By 
C. Chilvers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
We had to buy this as our old chambers OSW book 4th edition has fallen apart after many years of use! However we were disappointed as there is not a separate 2 and 3 letter word list at the back of the book like you got in the old chambers book. More words though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for playing scrabble., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
I only wish the book gave you the meanings of the words. My friend is more excited then me about the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
The book to have when playing scrabble. Stops the arguments over spelling of words. Also helps for you to learn ones that you did not know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased!, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Excellent item, very fast postage and item absolutely in brand new condition.
Highly recommend this book for Scrabble enthusiasts. Has a massive collection of all the words you'd need, to enable you to check words during a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OSW, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Bought as a Xmas present for my mother to replace her old book, which contains additional words that have been added. A must for serious scrabble players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thousands of words, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Inside was fantastic, thousands of words which could be used in scrabble. Is not a dictionary, so would have to look the words up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars words that you would never know existed, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
I would recommend this book it stops any argument about what can and can't be used easier than a dictionary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
All the words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Official Scrabble Words
Collins Official Scrabble Words by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 10 Oct 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews