Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm a girl and i thought this book was FANTASTIC!!!! My friend reccomended it and I loved it! I loved the fact that in the book everyone got on and accepted who people were, be they gay, straight or bisexual e.t.c! The characters were fantastic! Each with their own different quirks! It also shows the complications of relationships from the perspective of being gay,...
Published on 20 Feb. 2006 by xox_xtinkerbellx_xox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland YA gay romance set in a LGBT utopia
Paul's a sophomore at a high school in a small town where homosexuality is completely accepted by all except the most religious (including the ultra religious parents on his gay best friend Tony) and the captain of the football team is also the homecoming queen known as Infinite Darlene.

When Paul meets Noah, he knows that he's in love. But Paul's life isn't...
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by I Read, Therefore I Blog


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Kindle Edition)
it was just good, that's all there is to it. I read it in four hours, and put simply enough, it was a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book to ever give me goosebumps., 11 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr. TS Grigor "Tom" (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
Paul, the narrator and main character of this amazing story is exactly who every young gay guy man wants to be. He is well balanced and lives in a town where being gay is no big deal. Its about his friends, his life and his loves.

Its the only book to ever give me goosebumps. Its the only book to ever send me to sleep smiling, where I wake up smiling as well. If you only buy one book this year - whether you're gay, straight, bi or whatever - make it this one. You won't reqret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
Brilliant staff quick postage really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Found it hard to get into, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
Couldn't get into it I'm afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gay Teen Heavan...Fluffy Romance And All!, 4 Jun. 2008
By 
S. Paterson "sarah_love" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
I can honestly say this is my favourite book ever! I've read it countless times and im sure and i will continue to do so until im not even a teen anymore!

Okay so it might not be everyones bag..as its a little candy floss-ish. Fluffy, sweet and maybe even a little sickly. But the characters are engaging (Tony had to be favourite though), the setting of the town where half the population seem to be gay makes you wanna pack your bags and move there and the first person naration from the delightful Paul will have you smiling from ear to ear. And in no time you'll be praying he get his man. Its also rich in comedy and Infinite Darlene (prom queen and star quaterback) is just amazing.

Plus this book gets under your skin as it relates to most teens. Most people even. You dont have to be gay or American or a guy to enjoy this. Hell im not any of those! But this book still holds a place in my heart.

What a wonderful world! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 Dec. 2005
By 
Rebecca Kydd "Loki" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
If you are looking for a true romance story, then this is for you.

David Levithan has created a world in which there is no persecution for being different, where everyone's sexuality is out in the open. Well, almost everyone.

This story revolves around Paul, and his meeting the boy of his dreams - the artistic and thoughtful Noah. They seem to be the perfect match, until Paul accidentally screws it up. Now he needs the help of his friends to get him back.

This is the type of story that should be read to kids everywhere, so they can see how awesome it would be if that world existed! They would want that world to be this world!

It is a witty, ironic, funny and beautiful romance story. One of the few teenage books I have sitting on my shelf.

Much recommended, and a definite five stars for the beauty and the fact that I was smiling til the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous., 5 Oct. 2008
By 
J. Grant (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
This book is, quite simply, beautiful. The setting is idyllic: unrealistic, and yet it leads you to question why it can't materialise. The characters are ultimately believable, with their little quirks, their varied personalities, and - best of all - their flaws. The narrator, Paul, is written in such a stunning fashion that you want to know him. His thought process is quick-witted and poetic, and Levithan has mastered the art of verbalising the most indescribable emotions.

A gorgeous story in every way, "Boy Meets Boy" tells of a homosexual relationship without focusing on the "coming out". I read it in a day, and it instantly became my favourite book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite feel-good read!, 30 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
This book is just so beautiful. It's not just the subject, the totally human Paul, or his amazing hometown which is basically the way the world should be, or even his sweet and honest courtship of a boy named Noah... It's the writing itself. Levithan's turn of phrase throughout the book is just spot on, evoking every emotion in Paul's teen dreamer heart with unique imagery and definite accuracy. The most fantastic pictures of Paul's town and life are drawn with words. This book makes you laugh (often), cry (honestly) and always leaves me feeling like life is good, the world can be a great place, and I can make it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply awful, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Hardcover)
I almost never write scathing reviews but in this case I feel compelled. It didn't help that I read this book straight after The Perks of Being a Wallfower; all this made me realise was that,

a. this book had ripped off every aspect of it, especially the prose
b. this book was vastly inferior to it

All influential books spawn others written in similar style (look at the hundreds of Bret Easton Ellis copycats), and few match up to the original. The writing in this book is stilted, and doesn't flow anywhere near as well as in the work it emulates. The characters are worse - most of them have no character, or if they do every aspect is overstated. The inclusion of a transvestite gay captain of the football team whose had it off with other sexually confused members of the squad was particularly glaring. It just doesn't ring true, the character comes across on the page as a complete phony. There isn't even any discernible comedy value, which is usually the reason for putting in such an outlandishly unbelievable character.

The plot isn't any better, it just concerns a few relationships that you aren't made to care about. This type of essentially plotless work can be saved by strong writing or characterisation but neither are present here. All that's left is a second rate version of The Perks, replete with the same cliched 'naive and confused' teenage lead and his equally naive and confused friends. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Boy (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy Meets Boy
Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews