Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit
Anna is nine and is far to busy with schoolwork, tobogganing and making important decisions about whether wood yo-yos, are better than tin, to do more than notice the posters of the man who has a moustache like Charlie Chaplin. It isn't until one morning she finds her papa has disappeared that she starts to listen to the grownups talk of Hitler, elections and Anna's...
Published on 3 Aug. 2002 by muswellprincess

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for children?
This was an interesting book because you don't often get a child's perspective on what is was like to be Jewish in Nazi Germany and what it was like to have to be continually in flight. Judith Kerr was an adult when she wrote about her childhood experiences of leaving Germany firstly for Switzerland where her father, a German dissident journalist, found that even the...
Published 4 months ago by val


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, 3 Aug. 2002
Anna is nine and is far to busy with schoolwork, tobogganing and making important decisions about whether wood yo-yos, are better than tin, to do more than notice the posters of the man who has a moustache like Charlie Chaplin. It isn't until one morning she finds her papa has disappeared that she starts to listen to the grownups talk of Hitler, elections and Anna's Jewish background. And then one afternoon she comes home from school to discover her missing father is uneasy over their safety and they must go to Zurich that very week to meet him that she realises how serious the threat of Hitler is.
It is the story of a lost childhood and the dissent from fame and wealth to poverty and having a price on your head. It is the story of four lives destroyed by the Nazis. And it is a true story.
It is one of the best books written about World War Two it shows the funny sad side of a childhood destroyed by hate. And the difficulties of French and English to a nine year old girl from Berlin whose mother who can't cook. This is a Brilliant book as are the sequels The Other Way Round and A Small Person Far Away. Lovers of 'Anne Franks Diary' and all the Michael Magorian's books will revel in this book of courage, pain and growing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 months in Switzerland, 2 years in Paris and then london., 13 Feb. 2008
By 
sceptical (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I totaly adore this book! My mum bought this for me when I was nine (just like Anna), and I have totaly read it to pieces.

Max and Anna's father is a famous Jewish writer, but when the Nazis come into power they must leave everything and flee, first to a village in Switzerland, then to Paris and finaly to London. All the time getting poorer and poorer.

One of the best parts is when she worries about not being able to become an auther because she hasn't had a diffecult enough chidhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!!, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
I saw this book on display in a local bookshop and was interested by the title. I picked it up and read the first couple of chapters in the shop. I was so mezmerized by it I had to buy it and once I got it home I could not put it down. The book really displys the innocence of childhood and really shows that things that can happen in life can be just as traumatic and confusing to children as they can for adults. it is a dramatic sometimes funny,sometimes poignantly sad book that takes your right into the world, and at times the suffering, innocent people had to endure because of their faith or beleifs. This book is beautifully written and I would advise any parent to let their children read this book it will teach them a lot about tolerance. A suitable book for any age not just children - I enjoyed this book from start to finish - and I'm 31!!!! I will be buying the next two in the series and then will give them to my neice to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal first step, 31 Oct. 2008
When I was a child, this was my first introduction to a time in history I would otherwise have been too young to understand, and it remains the best children's story about the events of the period. Wonderful, to be read when young, then re read as you grow up, then read again to remember the fragility of innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
Anna only knows she is Jewish because her father says so. However it is enough to force the family to flee Germany (1933) due to the on coming of the Nazi regime. She will travel to several countries learning the language and staying one step ahead of the spreading Nazi influence. In her travels she learns of many concepts which include the confiscation of her "Pink Rabbit."

Many books unintentionally talk down to children. Not this book it looks you right in the eye. Anna still maintains the innocence of her youth. But the problems and dealing with people can happen at any age.

The story is told from the perspective of Anna. And not too surprisingly it parallels that of the author and illustrator Judith Kerr who was forced to leave Germany in 1933.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Asaf Levy "Krembo" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really love this book, it is so heart touching, interesting and has a touch of fun in it! It is about WW2. I am 11 and after reading this book I immediately reccomended it to my friends. Whenever someone would ask me "what's your favourite book?" I would immediately answer "when hitter stole pink rabbit". I think you would too, after reading this book. This book is written in a 9 year old girls point of view who travels to different country's to escape from the nazis. Another great fact, is that the writer, Judith Kerr, was in this condition at the same age. She is writing how she felt then towards the war but just at a different person. Another reason I love this book so much, is because of the girls behavier towards the war. In normal books about war, the story would be very tragic and scary. Whereas in this case, the girl feels completely different. She faces life as an adventure. Not just a terrible nightmare. Every step she goes, she continues believing in herself and having fun and learning. Although the war isn't very exciting she tries her best to make it as exciting as she can. I find her a very inspiring girl to look up to even if I'm older! She's always looking up, always hoping and never gives up. That (to me) is what makes this book so great and different. The name is strange: "when hitter stole pink rabbit". It is very catchy, but doesn't mention much about the rabbit. The only part it is mentioned, is when she leaves her pink rabbit behind and the nazis take it and she feels sad for a while. I hope you've been persuaded to buy this book! There is anotherp great ww2 book I reccomend, this is much more tragic and sad, it is named the "the silver sword". I reccomend you read this book and see if you're ready for something more sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a better JK for grown-ups, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
V. Bridge "valery" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story line was really gripping and the innocence of the children very convincingly done. JK manages with spare detail to show food, cutoms, travel at the time, from the children's point of view. Despite the horrific hinterland, this is a nostalgic feel good read; the family manages to stick together. This is both an excellent grown-up and young person's read. We see life during WW2 through the child's eye without feeling that the child is being patronised. Pink rabbit disappears forever but hope wins through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulas!!, 25 April 2009
A Kid's Review
Anna is too busy with school work and tobboging to bother with a man with a moustache like Charlie Chaplain named Hitler.
But when her brother, Max and his friend,Gunther, bring home a badge with a hooked cross on it called the 'Nazis swavtika' she starts to take more notice, the following morning her Father dissapers, he is wanted by the Nazis- dead or alive. Anna and her family are secretly smuggled out of Germany, they live in Switzeland and Paris, and at the finish of the book, England.

I found this book very good, excitng, and being the only book about the Holocaust I have read so far, very interesting, at first I thought it had a funny name, and had hearrd it before and did not think much of it, but then got 'A small person far away' which is thr last one, then I read it and found it fantastic.
Highly Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 10 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Anna only knows she is Jewish because her father says so. However it is enough to force the family to flee Germany (1933) due to the on coming of the Nazi regime. She will travel to several countries learning the language and staying one step ahead of the spreading Nazi influence. In her travels she learns of many concepts which include the confiscation of her "Pink Rabbit."

Many books unintentionally talk down to children. Not this book it looks you right in the eye. Anna still maintains the innocence of her youth. But the problems and dealing with people can happen at any age.

The story is told from the perspective of Anna. And not too surprisingly it parallels that of the author and illustrator Judith Kerr who was forced to leave Germany in 1933.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for children?, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an interesting book because you don't often get a child's perspective on what is was like to be Jewish in Nazi Germany and what it was like to have to be continually in flight. Judith Kerr was an adult when she wrote about her childhood experiences of leaving Germany firstly for Switzerland where her father, a German dissident journalist, found that even the Swiss were reluctant to publish his writing. The family then moved to France where, although very poor, the father could make some money from his writing. In France, Judith and her brother have just made the adjustment to school by learning the language and working hard, when they have to leave again, this time for England. The story ends at this point but it is easy to imagine how hard it is going to be for the children to learn yet another language and try to resume a normal life. In many ways, the difficulties are understated. I think she conveys very effectively the extent to which the family togetherness and particularly her mother's efforts shields her from the awfulness of their situation. She also shows how children adapt to things and their capacity to to enjoy themselves. However, I did get the feeling that this was perhaps a book for children as it seemed more instructive as though the author was trying to demonstrate how some Jews became refugees. Apart from the poverty of the family and the children's difficulties in integrating into Swiss and French life, it seemed a rather gentle memoir of the war. The horrors of Nazism and discrimination and the difficulties of being refugees were played down and hinted at rather than explicit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition)
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) by Judith Kerr (Hardcover - 14 Jun. 2013)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews