Customer Reviews


1,920 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,507)
4 star:
 (272)
3 star:
 (84)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The unoverlookable prequel to The Lord of the Rings.
This is the story of Bilbo Baggins, a well-off, quiet little halfling (a Hobbit) who'd never wanted any adventures in his life, and of how he became the reluctant participant in a perilous treasure hunt.
It all began one afternoon, when Gandalf the wizard came knocking at the round door of his cosy Hobbit Hole. The next morning, thirteen dwarves were crowding his...
Published on 2 Feb 2004 by Stephanie Noverraz

versus
56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Shaw Narration of The Hobbit (Abridged)
This audio version of The Hobbit tells the first tale of Bilbo's adventures with his trusted Dwarf companions and of course Gandalf. It tells the tale of their journey to gain wealth and treasure and all of the dangers they experience along the way. It more importantly tells how Bilbo comes across "The Ring" and its affects on him. From this the follow up story...
Published on 19 Mar 2002 by mike@wottle.free-online.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1183 184 185192 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE HOBBIT, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Barry Pollard (UK North Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
THIS CAME HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND I ALSO SAW THE 3 FILM SERIES IN THE CINEMA. THIS BOOK IS THE PREQUEL. I HAVE ONLY JUST STARTED IT AND PLAN TO READ WHILST ON HOLIDAY IN JUST OVER A WEEK'S TIME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keith, 24 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
iv listened to this and think its great iv also got the lord of the rings audio cassettes too both are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Pocket Hobbit, 16 Nov 2011
I recieved this last week and I am in love with it - it really adds to my collection and looks quite impressive, good quality paper and not to mention more portable!

I must say I can't fathom why someone would give this a bad review because of lack of colour plates - it's a Hard Back book priced at 9.99 (reduced by Amazon to half that), how could you expect full colour plates at that price? There have been many editions without them and I'm sure people would complain equally as much if they were paying a higher price point for a smaller edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the prequel to LOTR..., 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, just finish the book. Very good flow for characters adventure. Meeting foes and frens along the way. The ending was good all so becoz Tolkien tend to write the way he does for LOTR; bringing the finale a good fight. You can see all foes and frens come togather and give it a last go. The part about the dragon seems to easy for passing the pages. I thought it was suppose to be the main mission, but then the story change towards something about treasure and sharing and eventually good friendship and respect taken for some of the Heroes. Great fun to read, esp the ring power was also involved and how can we stop here, lets go get LOTR and go down the valley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars eventful, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a bit eventful for my liking and boring but I'm only 9 so I don't know if you would like it !!!!!!!
If you like disaster you will hate this !!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hobbit, 17 May 1999
By A Customer
The Hobbit is a wonderful book for all ages it's fun and exciting it is one of the best bookes I have ever read it was a great story whith a great plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 28 Dec 1999
By 
david.murray@btclick.com (Lochcarron, highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
It took quite a while to get into but in the end it was well worth it. A brilliant book and I will definatly read the sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 27 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
i read the book when it was huge, it took weeks to get through and i enjoyed every single minute of it.. im not much of a reader but this is a great book especially if you have a good emagination..

would recommend this to anyone into fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to read the book again, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Nice to read the book again, reminded me of what the film had failed to put over in all it's CIG and manic acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Great read while on holiday and now I have started The Fellowship of the Ring which is every bit as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1183 184 185192 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews