Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Scrabblers!
This is the latest official (I hope!) list of acceptable Scrabble words. (Very useful, but be aware that this is just a list of the words, not a dictionary.) Quick and easy to refer to, nicely set out, with clear print. There are two sections. The first section contains alphabetical lists of all the two to nine letter words, while the ten letter, and above, words are...
Published 17 months ago by Cherry

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The first book I've ever rejected
This was such rubbish, it's the first book I've ever returned for a refund.

The book is unwieldy: 6cm thick. The words are printed too close to the margin, which means breaking the spine of the book to even see words on the inside column, and then it's difficult. And despite its apparently colossal number of words, it doesn't have standard, common, two-letter...
Published 16 months ago by Tsuchan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Scrabblers!, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This is the latest official (I hope!) list of acceptable Scrabble words. (Very useful, but be aware that this is just a list of the words, not a dictionary.) Quick and easy to refer to, nicely set out, with clear print. There are two sections. The first section contains alphabetical lists of all the two to nine letter words, while the ten letter, and above, words are listed separately in alphabetical order towards the end of the book. Lots of new words have been added. Pity that Scrabble has been 'dumbed down' to include dubious, words such as 'za' (short for pizza?) and 'ja'. I had never understood why 'jeu' (French for 'game'?) was included, but sadly it's still in there! At least there's a standard list I suppose. The book is worth having anyway as not only can you check to see if your (or your opponent's) word is okay, but it helps improve your knowledge of acceptable (if somewhat obscure) words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The first book I've ever rejected, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This was such rubbish, it's the first book I've ever returned for a refund.

The book is unwieldy: 6cm thick. The words are printed too close to the margin, which means breaking the spine of the book to even see words on the inside column, and then it's difficult. And despite its apparently colossal number of words, it doesn't have standard, common, two-letter words like 'xi' (spelling of the Greek letter).

I thought it was time to refresh my 1988 copy of OSW with now yellowing pages, but it's so much better than this edition. I have absolutely no idea how this book has been given five stars... I'd pay to get rid of it, which in fact is exactly what I had to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but no 2 letter word lists, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
C. Chilvers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
We had to buy this as our old chambers OSW book 4th edition has fallen apart after many years of use! However we were disappointed as there is not a separate 2 and 3 letter word list at the back of the book like you got in the old chambers book. More words though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book but...., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Very disappointed that there are no quick reference lists of 2 and 3 words, which are essential to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Can be beaten for words that come out if nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
A very useful book for Scrabble enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just started playing Scrabble online and it is just most ..., 19 Jan. 2015
By 
N. M. Rowlands (arbroath scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Just started playing Scrabble online and it is just most suitable for finding words with the letters I may have. Thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scrabble word book, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
It's a really good scrabble book. There are loads of words to make scrabbling easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for playing scrabble., 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
I only wish the book gave you the meanings of the words. My friend is more excited then me about the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A scrabble must buy, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Replaced an earlier issue, Many ne words and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Official Scrabble Words
Collins Official Scrabble Words by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 10 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £97.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews