Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas
Excellent quality we wish we had bought ourselves one earlier great value for the money and increasing our knowledge of the world
Published 21 months ago by Sylvia Elliott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
i acquired this atlas to replace my my old school atlas which was out of date. from what i could see of it in the preview, and other customer reviews, i was optimistic. but on exploring it i was really disappointed. the makers appear to have chosen to simply not include a huge section of the (northern) Pacific Ocean, and it's respective islands - leaving out a significant...
Published 2 months ago by earwig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The best, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a friend after he had seen my copy we are both impressed although his is better as it is a newer version and has been updated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Atlas, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Large weighty Atlas as I expected it to be, but this has loads of data about every country in addition to the maps themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great atlas, 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. K. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
needed a good atlas and reckoned collins should be among the best. The atlas is extremely good with many interesting features above and beyond just showing global positioning of countries and continents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars learning the "new countries", 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Collins have an excellent name in the book world and the book seemed to cover all our needs turns out to be the case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a present for my wife., 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She loves maps and has found the Collins World Atlas a mine of information apart from the excellent maps. Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a Christmas present, it is very good quality and excellent value for money. Arrived in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Atlas, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband was very pleased with this atlas for his birthday. He said it had really good features.Collins World Atlas: Complete Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a really great atlas, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a really great atlas that was brought mainly for my daughters homework but the whole family will enjoy using it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but disappointing in many respects when examined closely., 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At £15 (bought through Amazon) this atlas seemed good value. I particularly liked the geographical dictionary. The potted summaries of each country were well written. Otherwise there is little in the reference material to appeal to the student imagination,though I liked the internet addresses. Who is going to use the massive table of world statistics? Much of the marginal information on the continental maps is pointless eg the most northerly point in Oceania is Eastern Island.Really? Turning to the maps I was disappointed by the dominance of the symbol for railways.In well populated developed countries the dense rail and road networks gave a good impression of intensity but the maps were no use for tracing routeways. I didn't like the broken line symbols; fine black lines would have been better. There was an effort to give each part of the world its fair share but the result was that much of Europe was poorly served. Space could have been generated by cutting out duplication eg two very similar maps of Oceania on pages 128 and 132.There was a lack of political information. For instance in Belgium which is in danger of dividing there is no mention of Flanders and no boundary between Flanders and Wallonia. On the other hand Gaume is mentioned, a region scarcely heard of. In Italy I could not find Tuscany or Lombardy.It would not be possible to trace an outline of Germany showing the lander, but for Mongolia no problem. In Turkey Pisidia, an obscure province which hasn't existed since Roman times, is sprawled across a much too large region while Cappadocia, known to the tourist trade is absent. Thrace is a small area around Edirne.In Jordan Edom, a Biblical territory, is written in the same script as Negev, a geographical region in Israel, while Moab, similar to Edom,is written in another script. Palestine is apparently a territory in the south of Israel. I did like seeing some geographical names written in English eg Central Russian Upland (with the Russian in brackets). However in Poland there is no explanation of Pomezierze Pomorskie while Nizina Mazowiecka (a comparable feature) is written in a different script. I could go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Atlas, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Atlas: Paperback Edition (Paperback)
This was a really good buy, everything I expected from an Atlas. There are lots of detailed maps of all the different countries in the world, and facts about each country at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Atlas: Paperback Edition
World Atlas: Paperback Edition by Collins Maps (Paperback - 13 Mar 2014)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews