Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good book
This is an enjoyable book, and it is interesting to read about murders happening at a school. It is not perhaps quite as good as most of the other reviews have implied, it is certainly an enjoyable story, but there are better ones.

It is a new school year in an all girls school and things start off fairly typically, until the unpopular games mistress is found...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by I AM ME

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual standard!
I love Agatha Christie - her books are my recreation reading when I've not the energy for anything taxing and I'm anyway in the middle of writing a novel myself. This is one of the weakest ones. Hercule Poirot arrives late on the scene; there are foreign royalties, Emirs and princesses, dubious spy rings, all utterly unbelievable so that you wish she had just stuck to...
Published 16 months ago by Moira A. Forsyth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 25 Oct 2007
This is an enjoyable book, and it is interesting to read about murders happening at a school. It is not perhaps quite as good as most of the other reviews have implied, it is certainly an enjoyable story, but there are better ones.

It is a new school year in an all girls school and things start off fairly typically, until the unpopular games mistress is found shot in the middle of the night. For most of the students, this seems an interesting thing to happen in a school, but when two more murders occur, and one of the students is abducted, everydoy has a sudden sense of fear and it stops being an exciting thing to happen in school and changes to something terrifying.

I found this novel highly enjoyable, but some of the other reviewers are implying that it is a masterpiece and in my opinion it is far from it. Unlike in some of Christie's masterpieces, there is little clever set up of subtle clues and there are barely any clues to use to guess the identity of the murderer and the only real way of finding out was something that one of the mothers saw on the first day of school. The identity of the murderer was a surprise to me.

Despite some of the flaws I have stated, this is still a great book and I reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous, 6 Dec 2002
This was the first Agatha Chrisie story that I ever read, and although I have now read, listened and watched my way through almost the entire back catalogue, I have yet to find any that is quite as good as this one.

'Cat Among the Pigeons' strikes the right balance between Christie's two main pre-occupations: international intrigue and simple human nature. It is the convergence of two worlds, that of the exclusive, sedate English girls' school and revolution and espionnage in the Middle East.
As well as being a superb whodunnit, this book is also a heart-warming tale of human interaction. Characters are sensitively drawn and the plot, whist not exactly realistic, is not so removed from the realms of possibility as some others. And it is remarkable fast paced. You will not rest until the solution has been revealed.
The advantage of these unabridged HarperCollins audio productions is that you can listen to them on mass. They are perfect for a family evening in. Hugh Fraser is the ideal narrator, with a plethora of different voices to draw upon which competantly bring the tale to life.
In short, you will not regret buying this. It is possibly the best thing Agatha Christie, Queen of Crime, ever wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual standard!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Agatha Christie - her books are my recreation reading when I've not the energy for anything taxing and I'm anyway in the middle of writing a novel myself. This is one of the weakest ones. Hercule Poirot arrives late on the scene; there are foreign royalties, Emirs and princesses, dubious spy rings, all utterly unbelievable so that you wish she had just stuck to English country life and the world she knows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very English school, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Cat Among the Pigeons' features Hercule Poirot and was published in 1959. As with other of Christie's novels, Poirot does not appear until the final third of the book.
Prestigious Meadowbank School for Girls is having a parents' day at the beginning of the summer term when Mrs Upjohn, a parent, tells the headmistress, Miss Bulstrode, that she has recognized someone that she knew during her wartime intelligence service work. Miss Bulstrode does not take much notice, but before long a killer strikes.
Then we are taken back three months to Middle-Eastern country, Ramat, where a revolution is brewing. Prince Ali Yusuf tries to protect his wealth by giving valuable jewels to Bob Rawlinson, his pilot, to take out of the country. Rawlinson hides the jewels in some luggage, but is watched by a sinister woman through a peephole. Ali Yusuf and Bob Rawlinson are murdered and British Intelligence gets onto the trail of the jewels. Their attention focuses on Meadowbank School, where Prince Ali Yusuf's niece is a pupil. Then Miss Springer is shot dead...
The book shows all Agatha Christie's usual strengths - ingenious plotting and many surprises, shrewd characterisation, a small, enclosed community of suspects, and the inimitable Poirot. I never enjoy her books about international espionage as much as the others, though this one is less ludicrous than some of the others. In my opinion, she is best at writing about her own class and the secrets and motives of small English communities. This is a good book, but not as good as some of her others because of this. The most enjoyable part is her description of life at the very English, upper class school. I like her schoolgirl sleuth, too, with Poirot and his ego seeming a bit of an intrusion, taking the focus from her and onto his little grey cells!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich Vintage Christie., 2 May 2005
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is one of my favorite books from Agatha Christie's later years. Her grip of story telling, plotting and planning is still strong. There is some humor in the narrative and amusement is provided by many of the characters.
Agatha Christie tries her hand at the girls' school setting here. Older reader will suspect that she was well-acquainted with similar settings chosen by A A Milne and Dorothy Sayers, and that she had been brought up on the once popular school girl annuals. Of course there needs to be a raison d'être behind the series of murders that occurs at the school and this is well narrated also.
I have mentioned the narration several times. It is an element that helps explain this writer's phenomenal popularity. She gets the timing right. Other writers in this genre produce more elegant prose but somehow fail in this regard.
At this time in her career, Agatha Christie was experimenting with narrative methods. She attempted the "quick scene change" method here, and brings it off with skill and flair. She also, at this time in her career, frequently milked the situation where something was briefly glimpsed in a mirror, or a familiar face briefly glimpsed at a great distance. Watch out for these occurrences as you turn the pages to reach Hercule Poirot's final revelation of just who is the cat among the pigeons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder of a schoolmistress, 14 Jan 2009
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
For me this wasn't vintage Christie. Rather long-winded and tedious on detail. I'm a big Christie fan but I was relieved to finish this. It was an easy read but felt dated, though her observations on teenagers via Miss Bulstrode are still true today - I'm a schoolteacher so am on safe ground here!! I did find myself laughing aloud at some points. She has quite a rare wit. Not my favourite by any means - that is still Roger Ackroyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cat Among the Pigeons, 27 Feb 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Although this is not my favourite Poirot novel, it is certainly one of the better later ones. Written in 1959, it is almost as good as her earlier works and it certainly has a fun setting and a good cast of characters. Part thriller and part mystery, it concerns a revolution in a rich Middle Eastern country called Ramat. His Highness Prince Ali Yusuf entrusts some jewels to his friend Bob Rawlinson, who hides them in the luggage of his sister and niece, without their knowledge.

The action then moves on to the exclusive Meadowbank School, where his niece is a pupil, along with a cousin of Prince Ali, the Princess Shaista. With the whereabouts of the jewels unknown, more than one interested party is looking for them. Then the PT mistress is murdered in the new sports pavillion. Apparently, Christie used her own daughter's school as her model, but the enclosed environment works very well. There are a whole host of suspects, secrets and mysterious happenings, until one of the schoolgirls involves Poirot to solve the crimes. An unusual setting and an exciting plot make this a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT AND READ IT!!!, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This book,I thought,was absoulutely brilliant. I would recommend it to any Agatha Christie fan who hasn't yet read it. As ever Agatha Christie keeps you guessing right until the last few pages,so you can't put the book down until the murderer of the hated sports teacher has been found. The good use of words gives a very sinister feeling... IT'S SUPERB!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent work by the master of mystery, 21 Jan 1999
By A Customer
Cat Among the Pigeons is really a delightful book. The ending is really a turn around, and you'll never guess the solution ahead of time. Plus, this book was extra good for me because I didn't think Poirot was in it but he was! It was a good surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! My Favorite!, 8 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is my favorite Agatha Christie so far! You'll never guess the ending, either. I will admit Hercule Poirot didn't come in until kind of late in the story, but it's really good! Don't try and solve it for yourself; there aren't enough clues.
I Definitely Reccomend This Book!!!!
(I'm a 12 year old girl from Alaska. If there are any other Christie fans out there my age please contact me!!! mercat@angelfire.com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cat Among the Pigeons (Poirot)
Cat Among the Pigeons (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 13 Mar 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews