Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel's a genius
The easiest index I have ever found! Find an ingredient in the garden, cupboard or fridge and the index gives a group of recipes to go with it.
Published 7 months ago by Martin

versus
93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, INFURIATING book.
Classic Nigel Slater recipes. If you like cooking and don't already have several Slater books, you're seriously missing out. Already tried a couple and as usual they don't dissapoint. Easy, tasty, readily available ingredients. But WHY, was this strapped together into a teeny brick thick notebook that will NOT stay open on the worksurface unless you weight it down...
Published 9 months ago by M. Page


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel's a genius, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
The easiest index I have ever found! Find an ingredient in the garden, cupboard or fridge and the index gives a group of recipes to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


295 of 319 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many recipes, well written, great photography, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
I decided to pre order this book as we have been cooking some of the free taster recipes from the Guardian that are in the book and absolutely loved them.

I do not own any of his other books (yet!) although my wife often watches his TV series when they are on repeat on the food channel.

So this review is mainly about the recipes we have tried and our first impressions of the book (I've posted some photos on this product page to let you see for yourself).

I have also posted a list of recipes at the end of my review too which I hope will be helpful for those considering buying the book.

Firstly the book feels lovely, a small thing but the flexible way it is bound, it feels really nice and in my opinion looks nice too.

This small book is literally jam packed with recipes (see list below) I think there's bound to be something that appeals to everyone in here.

The majority of the recipes have an accompanying photo (see image uploads for examples).

I like the premise that the book and recipes are meant to be `beautiful and easy to use' for everyday eating, and I would say so far this has definitely been the case. The recipes have been straightforward and perfect for weekday nights when late home from work.

So far we have cooked the fig and goats cheese focaccia - since figs are in season at the moment. The method was very straightforward and it was super quick and easy for a tasty weeknight meal. We used ciabatta instead of focaccia but it was lovely, and cheese improves any meal.

Nigel's Potatoes with Spices and Spinach were another hit and absolutely delicious (being fans of spice in our household!). Again this was great for a week night as we get home quite late from work, so the premise of the book being `fast food' has really fit in with our lifestyle as we're not fans of takeaways and always cook at home whenever possible.

We had the spiced fish soup at the weekend, my wife wasn't too keen on this but I loved it. We didn't include the mussels but it still provided two generous portions, which is something that's worth noting so far, the portions seem about right and we have healthy Yorkshire appetites.

In summary I found all three recipes to be unfussy, relatively quick, straightforward and very tasty.

The front of the book lists "a quick guide to what to eat by main ingredient" so I have put this below as I've found it a useful reference:

FISH:
Cod:
Cod with Lemon, Tarragon and Crème Fraiche

Crab:
Crab Balls
Crab, Melon and Basil Salad

Haddock:
Smoked Haddock and Leek cakes
Smoked Haddock with Lentils
Spiced Haddock Chowder

Kippers:
Grilled Kippers, beetroot and Horse raddish Mash
Kipper Benedict

Mackeral:
Mackeral with Bulgar and Tomato
Smoked Mackeral and Green Beans
Smoked Mackeral with Peas and Edamame

Mussels:
Mussels with Clams and Chorizo

Prawns:
Basil Prawns
Chilli Prawns with Watermelon
Prawns, Lemongrass and Coconut
Vietnamiese Prawn Baguettes

Salmon:
Salmon and Cucumber Pie
Salmon with Artichokes
Salmon with Roast Garlic and Cream
Soba Noodles, Salmon and Prawns

Sardines:
Sardines, Potatoes and Pine Kernels

Squid:
Couscous, Lemons, Almonds, Squid
Squid stuffed with Judion Beans and Tomato

MEAT:

Beef:
A Beef Sandwich
Bresaola, Emmental and Pickled Cucumber Sandwich
Philly Cheese Steak with Tagliatelle
Slow Cooked Beef Pie with Celeriac Rosti Crust
Steak with Miso
Tomatoes, Charred Onions and Steak

Chicken:
Chicken, asparagus and avocado sandwich
Chicken Breast with Smoked Cheese and Pancetta
Chicken Breasts with Taleggio
Chicken skin with popcorn
Chicken Wings, Katsu Sauce
Chicken Wings with Onion Umeboshi Chutney
Chicken with Soured Cream and Gherkins
Citrus Chilli Grilled Chicken
Marmalade Chicken
One Pan Sunday Lunch
Paprika, Mustard Chicken Goujons
Chicken, Sherry, Almonds Pot Roast
Quick Chicken Pot Pie
Ras El Hanout Chicken and Spelt
Satay Drumsticks
Spatchcock Chicken, Rocket, Couscous

Duck:
Duck Burgers
Duck with Beans

Lamb:
Grilled Lamb with Minted Feta
Lamb Cutlets with Mustard Seed
Lamb Shanks with Crushed Roots
Lamb with Yoghurt and Turmeric
Roast Lamb, Mustard and Crumbs
Slow Roast Belly of Lamb
Spiced Sesame Lamb with Cucumber and Yoghurt

Pork:
Ham Hock, Herb Sauce
Pig and Fig
Pork and Mango Kebabs
Pork Belly, Pisachios and Figs
Pork Chop with Plum chutney
Pork with Blood orange
Quick Pork Ribs with Honey and Pomegranate Molasses
Rib and Rhubarb Broth

Rabbit:
Slow Cooked Rabbit with Herbs

Bacon and Pancetta:
Bacon and Beans
Bacon Boulangere

Sausages and Chorizo:
Breakfast Burger
Chorizo and Sweet Potato Mash
Chorizo and Potatoes
Chorizo Burgers
Sausage Balls, Mustard Cream Sauce
Sausage Danish
Sausage Lasagne
Sausages, Mash and Tomato Gravy

VEGETABLES:

Roots:
Root Vege Patties with Spiced Tomato Sauce
Root Vege Tangle
Spiced Root Frittata

Beetroot:
Beetroot and Fennel Slaw with Speck
Beetroot and Sausage and Rosemary
Roasted Beetroot and Tomato Spelt

Carrots:
Carrot, Black Beans and Coriander
Carrot and Bulgur Porridge
Harissa Carrots
Prawns, Noodles and Spring Carrots

Jerusalem Artichoke:
Artichoke and Chicken Soup

Parsnips:
Parsnip Rosti

Potatoes:
Beef Dripping and Potato Salad
Cauliflower Cheese Baked Potato
Poor Man's Potatoes
Potato Wedges with Gorgonzola Sauce
Potatoes with Hazelnuts and Egg
Potatoes with Spices and Spinach

Turnips:
Young Turnips with Mushrooms and Orzo

Greens:
A quick(ish) Green Minstrone
Green Vegetable Soup
Roast Chicken Pho

Asparagus:
Asparagus Cenneloni
Chicken, Asparagus and Noodle Broth
Lamb with Asparagus

Broccoli:
Potatoes, Speck and Sprouting
Stir fried Chicken with Cashews and Broccoli

Cabbage:
Stewed Cabbage with Blue Cheese and Apple

Kale:
Gratin of Kale and Almonds
Ham and Kale Colcannon

Leeks:
Baked Red Mullet with Fennel and Leeks
Chicken with Fennel and Leeks

Beans:
Broad Beans-
Gammon Steaks, Broad Beans and mUstard Seeds
Orecchiette with Ricotta and Broad Beans

Peas-
Pea and Watercress Soup
Peas and Ham

`And all the rest':
Aubergines-
Aubergine and Chickpeas
Aubergine Curry
Aubergine Paneer
Roasted Vegetable Rice
Split Peas with Aubergine

Courgettes-
Courgettes with Bacon Gremolata
Marrow Gratin

Cumcumvers-
Aromatic Pork with Cucumber
Cucumber, Fennel and Ricotta salad
Summer Herb Rolls
Tuna and Cucumber Salad

Mushrooms-
Onion and Mushroom Toad in the hole
Spiced Mushrooms on Naan

Sweetcorn:
Sweetcorn, Bacon and Parsley Salad
Sweetcorn Crumb Crust Pie

Tomatoes:
Basil Tomato Pasta
Cherries, Tomatoes and Salami
Summer Vegetables with Harissa and couscous
Tomato Caesar Bruschetta
Tomato Foccacia
Tomatoes, Cucumber and Anchovy
Tomatoes with an Anchovy Crumb Crust

FRUIT:
Apples:
Apple, Ginger Endive

Bananas:
Banana Cheesecake

Figs:
Fig and Goat's cheese Focaccia
Figs, Bulgur and Blackberries
Figs and Ricotta Toasts

Mango:
Mango and Passion Fruit Mess

Strawberries:
Strawberry and Cucumber Salad
Strawberry and Mascarpone Brioche Toasts

Raspberries:
Chocolate Oat Crumber

PASTA BEANS AND GRAINS:

Beans and Pulses:
Black Bean and Onion Stew
Herb Burdgers
Artichokes and Cannellini
Baked Chickpea Cakes
Sea Bass with Tarragon Glageolets
Lentil Bolognaise

Pasta:
Anchovy, Penne, Crumbs
Brown Shimps, Linguine, Dill
A light Chicken Ragu
Smoked Salmon and Green Peppercorn Macaroni
Spaghetti Bake

Rice:
Quick Spiced Rice
Rice Cakes
Risotto

EGGS AND CHEESE:

Eggs:
Spiced Eggs with Squash
Spiced Scrambled Eggs
Goat's cheese Frittata
James;s Potato Tortilla

Mascarpone:
The Bagel
Irish Coffee Trifle
Oat and Lemon Cookies

Mozzarella:
Mozarella Chorizo Sandwich
Pancetta Crumbed Mozarella Salad

Ricotta:
Herb Ricotta Cakes
Ricoota Burgers
Spelt Basil and Ricotta Cakes

LEFTOVERS:
A Beef Sandwich
The Sunday Roast Pork Sandwich
Quiet old fashioned flavours for leftover ham hock
The comfort of carbs
The pork rib sandwich
Rice Cakes
Ham and Kale Colcannon
A creamy chicken lasagne, leftover chicken meat with onions
Turkey or Chicken Couscous
Beef Dripping Potato Salad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Nigel's best so far, 23 Nov 2013
By 
A. Redgers (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
Perfect book for your kitchen everything we have tried has been tasty and sparks off other ideas. Do buy it you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel sorts out supper, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
I am a fan of Nigel's Kitchen Diaries, Real Fast Food, and cook from his recipes at least twice a week. EAT is the same in spirit, but totally different. It's categorised so beautifully that you can search by cooking method, or by fish, meat, veg, puds. It is recipes pared down, kept simple, in approach and ingredients. I think it reflects the pace we live at now, and it ups the comfort quotient, so that, whatever kind of day you've had, the process of choosing, chopping, cooking and enjoying, made so easy here, but still with many flavour combination discoveries, will invigorate yet relax you. And that is what I look for. Thank you, Nigel.

PS: The oat cookies are unbelievably good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, INFURIATING book., 11 Oct 2013
By 
M. Page "Matthew" (Chesham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Classic Nigel Slater recipes. If you like cooking and don't already have several Slater books, you're seriously missing out. Already tried a couple and as usual they don't dissapoint. Easy, tasty, readily available ingredients. But WHY, was this strapped together into a teeny brick thick notebook that will NOT stay open on the worksurface unless you weight it down with an anvil! I couldn't believe it when I unwrapped my copy. I'm not being picky for the sake of it I swear, it's infuriating! If they bring out a decent sized spineless version (ala Polpo which has set the standard for the way a cookbook should be put together), I'll buy it again, bin this one, and give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super recipes, impractical binding, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
As always with Nigel Slater, the recipes and photography are fabulous. The cloth bound book looks quite cute but it is totally impractical. The pages do not stay open. The front cover of mine is now puckered, tide marked and has some of the title font missing following a quick wipe with a damp cloth to remove a splash of tomato juice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food, 7 Dec 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
This chunky little book is packed full of recipes for every occasion and every mood - from food you eat with your hands, to warming soups, roasts, pies and puddings. Literally every taste is covered, from the quick and easy to recipes which take more time to cook and prepare. The photography, while often fairly small, gives a good idea of what you are aiming for and, as with all of Nigel Slater's books, it is very readable. Ideal to browse and peruse when you need a little inspiration or simply to whet your appetite. Where the book falls down has been covered by other reviewers already - it is absolutely impossible to keep the book open while cooking! It has a lovely bookmark, it is cloth covered (looks gorgeous, not ideal in the kitchen, where it is likely to soak up spills....), but it is simply impractical. Also, recipes often cover two pages that are not side to side, so you have to turn over if you want to refer to both sides. Not always easy when cooking and your hands are covered with flour, etc. So, beautiful book, yes. Great recipes, yes. Well written, of course. Just impractical. You will have to either scribble out the instructions on a piece of paper or photocopy it, but still it is a lovely addition to my cookbooks and I know that, despite the problems, it will be referred to often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
Got the book yesterday and tried the sausage beetroot and carrot recipe It was delicious. As usual with Nigels recipes they don't look like they should work but the end result was sublime hardly any washing up and a lovely easy to prepare recipe
I am looking forward to trying out the other recipes
my favourite chef by a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small book loaded with recipes, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
Love the shape and size of this book and more importantly it is loaded ,packed full of ideas ,recipes , and useful tips on every page a mighty little book ! Never, never be at a loss at what to eat just open this book randomly and there's always a tempting recipe .........brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrummy!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding) (Paperback)
What a delicious book! Thoroughly recommend this one.
Nigel Slater is a food God, no gimmicks like the rest of the tele chefs, just good food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food (Cloth-covered, flexible binding)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews