Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
Anna only knows she is Jewish because her father says so. However it is enough to force the family to flee Germany (1933) due to the on coming of the Nazi regime. She will travel to several countries learning the language and staying one step ahead of the spreading Nazi influence. In her travels she learns of many concepts which include the confiscation of her "Pink Rabbit."

Many books unintentionally talk down to children. Not this book it looks you right in the eye. Anna still maintains the innocence of her youth. But the problems and dealing with people can happen at any age.

The story is told from the perspective of Anna. And not too surprisingly it parallels that of the author and illustrator Judith Kerr who was forced to leave Germany in 1933.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but am sure knowing Judith Kerr's books it will be excellent as always, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
A present to a family member who appreciated it ! As yet I haven't read it, but am sure knowing Judith Kerr's books it will be excellent as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
fascinating reading - haven't finished (reading to my 11 year old as I want to read it too!) but it's so well written, as you'd expect from Judith Kerr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply gorgeous, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
My daughter (age 9) could not put this book down once started. It's the first book she has genuinely been engrossed in and wanted to tell everyone about. Truly fabulous. Beautifuly written with exactly the right balance of honesty and detail, about this sad time in history, to appeal to a young child. I too couldn't put this book down. It is a story I will treasure forever. Thank you Judith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, funny and sad, 30 Jan 2014
By 
R. Sankey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
This is possibly one of the best children's books I have read. I'm currently reading it to two boys who love it too. It's a tale of adversity but is full of lovely moments & has made us laugh many times. It's a good introduction to a difficult subject & is curriculum reading for children in German schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive hard back edition of an old favourite, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
This has been in print since 1971. This edition celebrates the 90th birthday of the author Judith Kerr, known for her illustrated children's stories (The Tiger who came to tea, the Mog books, etc.). A lovely hard-back edition to give as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't understand why I did not get this book to read at school!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
Excellent book I advise all mothers and grandmothers to buy this and read it to your kids! Judith thank you for sharing your experiences with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super wee book, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
My partner's mum bought me this for Christmas and I read it in no time... and was sorry to finish it so soon! Now I must by the next book to find out more about Anna's childhood.
It's very well written, in a simple, straight forward style that older children will find very easy to read. I love the illustrations too and wish there were more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) (Hardcover)
I have already reviewed this book as I also purchased the Kindle version. However having read it with my grand daughter I decided to buy her the celebration edition as a keepsake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition)
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (celebration edition) by Judith Kerr (Hardcover - 14 Jun 2013)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews